Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Announcements and Chat > General Discussion

Old 11th July 2019, 19:11   #1  |  Link
FranceBB
Broadcast Encoder

FFAStrans - FFMpeg Avisynth Transcoder

Hi,
I've been using Avisynth for years, but ever since 2016 we needed to automatize our workflows a lot as we had to encode too many files and we didn't have enough encoders, so manually encoding each and every raw file wasn't an option anymore.
Since then, I've started creating a few batch scripts and Avisynth scripts to automatize some common things based on the characteristics of every file, but then I came across a project that Steinar Apalnes was working on called FFAStrans and I switched to it.
Today I'm gonna talk about it and the power of open source, as I think that many broadcasters and production houses are paying a lot of money for softwares like Telestream Vantage, Harmonics ProCoder, Adobe Media Encoder, Selenio, AWS Transcoder and similar while Avisynth, ffmpeg and x264 can deliver better results and are also free.

User Interface:

This is how the user interface of one of my main workflows looks like. It might seem a bit messy, but it's actually pretty clear.
Let's take a look at the Avisynth_in workflow which is meant to encode files in MPEG-2 XDCAM with the following specifications:

Video Codec: MPEG-2
Resolution: 1920x1080
Bitrate: 50 Mbit/s
Sampling: 4:2:2 yv16 planar
Framerate: 25i
Type: Interlaced TFF
Bit depth: 8bit

Audio Codec: PCM
Bit Depth: 24bit
Audio Channels: 8ch mono