Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd October 2020, 04:17   #2061  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,890
i reported something like this before. they seem to changed something about it. that why i found the stuck power managament mode.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2020, 16:57   #2062  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,285
https://www.igorslab.de/en/3dmark-in...th-raytracing/
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2020, 19:00   #2063  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 750
Please, we have this thread now for this: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=181881
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti 461.92
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2020, 19:17   #2064  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,285
Sorry.
Any news about the Pascal vs. Turing or GTX vs. RTX last recommended driver?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2020, 19:23   #2065  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 579
I can only comment on Maxwell and HDR pass-through, but I've had no issues with the new drivers, including the latest hotfix.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2020, 13:48   #2066  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,946
Oh joy wonder what they broke this time. Lol

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2020, 14:49   #2067  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 863
Great news for the 3xxx series, 10bits over HDMI is finally unlocked, which means that 40gb/s is enough for 4K60p 4:4:4. I had missed that.

See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EtaMLPo3b8o

I'm waiting to hear more about the rumoured 3080ti with same 102 die as 3090, almost the same number of cores, full bus width and 12gb of VRAM. It's expected to cost under $1,000, possible as low as $899.

Depending on the clocks, it might end up as fast or even faster than the 3090 for much less money.

[EDIT: I grabbed a chance to pre-order a Zotac 3090 Trinity at non-scalping price expected to arrive on November 10. 24Gb still has an advantage over 12Gb for me, if I can get my hands on the card this year. We shall see!].
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 30th October 2020 at 13:33.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 15:43   #2068  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
there is one case with overblown HDR just chill for now.

edit: BTW. you complained about low YT quality right? there seems to be a major issue with the current AMD driver and web browser.
try this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PRUrlZFty3A it looks horrific on my system if you load the same stream into let'S mpc-be it fine.
this is my last word about this in this topic if you want to discuss this in more detail feel free to do so in the driver thread.
So what are we supposed to be looking for? I just tested this clip and it looks fine to me... I have yet to see any "major issue" with AMD and web browser

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 16:00   #2069  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
edit: BTW. you complained about low YT quality right? there seems to be a major issue with the current AMD driver and web browser.
try this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PRUrlZFty3A it looks horrific on my system if you load the same stream into let'S mpc-be it fine.
Yes I have one single video which looks awful. I used Firefox first and it is the same in MPC-BE. So I think it is encoded that way. Just to remember I was referring to the background:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07FYdnEawAQ&t=47

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
this is my last word about this in this topic if you want to discuss this in more detail feel free to do so in the driver thread.
Why so harsh? I only read your vague comment in the madVR thread and asked for more details. I thought there might be something I missed.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 16:06   #2070  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PRUrlZFty3A it looks horrific on my system if you load the same stream into let'S mpc-be it fine.
I just watched that video. What issue(s) do you see?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 16:07   #2071  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,890
extremely hard blocking on chromium based webbrowser in close to black details.
even using screenshoot fixes it so does playing it externally in a media player. i have no notice this on my nvidia system else i would not even assume AMD to be related to this issue.

my last word about webbrowser artefacts in the madVR thread not your general question compatibility.

Quote:
Yes I have one single video which looks awful. I used Firefox first, and it is the same in MPC-BE.
ok should be a different issue.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 16:10   #2072  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,285
What is that "different" issue? How can I reproduce it?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 16:17   #2073  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,890
you don't seem to have it. you really just have to watch the video and pause it is not impossible to miss.

i use vivaldi 3.4.2066.86 also tested a fresh install of chrome (has to go now) and the currently installed edge i'm on 19041 20H1 amd 20.10.1
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 16:27   #2074  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,285
What info is displayed when you rightclick on the videoframe on your browser and click on "Statisiken für Nerds", sorry now it is "Interessierte". The video is available as MP4 with AVC encoded video and WebM with VP9 encoded video.
Perhaps that is also a point?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 16:54   #2075  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,890
i tested these too it one of the first things i did. the browser uses VP youtubeDL in mpc-hc defaults to h264 mpc-be defautls to h264 so i DL the stream 248 and tested it locally.

what i just tested it in film and TV app it has the same issue a bit differently. taking a screenshoot and it's gone i have to move the player windows or go fullscreen to trigger it again.

that's such a mess. mpcVR is fine too with d3d11 (that kinda new BTW.) d3d9 is forced limited for me.

i guess reinstalling the system is faster then debugging this feels bad when i aim to replace it in 1-2 weeks.

does someone know if a program can know if a screen is taken from it?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 18:29   #2076  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 579
After a clean install of 457.09, I noticed again that "optimal" behaves just like "adaptive". I've seen no reason to change it so far. YMMV
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 22:15   #2077  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,946
Neat. I'm in the middle of doing a clean install right now. I was going to check HDR real quick and make sure they didn't break the metadata again. I've got the fury inline. I'll report back shortly.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2020, 22:22   #2078  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,946
No change from previous drivers where HDR is concerned. Bringing up the player overlay will drop you back to SDR until you're back in full screen. Metadata is working as expected.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2020, 12:45   #2079  |  Link
angmav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 13
Can I ask a question are we nvidia owners that stupid that we need a thread with over 2000 posts to make sure our card works properly this is ridiculous that a massive company like nvidia cant hire someone to simply test this stuff I understand us home theatre pc owners are a small market share of sales but can any amd owners tell me if they have any issues because I think I am done with nvidia seriously every new driver fixes one thing and breaks another , now we have firmware that works different for different models then why release new firmware for it ,why not develop a different branch one for RTX , one for GTX , if I am wrong please tell me I am just over it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
angmav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2020, 13:42   #2080  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,890
for AMD the GPU driver where just dying for like 6 month when decoding VP9 they renamed this bug like 5 times in the known issue notes before fixing it and DXVA and D3D11 processing are utterly broken for like a year now(madVR doesn't really use this).

just to give you a reverence point nvidia user are currently complaining about HDR stops working when a player bar or something like this is presented something AMD was never capable of.

this was an issue that went under the radar: https://github.com/GPUOpen-Libraries..._SDK/issues/33
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.