Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th November 2017, 23:59   #1  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,783
FrostyBorders Script

I created this script a while ago, but as I fixed a couple of minor bugs and tweaked it a little today, I thought I'd post it here in case anyone else wants to play. Usage is quite straight forward, and there's instructions at the top of the script, but the standard usage is to specify a width and height and the script resizes and adds FrostyBorders as required. ie

FrostyBorders(960, 540)

The first thumbnails show borders being added to a 4:3 source. The second thumbnails were created by taking a 16:9 source, cropping it to 4:3, then adding borders for 16:9 again.

The AddGrainC plugin is required. There's a link at the top of the script.

FrostyBorders 2018-01-20.avsi

New Version. See post #7 for details.
FrostyBorders 2018-02-15.avsi




Last edited by hello_hello; 15th February 2018 at 01:45.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 03:47   #2  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 857
Nifty! Thanks for this.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 17134 | GPU Caps Viewer 1.40.1.0
NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 (GP108) 2047MB/GDDR5 | (R417.22)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 10:25   #3  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,783
My pleasure. If you follow the link at the top of the script referring to raffriff42, you'll find his version of the script with more options, and a second version around post #29, I think. Mine is also a little configurable, but the borders it creates are mainly configured to my taste, so raffriff42's scripts would also be worth a look.

Last edited by hello_hello; 15th November 2017 at 10:36.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 14:51   #4  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
If you follow the link at the top of the script referring to raffriff42, you'll find his version of the script with more options, and a second version around post #29, I think. Mine is also a little configurable, but the borders it creates are mainly configured to my taste, so raffriff42's scripts would also be worth a look.
Thanks hello_hello; likewise I'm sure. The newest link is here, and here is a short video clip. These effects don't encode well (due to the fixed-pattern noise); they're for live viewing.

And before somebody says it, yes, there is nothing wrong with plain black borders. These effects are just for fun - a little ambient light surround when viewing shows that aren't as widescreen as your monitor.
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 18:08   #5  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by raffriff42 View Post
And before somebody says it, yes, there is nothing wrong with plain black borders. These effects are just for fun - a little ambient light surround when viewing shows that aren't as widescreen as your monitor.
Actually for Plasma owners such as myself, the coloured borders have a practical purpose. They should prevent the "burnt-in" look after watching a lot of video with black borders. It's not really burnt-in, as the effect disappears fairly quickly, but coloured borders will help the screen to age more evenly. The TV has a 4:3 mode with an option to create light grey borders itself, but they're fugly.

Previously I've zoomed to 16:9 and now I won't have to. I probably still will much of the time, but it's not compulsory any more.

Last edited by hello_hello; 16th November 2017 at 18:19.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2017, 15:00   #6  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,783
Well it turns out I'm too stupid to use a computer.

When I fixed the resizing problem for the last version of the script I must have had a stupid and broke the ability to set a pixel aspect ratio. The script worked perfectly for square pixel sources, but for anamorphic sources it was stretching and squishing them.

While I was at it I also blatantly stole an idea from raffriff42 for checking the size of the borders, although rather than not add them, the script will add black borders instead until they reach 16 pixels wide each side, or top and bottom, when they'll turn frosty. Thanks raffriff42

The new version of my script it in the opening post.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 01:43   #7  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,783
I made quite a few changes to the script and fixed a bug. Hopefully I didn't introduce any new ones.

- Fixed a silly that sometimes caused the script to throw an error when large top/bottom borders were added.

- Added "InDAR" option. For anamorphic sources a display aspect ratio can be specified for correct resizing rather than a pixel aspect ratio (although the latter option can still be used).
- Improved handling of anamorphic sources. The default width is now the width after resizing to square pixel dimensions and the default height is the source height, so the script can be used for resizing anamorphic sources simply by not specifying a width or height (or specifying zero for both).
- Added "Frosty" option. Frosty=false adds plain black or colored borders instead of FrostyBorders.
- Added a wrapper function called Borders() for adding plain borders. It has the same options as FrostyBorders().
Borders() is the same as FrostyBorders(Frosty=false)
- Added "BColor" option for specifying the color of borders when the script is adding plain black or colored borders.
- Increased the sensitivity to scene changes. The frosty borders should change instantly on most scene changes now.

- Removed the "Gradient" option as it didn't look very good.

When resizing, the script still uses the Avisynth resizer (Spline36Resize) to apply any sub-pixel cropping required for zero aspect error.

There's a link for the new version (2018-02-15) in the opening post.

Last edited by hello_hello; 6th March 2018 at 11:25.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.