Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd June 2013, 15:21   #1  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,135
Not-So-Lossless (Arcsoft dtshd-MA decoder)

Just for testing and learning purposes, I created a fake 0.5-second mono WAV file (16-bits, 48kHz) and compressed it to DTS-HD Master Audio. Then I decoded this latter through eac3to, and compared the decoded WAV to the original uncompressed source. And in fact, the Arcsoft DLL does add some "garbage" (null bytes) at the beginning and at the end of the output.

So now my question is, why the devil the DLL does that?
Attached Files
File Type: zip mono-dtsma-test.zip (47.7 KB, 25 views)

Last edited by filler56789; 23rd June 2013 at 16:33. Reason: better title (clarification)
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2013, 15:45   #2  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
I'm not an expert on the DTS format, but many compressed audio formats divide the audio data into fixed-size "frames". Then each frame is processed separately, e.g. transformed into the frequency domain.

Now, in order to avoid artifacts at the frame boundaries, the frames are usually overlapping. Also some "windowing" function is applied to the frame, so we have same "fade-in" and "fade-out" at the beginning and the end of the frame.

This means we need some "extra" samples at the beginning/end of the frame. But at the very beginning (or the very end) of the file audio we obviously do not have those. That's why some "silent" (NULL) samples are padded by the encoder.

If the decoder doesn't cut away those "padding" samples (this feature is often referred to as "gapless playback"), then the decompressed output is slightly longer and slightly shifted, as compared to the original...

(The length of the input being not an exact multiple of the frame size is another possible reason for padding additional samples)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 23rd June 2013 at 15:50.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2013, 16:06   #3  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,078
I agree, if its just null bytes that are added front and back, its just the usual padding to fit frame sizes.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2013, 18:19   #4  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,135
^ Thanks to you both for the explanations I had forgotten about the frame sizes in lossless audio compression , and I thought DTSdecoderdll was decoding only the lossy core in many/most cases

Now and IMNSHO, Arcsoft really should fire some of their very-lazy programmers

Last edited by filler56789; 23rd June 2013 at 20:47.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2013, 20:56   #5  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 938
What version of ArcSoft are you using? Is it consistent with other versions?
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2013, 21:51   #6  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,135
I'm using 1.1.0.1, for both eac3to and LAV Audio, BTW please see the posts below:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...78#post1508578

and

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...46#post1508746

Last edited by filler56789; 23rd June 2013 at 22:01. Reason: add links
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.