Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 30th January 2012, 00:03   #1  |  Link
horrormaster34

Fast Deinterlacer Better Than Yadif?

I've been using Yadif in Mencoder for a few years, but since getting into AviSynth I wanted to know if there's a better and faster (or equally as fast) deinterlacer? I've tried QTGMC, but it slowed everything down to 2-5 FPS. I see that there's also a YadifMod, but don't understand when it says "This version doesn't internally generate spatial predictions, but takes them from an external clip."
horrormaster34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2012, 08:48   #2  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL

Part of deinterlacing involves interpolating fields into full-height frames.

There are several ways to do this, including a simple bicubic resize (which is what Bob() does by default I think). You can also be clever and use some very fancy interpolators like NNEDI3 or EEDI2 which are basically purpose built to do the best possible job at this task.

YadifMOD lets you use Yadif's other deinterlacing logic, but supply your own interpolation.

Yadif is fast and simple, and is usually better than a dumb Bob(). QTGMC has lots of options, but you'll never make it as fast as Yadif as far as I know. Quality means lots of calculations, which usually means lots of time spent encoding

You can always try TDeint, though it tends to cause artifacts a bit too much with my limited experience.

Derek
Old 30th January 2012, 08:59   #3  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex

Quote:
better and faster (or equally as fast) deinterlacer?
nope (from what i tested), they are either worse and slower or a lot slower and slightly better. QTGMC seems to be modern right now.