Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st August 2024, 13:07   #1  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,846
mpv media player

I recently improved my command palette script by adding a recent files feature. It can be found here:

https://github.com/stax76/mpv-script...ommand_palette


And there is a new mpv GUI project named mpv-hero.

mpv-hero consists of:
  • Original/Vanilla mpv.
  • Some user scripts and tools that make mpv more feature rich, useful and beginner-friendly. There is a feature rich and easy to use context menu.
  • Reasonable default values.

Included user scripts and tools:
  • mpv-menu-plugin - The context menu.
  • uosc - Feature-rich minimalist proximity-based UI for MPV player.
  • thumbfast - High-performance on-the-fly thumbnailer script.
  • recent-menu - Showing recently played files.
  • command_palette - A searchable menu.

https://github.com/stax76/mpv-hero
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2024, 23:06   #2  |  Link
*MidnightWatcher*
Registered User
 
*MidnightWatcher*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 68
Nice!
__________________
My HT: JVC X790R | 120" CineWhite | madVR HTPC RTX 2070S | mpv | UB420 | Denon X3600H @ 5.2.4 | Totem Tribe LCR | 4 x ADX Maximus & Dayton Audio SA230 | 40" TV / MeLE N5105 / MoviePosterApp
*MidnightWatcher* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2024, 21:30   #3  |  Link
therube
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 203
mpv-hero

Heh. When you said, "Original/Vanilla mpv", it didn't click with me as to what it meant.

Anyhow (& as I'm on Win7, I had to throw in mpv.exe v0.36), I'll just note that while I can see the menu items (Open, Play, Stop...), any expanded texts are simply to faint (for these old eyes) to see.
therube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2024, 17:40   #4  |  Link
therube
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 203
(in general, i'm finding -hero less useful then .net,
so more just pointing out things i've come across...

Win7, so i had to drop back to mpv 0.36)


when Menu opens, it "grays' out the video
- need it do that? is that "curtain"?

on my other computer, secondary menus are still faint, but render better
(as in i can actually see them, mostly)
- is that "submenu"?

Menu has the menu icon
- would it also make sense for right-click to also open Menu?

on my end, Ctrl+o/O, DEL, a number of hotkeys, do not work
- console does not show anything (seemingly does not even register the key press)

(heh, i keep going to right-click to open Menu)

an attempted, update uosc, errored on my end
- i /assume/ that would integrate manual changes made to .conf while player is open, into current session ?

"thumbnails" on the timeline is kind of neat,
- though not sure if i like it or not?
can something like that be enabled in mpv.net ?
(might be less useful in mpv.net as the timeline is less wide in mpv.net compared to -hero,
so movements within are less "precise")


destination_time=time-remaining
- can /that/ be set, enabled in mpv.net ???


DELETE, is set, by default, to do a HARD Delete
& one might find that a bit... unexpected

what is "ziggy" (other then integral to uosc) ?
(& i take it a windows user would have absolutely no use for ziggy-darwin nor ziggy-linux)
(& then, why can't darwin use an ELF file ;-))


(was this thread meant to be for mpv-hero?)
therube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2024, 17:07   #5  |  Link
Zarxrax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,226
I find this player to be quite good. I have been wanting to try MPV, but it felt so difficult to use and get started with. This is quite nice and mostly just kind of works right out of the box.

There are a couple of items that I feel very opinionated about, so I have tried to fix them in the config file.
1. I want left click to pause. - This was easy enough to change in input.conf.
2. I want UP/DOWN to adjust the volume. - So, I ran into issues here. I put these into input.conf, but it didn't seem to change anything:
Code:
UP    add volume 5
DOWN  add volume -5
Any thoughts on how to correctly bind those keys for the volume?


There is one other thing that annoys me a lot. The volume control is over on the right side, and I think that's great. However, if I adjust the volume without moving my mouse over to that point, then a totally different volume control appears in the center of the interface. It feels like bad design to have 2 different volume controls depending on where your mouse is at, and I really don't want it covering up the main area of my video. Is this perhaps just the way its implemented in UOSC? Do I need to take it up with them?
Zarxrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2024, 19:25   #6  |  Link
therube
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 203
Up/Down looks to be working on my end.

(Note that by default, they're mapped to seek commands.)
Different case Up vs UP, changing the volume jump 2 vs 5 sec, leaving the seek setting in there or REM'd out (#)... in all cases UP/DOWN for volume change worked.
therube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2024, 20:42   #7  |  Link
Zarxrax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by therube View Post
Up/Down looks to be working on my end.

(Note that by default, they're mapped to seek commands.)
Different case Up vs UP, changing the volume jump 2 vs 5 sec, leaving the seek setting in there or REM'd out (#)... in all cases UP/DOWN for volume change worked.
Hmm. By default the up/down keys do seek through the video as expected. But once I uncomment those lines and change the seek command to volume add, they still continue to seek, rather than changing the volume. Not sure what's wrong, but I just cant get them to change the volume.
Zarxrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2024, 20:54   #8  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,846
There is a bindings test mode that can be invoked from the command line:

Code:
mpv --force-window=yes --idle=yes --autofit=80%x80% --input-test  # binding test
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2024, 12:45   #9  |  Link
Zarxrax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
There is a bindings test mode that can be invoked from the command line:

Code:
mpv --force-window=yes --idle=yes --autofit=80%x80% --input-test  # binding test
Thanks, that helped me get to the bottom of it. I had only changed the bindings for Up/Down on lines 52 and 53, but they appear again on lines 269 and 270, under the context menu section.
Zarxrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.