Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th July 2012, 14:36   #1  |  Link
codeguru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bonn, Rio, Shanghai, Ulan Baatar
Posts: 26
Mainconcept 7.7 encoding in parallel im?possible

Hi I have a question about the mainconcept H.264 v 7.7

My os is Windows 7 64 bit and my video tool is Magix Videodeluxe MX Plus (Version 17).

The h.264 has such a bad cpu usage (about 55%) that I wanted to encode in 2 sessions in parallel.... but when starting the second encoding session I get an error message "error loading the Mainconcept encoder. The encoder returned an unknown error".

Is that feature disabled in this encoder?

WMV and DivX are not restricted and I already did that in 5 sessions in parallel. But now I wanna take advantage from the better encoding.... I have only 20 Kbit Upstream so I'd like to crunch my clips as much as I can.
codeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2012, 20:44   #2  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,359
Why not use x264?

(sorry I know nothing about Mainconcept's encoder)
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2012, 02:50   #3  |  Link
codeguru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bonn, Rio, Shanghai, Ulan Baatar
Posts: 26
not possible

my program is fixed to the Mainconcept h.264 encoder
codeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2012, 10:13   #4  |  Link
Sagittaire
Testeur de codecs
 
Sagittaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France
Posts: 2,485
Why make encoding in parrallel? Low fps is certainely speed limitation from the source (slow pre-process filter, Disk access ...)

Total time will be even better if you make encoding successively (Disk access will be better if you have high framerate).
__________________
Le Sagittaire ... ;-)

1- Ateme AVC or x264
2- VP7 or RV10 only for anime
3- XviD, DivX or WMV9
Sagittaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2012, 10:48   #5  |  Link
codeguru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bonn, Rio, Shanghai, Ulan Baatar
Posts: 26
that's fun....

I have a 8 months old Dell XPS15 notebook with Q2830 CPU and 7200 rpm harddisk. Using the WMV codec I get about 25-40 fps when encoding 1080p25 10 Mbit material to 2 mbit WMV in 720p25, and about 95% of CPU usage. And there are no filters, it is just copy and paste on the timeline.

The slowlyness of the H.264 encoding is for sure not caused by slow hard disk.... and it shows on all 8 CPU cores the same average usage. A bad filter is for example not multithreaded and would show up 100% on one CPU core while the other 7 are doing nothing.

So back to the maths... when processed in real time the material is read by 1,2 MB/sec from the harddisk :-) and the hard disk makes 70 MB/sec in continous read and write. The output in 2 Mbit is 250 KByte/sec.

That can be done on a Class 10 card (20 MB/s read) without any influence on the performance.

Anyway this is all OT - why does the mainconcept h.264 not work in 2 sessions?
codeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2012, 13:57   #6  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,698
Quote:
why does the mainconcept h.264 not work in 2 sessions?
why don't you ask mainconcept support?
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2012, 04:34   #7  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,957
Or better yet, contact the company that makes this "Magix Videodeluxe" software.

It's entirely possible that they've configured the Mainconcept encoder in an unusual way.
__________________
These are all my personal statements, not those of my employer :)
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2012, 09:18   #8  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,419
AFAIK Magix can use x264 through vfw which is not bad idea nowdays, since there is internal output to mkv/mp4/264, there will be no vfw limitations.
__________________
ChapterGen - manipulate with chapters in various i/o formats, with CLI support
Official website or Doom9 thread
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2012, 11:52   #9  |  Link
Sagittaire
Testeur de codecs
 
Sagittaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France
Posts: 2,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by codeguru View Post
So back to the maths... when processed in real time the material is read by 1,2 MB/sec from the harddisk :-) and the hard disk makes 70 MB/sec in continous read and write. The output in 2 Mbit is 250 KByte/sec.
Well with 2 sessions you read 2 files sources and write 2 output sources. Moreover with optical disk you have 4 access and certainely not 70 MB/sec in this situation. So back to the maths ... ;-)


Quote:
Anyway this is all OT - why does the mainconcept h.264 not work in 2 sessions?
Perhaps because mainconcept write the same stat files if you make two pass encoding ... ???

Anyway mainconcept is build to use 16 thread. You have certainely another problem. Try to force 8 thread with only one session encoding.
__________________
Le Sagittaire ... ;-)

1- Ateme AVC or x264
2- VP7 or RV10 only for anime
3- XviD, DivX or WMV9

Last edited by Sagittaire; 15th July 2012 at 17:13.
Sagittaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2012, 21:05   #10  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,957
Where did he say he's using an optical disk?

I very strongly doubt there is an I/O bottleneck going on here.
__________________
These are all my personal statements, not those of my employer :)
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2012, 13:08   #11  |  Link
Sagittaire
Testeur de codecs
 
Sagittaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France
Posts: 2,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
Where did he say he's using an optical disk?

I very strongly doubt there is an I/O bottleneck going on here.
magnetic disk. You can have problem if your disk is really fragmented with multiple sessions (I have this problem recently).
__________________
Le Sagittaire ... ;-)

1- Ateme AVC or x264
2- VP7 or RV10 only for anime
3- XviD, DivX or WMV9
Sagittaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2012, 06:39   #12  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,957
Sure, if he was trying to do 5-10 encodes in parallel I could see this being an issue, but not with 1-2. He should be seeing some performance scaling.

One way I like to check whether or not I'm seeing a hard drive bottleneck is by using the Windows 7 Resource Monitor. The Disk tab has a tab named "storage", which has a value named "disk queue length". My understanding is that if this value is above roughly 2x the number of spindles in the logical disk, you're probably thrashing the disk and causing a bottleneck. The "active time" field is interesting too.
__________________
These are all my personal statements, not those of my employer :)
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.