Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Today, 06:56   #2521  |  Link
DTL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 876
What was the reason for such strange matrix ? Wiki says PC-matrix keep range unchanged. But ColorBarsHD already create levels in standard (industry ITU-R/ARIB) narrow range. Additional Levels of 0,255 to 16,235 looks like compress range even more ? Also aditional Levels() make precision and performance lower - may be add one more single-filter 'matrix' to ConvertToRGB() to create 16..235 RGB from 16..235 standard YUV ?

Also using Levels() for >8bit create additional nightmare for users to compute correct params because it is not autoscale.

Also it is good to add into documentation (wiki ?) about PC-matrix only in Convert() do not keep range in 16..235 (as input) but create some distorted RGB decode (above possible compute errors for 8bit in/out) in narrow-like levels if input standard narrow range not additionally compressed with Levels() processing.

"First time for 32 bit"

I see avspmod still release 32bit builds and require 32bit .dll for it. But I think at AVX2 chips users mostly running x64 OS so 32bit builds a not very required. With intrinsics-based SIMD program 32bit builds are easily possible (mostly all instructions have 32bit versions) but may have somehow lower performance because in 32bit mode addressable by instructions register file space is 1/2 of total.

Last edited by DTL; Today at 08:01.
DTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:31   #2522  |  Link
Rob105
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 3
When opening Avisynth script is there command to get windows open file window to populate variable with the video.

Purpose is i have script that do not change at all, but file i apply script to changes a a lot, i don't want to type file name in script, i want to use windows open file dialog to populate it.

How i apply Avisynth script to all video files in folder, batch?
Rob105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:53   #2523  |  Link
FranceBB
Broadcast Encoder
 
FranceBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 2,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob105 View Post
How i apply Avisynth script to all video files in folder, batch?
Let me introduce you to the fantastic world of FFAStrans: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176655
It does exactly what you want in terms of automation.
Just add a watchfolder -> A/V Decoder -> Custom Avisynth Script (doing whatever you want) -> Encoder -> Delivery
works every time.
FranceBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:11   #2524  |  Link
DTL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
Note that "PC matrices" are not quite the same thing as "Studio RGB", or "limited range RGB" used in broadcast or some NLE's

The equivalent way in avisynth as what's used a Studio RGB NLE (like vegas) for 8bit for that example above would be

Code:
ColorBarsHD(640, 480, pixel_type="YV24")
ConvertToYV12()
Levels(0,1,255,16,235)
ConvertToRGB32(chromaresample="point", matrix="rec709")
Y 180,179,16
C 16,181,179
G 16,179,14
M 179,16,181
R 180,16,17
B 15,16,180

There was an old dedicated "studio RGB" function by "trevlac" for avisynth
I tried 2 more plugins for convert: avsresize and fmtc - they both output equal RGB in narrow range and can accept feed from ColorBarsHD directly:

Y 180, 180, 16
C 16, 180, 179
G 16, 180, 15
M 180, 16, 181
R 180, 16, 17
B 16, 16, 180

So it looks only AVS internal 'narrow' matrix is something special and of lowest precision if even feed by 'double-narrow' 8bit YV24.
DTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 15:29   #2525  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTL View Post
What was the reason for such strange matrix ?
Not sure what the "PC matrix" was originally for. Back then, people didn't know what "studio RGB"/"limited range RGB" was.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DTL View Post
I tried 2 more plugins for convert: avsresize and fmtc - they both output equal RGB in narrow range and can accept feed from ColorBarsHD directly:

Y 180, 180, 16
C 16, 180, 179
G 16, 180, 15
M 180, 16, 181
R 180, 16, 17
B 16, 16, 180
zimg/avsresize seems better/faster for just about everything in terms of pixel format conversions than internal functions.
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.