Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st March 2021, 23:09   #2461  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
properties of your player executable-> compatibility -> check disable fullscreen optimisation.

that's know it works with mpc-hc.
Thanks, I tried with MPC-BE and it makes no difference. FSE, old or new, doesn't help.

However I noticed that I only had the issue on HDMI at 23p.

My 4K monitor on DP at 60p doesn't have the issue (but has it if I use its HDMI input at 23p).

I also noticed that it doesn't seem to happen in 10 bits, but then you have to deal with the levels issue, and the fact that the renderer seems stuck in 8bits, even if the driver is set to 10/12bits and madVR is set to 10bits or more. I haven't used 10/12bits in a while, but my memory was that you could get 10bits in windowed full screen. I tried FSE and it's also locked to 8bits, so no idea what's going on.

Doesn't make much sense, but that's what I noticed.

/i'm going to stick to D3D9 for now, the main downside is that I lose BD Menus in jRiver, as it needs D3D11 for that.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2021, 23:17   #2462  |  Link
doffen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 11
My monitor (TV) does not support 4:4:4 on 23Hz, and will go down to (i think) 4:2:2.
Maybe your monitor behaves similar, and the issue is related?
doffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2021, 23:19   #2463  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,891
there was or is a bug in the nvidia driver with 10 bit which madshi worked around.

the GPU has to output 10 bit to make 10 bit work in madVR.

i don't have a nvidia GPU at the moment so nothing i can check right now.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2021, 23:28   #2464  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
there was or is a bug in the nvidia driver with 10 bit which madshi worked around.

the GPU has to output 10 bit to make 10 bit work in madVR.

i don't have a nvidia GPU at the moment so nothing i can check right now.
Yes, the 3090 outputs can output 8/10/12, but madVR is still stuck in 8bits, even when the GPU is set to 10bits.

Anyway, 10bits isnít ideal with my JVC and the levels are all over the place, so Iíll stick to 8bits D3D9 for now I guess.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2021, 04:42   #2465  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,160
I don't have any of these issues with my 3090 so I don't think it is a general problem.

Windows 10 20H2 (19042.844)
Nvidia 461.72 (DCH) 10 bit YCbCr output
madVR FSW D3D11 10 bit

I don't have any issues tone mapping HDR to SDR or having madVR switch to 10 bit if I set my display to 10 bit. It tried G-sync on/off, 23Hz, and 120Hz. All using HDMI 2.1 to my LG CX.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2021, 10:56   #2466  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I don't have any of these issues with my 3090 so I don't think it is a general problem.

Windows 10 20H2 (19042.844)
Nvidia 461.72 (DCH) 10 bit YCbCr output
madVR FSW D3D11 10 bit

I don't have any issues tone mapping HDR to SDR or having madVR switch to 10 bit if I set my display to 10 bit. It tried G-sync on/off, 23Hz, and 120Hz. All using HDMI 2.1 to my LG CX.
Thanks, but I never said it was a general problem, I even specified it was only happening with RGB 8bits. It doesn't happen in 10bits, as reported above. I haven't tested YCC for this.

Unfortunately the levels are wrong with my JVC RS2000 when using 10bits (non-8bits levels have been broken for ages with the JVC with nVidia), plus due to an internal processing limitation the JVCs force YCC 4:2:2 when fed 4K 10/12bits content even at 23p, so 10bits isn't an option as this leads to a double chroma down/upscaling behind madVR's back.

Not using HDMI 2.1, neither my AVR nor my projector support this yet (so only 2.0).

Not sure how you get 10bits to work in madVR though, there was no way to get it to work here, even in 10bits. It used to work with the 1080ti, eventhough I was not using it. The JVCs support 10/12bits fine.
I'm extending the desktop to my LG 4K monitor that only supports 8bits, I'll try to disconnect it, maybe that's why I can't get madVR to work in 10bits. I didn't use to have this with the 1080ti.

Are you using YCC 422 or YCC 444?

Also which version of madVR are you using? The latest test build? I'm on 128, maybe something got broken along the way?
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 2nd March 2021 at 11:05.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2021, 12:49   #2467  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 863
Update:

I have resolved the weird colors with d3d11 by reuploading my custom EDID to the HD fury maestro. [edit: nope, it’s back]

however, there are still weird issues with d3d11, for example it clips levels on patterns unless you right click on the screen. no such issue with d3d9 here.

i tried to get into 10bits mode in ycc, and only manage to do so briefly by enabling FSE on the fly. but if I enable FSE in options, its still 8bit on start; I have to go to window and back to fullscreen to get 10bits again.

Anyway, I dont have the time to debug madVR at the moment, so Ill just keep using d3d9 for now. Sorry for the off topic.

[can’t use d3d9 as I not only lose menus in jRiver, I also lose forced subs. So I’m just going to stop using the HTPC as a source]
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 2nd March 2021 at 16:58.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2021, 18:44   #2468  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 752
@Manni maybe try the .reg available here to disable Multi-Plane Overlay: https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answ...tail/a_id/5157
I know the KB article doesn't mention colors, but MPO is a feature of the newer driver, so who knows?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti 461.92
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2021, 20:29   #2469  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Thanks, but I never said it was a general problem, I even specified it was only happening with RGB 8bits. It doesn't happen in 10bits, as reported above. I haven't tested YCC for this.
Sorry, I missed that it only happened with 8 bit. I was simply seeing if I could reproduce it.

I cannot, even using 23 Hz 8 bit full range RGB everything seems the same. I can still get madVR to output 10 bit too. Levels seem fine using test patterns.

I wonder what component is causing your system to behave so differently.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2021, 01:25   #2470  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
@Manni maybe try the .reg available here to disable Multi-Plane Overlay
Thanks but that wouldn't make a difference, I had already tried to go back to 460.89 and that didn't help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Sorry, I missed that it only happened with 8 bit. I was simply seeing if I could reproduce it.
No worries. So many variables in a HTPC... It could be my JVC, my AVR, my HD Fury Maestro, HDMI 2.0 vs HDMI 2.1, who knows?

If/when I find the time I'll try to connect the JVC direct to the 3090 to see if that makes a difference. In the meantime, I'll just give up and use another source.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2021, 17:10   #2471  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
No worries. So many variables in a HTPC... It could be my JVC, my AVR, my HD Fury Maestro, HDMI 2.0 vs HDMI 2.1, who knows?
Maybe you should just buy an Envy.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2021, 17:36   #2472  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,081
He already has one
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v398.18),Win10 LTSC 1809,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz) | madvr config
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2021, 19:40   #2473  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,287
After 8 days of testing Nvidia driver I got one dropout / flicker / short black screen just now. This is way better than before, but still not perfect. And I am not sure, but if I watch YouTube videos in Firefox, I think I can hear some crackling sometimes, but very little and very rare, but if I rewind to the point the crackling is also there at the time. So it could also be in the video itself. I don't know. If I watch quality sources with MPC-BE there is no issue as far as I am aware of. Same for foobar2000 with music there is no issue.

Again: If you are a Vega or Radeon VII user please let me know. I think I pin it on first post.

Last edited by Klaus1189; 3rd March 2021 at 19:44. Reason: Correction 8 days, not 6
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2021, 11:11   #2474  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Again: If you are a Vega or Radeon VII user please let me know. I think I pin it on first post.
Vega iGPU (APU) here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
The Hardware Deinterlacer should be aware that the characters above "WWW.D88.COM" are progressive and should not be deinterlaced, otherwise you will see flickering like in this picture
There is no flickering now. But hardware deinterlacing is still broken.
Pic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
color levels (full 0-255 vs. limited 16-235) are broken, that means limited 16-235 which is the standard range for videos are interpreted as 0-255 and this leads to elevated blacks and dimm whites.
I don't see any issues with color levels.

PS: small addition:
ē 20.3.1 2020-03-19 This version fixes all HDR issues with Navi and Vega based cards, like a RX 5700 (XT)
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 59Hz / AMD 20.1.3
MPC-HC 1.9.1 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@59Hz
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2021, 19:13   #2475  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post
Vega iGPU (APU) here.

There is no flickering now. But hardware deinterlacing is still broken.
Pic.
How would a professional call this issue? I have never seen anything like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post
I don't see any issues with color levels.
Could you test in MPC-BE or MPC-HC if setting the output range in video tab, where the video renderer is, does take effect, I mean if you set it to 0-255 and if you set it to 16-235, does it make a difference in black levels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post
PS: small addition:
ē 20.3.1 2020-03-19 This version fixes all HDR issues with Navi and Vega based cards, like a RX 5700 (XT)
Added
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2021, 21:24   #2476  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Could you test in MPC-BE or MPC-HC if setting the output range in video tab, where the video renderer is, does take effect, I mean if you set it to 0-255 and if you set it to 16-235, does it make a difference in black levels?
I use mpc-hc/madVR. If I understand correctly, the output range settings in LAV video are ignored in this case. If I change levels in madVR devices -> properties, the changes in the black/white levels of the image change predictably.
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 59Hz / AMD 20.1.3
MPC-HC 1.9.1 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@59Hz
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2021, 21:27   #2477  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,287
Change video renderer to evr cp and do then test. madVR is not affected by this issue.

After that select madVR in video renderer settings and you got back your original settings.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2021, 01:09   #2478  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 863
Just to conclude my off-topic, bd menus in jRiver works fine with d3d9, thanks to Nevcariel I realised that it was switching to d3d11 because I have only disabled d3d11 in my UHD profile, but Nev remarked that a 1080p screen was probably called first and then it stuck to d3d11. Disabling d3d11 in all my profiles resolved the issue.

So I haven't resolved the issues I have with d3d11, but at least I can get everything to work as it should with d3d9.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2021, 07:24   #2479  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 180
@Klaus1189
Level settings in LAV-video do not affect anything. I always see the right levels. iGPU - full, TV - full.
Pic.
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 59Hz / AMD 20.1.3
MPC-HC 1.9.1 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@59Hz
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2021, 11:30   #2480  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,891
as you already stated lavfilter is unrelated. the level settings are nearly near been used you need to force RGB output so it is used and there is no "reason" to do that.
this is what i get with AMD an 5700XT:
https://abload.de/img/blackjhk3h.png

this is not happening in madVR because madVR ask for limited range and does the level by itself.
and web browser are usually not triggering this bug too.

and as said before all setting regarding sharpness deint quality colors levels and so much more have been forgotten in the driver the page is still present but the options are missing.

there s no known driver that doesn't have this problem.
this is the biggest video related driver bug that has never been fixed.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.