Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th August 2008, 17:33   #81  |  Link
vlada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 752
In MPlayer from 2008-07-18 should be PAFF implemented. I think it is supported at least for a half of year.

Now I'd like to ask you for help with my problem. On my work computer I can't run MPlayer. The CLI version MPlayer.exe always instantly exits without any output. I tried different versions and builds. I have a suspicion that a firewall or other "service" is blocking MPlayer. I tried to rename the .exe but it didn't help.

Do you have any idea how to check if my suspicion is correct? And more importantly do you have any idea how I could fool the service?
vlada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 21:22   #82  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
I don't see how a firewall could prevent MPlayer from starting up

I recommend you try to run MPlayer.exe from gdb and see what it reports. Maybe you get some useful output...

You can get latest gdb version here:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...ease_id=594520

Try like this:
"C:\MinGW\Bin\gdb.exe" "C:\Program Files\MPlayer for Windows\MPlayer.exe"

Then type "run" to start execution and see what will happen...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 20th August 2008 at 22:21.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 06:49   #83  |  Link
Hogge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dat720 View Post
There must be a problem elsewhere with your setup, the only time i ever have playback issues is if the video requires more processing power than my pc has!
Hi Dat!There is no problem with my setup,ive tried anything anbd everything,i mean what can i do wrong.Im running Vista AMD 64X2 2,3ghz ,4gb memory.Dat tell me how to setup then,ive never had problems befor it the latest build only.
Hogge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 08:58   #84  |  Link
dat720
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 870
I have no idea what software or problems there could be with Your PC, my current setup is Vista x64 Intel Q9550 (this thing rocks!!!) 4gb ram, and mplayer and mencoder work perfectly!

On that note...

Mulder, one thing that anoys me about your Installer is no Mencoder!!!!
Could you do 2 packages.... one with mencoder and one without!
dat720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 15:10   #85  |  Link
DarkZell666
aka XaS
 
DarkZell666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by dat720 View Post
Mulder, one thing that anoys me about your Installer is no Mencoder!!!!
Could you do 2 packages.... one with mencoder and one without!
What's wrong with not bundling an encoding program in a playback package ?

You can get mencoder from here (bundled with mplayer) though
__________________

Q9300 OC @ 3.2ghz / Asus P5E3 / 4GB PC10600 / Geforce 8600 GTS
DarkZell666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 15:56   #86  |  Link
vlada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Try like this:
"C:\MinGW\Bin\gdb.exe" "C:\Program Files\MPlayer for Windows\MPlayer.exe"

Then type "run" to start execution and see what will happen...
Thanks for your help. This is the result I got:



Is it of any help? I'm afraid not. I think I might need a debug version of MPlayer.
vlada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 18:51   #87  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlada View Post
Is it of any help? I'm afraid not. I think I might need a debug version of MPlayer.
Well, the debugger works even without a Debug build. In case of a crash a Debug build simply gives more useful info, that's it.

But you don't get any output at all. That really bizarre. Sure your MPlayer.exe file is okay ???


You should get something like this:
Code:
LoRd_MuldeR@MULDER_NEU ~
$ cd "/c/program files (x86)/MPlayer for Windows"

LoRd_MuldeR@MULDER_NEU /c/program files (x86)/MPlayer for Windows
$ gdb MPlayer.exe
GNU gdb 6.8
Copyright (C) 2008 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i686-pc-mingw32"...
(no debugging symbols found)
(gdb) run
Starting program: c:\program files (x86)\MPlayer for Windows/MPlayer.exe
[New thread 4992.0x1384]
Error: dll starting at 0x77d40000 not found.
Error while mapping shared library sections:
NOT_AN_IMAGE: No such file or directory.
Error while mapping shared library sections:
C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\ntdll32.dll: No such file or directory.
Error: dll starting at 0x77d40000 not found.
Error: dll starting at 0x77c20000 not found.
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
[New thread 4992.0x1388]
(no debugging symbols found)
MPlayer Sherpya-SVN-r27323-4.2.4 (C) 2000-2008 MPlayer Team
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU           @ 2.40GHz (Family: 6, Model: 15, Step
ping: 7)
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
Compiled for x86 CPU with extensions: MMX MMX2 SSE SSE2
Usage:   mplayer [options] [url|path/]filename

Basic options: (complete list in the man page)
 -vo <drv>        select video output driver ('-vo help' for a list)
 -ao <drv>        select audio output driver ('-ao help' for a list)
 vcd://<trackno>  play (S)VCD (Super Video CD) track (raw device, no mount)
 dvd://<titleno>  play DVD title from device instead of plain file
 -alang/-slang    select DVD audio/subtitle language (by 2-char country code)
 -ss <position>   seek to given (seconds or hh:mm:ss) position
 -nosound         do not play sound
 -fs              fullscreen playback (or -vm, -zoom, details in the man page)
 -x <x> -y <y>    set display resolution (for use with -vm or -zoom)
 -sub <file>      specify subtitle file to use (also see -subfps, -subdelay)
 -playlist <file> specify playlist file
 -vid x -aid y    select video (x) and audio (y) stream to play
 -fps x -srate y  change video (x fps) and audio (y Hz) rate
 -pp <quality>    enable postprocessing filter (details in the man page)
 -framedrop       enable frame dropping (for slow machines)

Basic keys: (complete list in the man page, also check input.conf)
 <-  or  ->       seek backward/forward 10 seconds
 down or up       seek backward/forward  1 minute
 pgdown or pgup   seek backward/forward 10 minutes
 < or >           step backward/forward in playlist
 p or SPACE       pause movie (press any key to continue)
 q or ESC         stop playing and quit program
 + or -           adjust audio delay by +/- 0.1 second
 o                cycle OSD mode:  none / seekbar / seekbar + timer
 * or /           increase or decrease PCM volume
 x or z           adjust subtitle delay by +/- 0.1 second
 r or t           adjust subtitle position up/down, also see -vf expand

 * * * SEE THE MAN PAGE FOR DETAILS, FURTHER (ADVANCED) OPTIONS AND KEYS * * *


Program exited normally.
(gdb)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 18:53   #88  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by dat720 View Post
Mulder, one thing that anoys me about your Installer is no Mencoder!!!!
Could you do 2 packages.... one with mencoder and one without!
I don't see a reason to have MEncoder in a playback package. Also none of the front-end does use MEncoder.
So there is absolutely no difference if you download the MEncoder.exe alone. See the link provided by DarkZell666.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 22nd August 2008 at 12:45.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 19:59   #89  |  Link
vlada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 752
LoRd_MuldeR> The same MPlayer.exe works on other computers without any problems. But it doesn't work on any computer at work. I also tried other builds with the same result. So my conclusion is that there must be something in our network which kills MPlayer as soon as it is started.

But I'm wondering how the "service" could recognize that the process is MPlayer. Do you have any idea?
vlada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 20:06   #90  |  Link
DarkZell666
aka XaS
 
DarkZell666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlada View Post
LoRd_MuldeR> The same MPlayer.exe works on other computers without any problems. But it doesn't work on any computer at work. I also tried other builds with the same result. So my conclusion is that there must be something in our network which kills MPlayer as soon as it is started.

But I'm wondering how the "service" could recognize that the process is MPlayer. Do you have any idea?
Maybe a blacklist on the executable name ?
Or even a whitelist with authorised programs in which mplayer isn't listed ? What if you rename to somethingelse.exe ?
__________________

Q9300 OC @ 3.2ghz / Asus P5E3 / 4GB PC10600 / Geforce 8600 GTS
DarkZell666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 20:06   #91  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
The network cannot cause the problem, because the MPlayer process won't open any network connections before writing the copyright notice and stuff to stdout.
Unless you try to open a web stream, it won't open any network connection at all...

I guess it's some "conflicting" software, which is installed on all the computers at work. Maybe some tool that prevents workers from stating up "entertainment" software or buggy A/V software ?!?!?
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 21st August 2008 at 20:13.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 21:40   #92  |  Link
vlada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 752
DarkZell666> As I already wrote renaming the EXE doesn't help. Also almost all other programs (in portable versions) work without any problems.

LoRd_MuldeR> Yes, this is also what I think. Maybe antivirus (which I can't stop) is causing it. But I'm wondering how it can identify that the process is MPlayer.
vlada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 22:03   #93  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlada View Post
But I'm wondering how it can identify that the process is MPlayer.
Hash? Signature? Heuristics? ...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008, 22:11   #94  |  Link
DarkZell666
aka XaS
 
DarkZell666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlada View Post
DarkZell666> As I already wrote renaming the EXE doesn't help. Also almost all other programs (in portable versions) work without any problems.

LoRd_MuldeR> Yes, this is also what I think. Maybe antivirus (which I can't stop) is causing it. But I'm wondering how it can identify that the process is MPlayer.
Ooops, I did read your posts though, I must have scrolled past that one
Well, antiviruses identify viruses directly by detecting "bytecode patterns", or so to say. It would be very farfetched to think they actually built a signature to forbid mplayer, but technically it's possible imho.

As MuldeR says, some companies use hidden processes to actually do just that sort of thing. They can even detect forbidden processes remotely (how cool is that ? ... lol).

How exactly they detect mplayer depends on the product. Right-click on mplayer.exe and check the "version" tab. Some of them maybe use the info from in there, dunno ... There's tons of meta-information to be used to identify a program, and the "version" tab is only part of it
__________________

Q9300 OC @ 3.2ghz / Asus P5E3 / 4GB PC10600 / Geforce 8600 GTS
DarkZell666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2008, 09:27   #95  |  Link
dat720
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
I don't see a reason to have MEncoder in a playback package. Also none of the front-end does use MPlayer.
So there is absolutely no difference if you download the MEncoder.exe alone. See the link provided by DarkZell666.
Fair enough... im just lazy.... im a public servant what do you expect
dat720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2008, 19:19   #96  |  Link
panzerino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
LoRd_MuldeR

Thank you for your wonderful job.
Two question:

*if I put the mplayer window in some position on the screen there is an option to retain this position when the next title from my playlist is played?
*when i make some changes on brightness/contrast there is an option to retain these settings when the next title from my play list is played? when the next title is played MPlayer redraw some default values...

MPLayer is wonderful to play music too... sorry but i use one old 10/2007 version. All the newest mplayer versions have 40-50% more CPU using... i do not know why this happen, but anyway... great player... the best literally.

Last edited by panzerino; 22nd August 2008 at 21:32.
panzerino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2008, 00:54   #97  |  Link
dat720
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 870
That seems strange that mplayer is using 40-50% for music........

I have the most current build and it only uses 20% CPU to playback a 21gb HD mkv
dat720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2008, 11:06   #98  |  Link
panzerino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
I have Pentium 4 Northwood with only 1GB RAM...
panzerino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2008, 12:19   #99  |  Link
Martin H
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 32
As i previously stated in this thread, then the MPlayer build that's included in the latest official MPUI package(dev-SVN-r26251-3.4.2 from the 15th of march '08 which is compiled with CPU runtime-detection), uses less CPU cycles and RAM while also being 1.8mb smaller than the P4 optimized "Sherpya" build(Sherpya-SVN-r27323-4.2.4) that's included in MuldeR's latest installer...

Direct-link to a zip archive with the lighter/smaller MPlayer-SVN-r26251: http://garr.dl.sourceforge.net/sourc...SVN-r26251.zip
Martin H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2008, 12:58   #100  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin H View Post
Direct-link to a zip archive with the lighter/smaller MPlayer-SVN-r26251: http://garr.dl.sourceforge.net/sourc...SVN-r26251.zip
You must be kidding. This download is two years old now...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mplayer, mpui, player, smplayer, win32

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.