Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd August 2008, 15:42   #61  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
Yes, I did some more changes to MPUI. For example I exchanged the MPlayer logo and I added code to center the MPUI window on your screen.

Also note that CPU usage in Taskmanger alone doesn't say much about the actual performance of an application.
For example higher CPU usage can also mean that there are less situations in which the application has to wait idly, so the performance might actually be better.
Especially on multi-core (multi-processor) systems a higher CPU usage usually (but not always!) indicates better performance due to better multi-threading.
However if you feel the older build works better on your machine, feel free to use it...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 2nd August 2008 at 15:57.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 16:22   #62  |  Link
Martin H
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 32
Many thank's for your reply, mate

Yes, i had noticed the collor change and center window placement and that was actually also what i meant about "small UI changes"

Yes, about the cpu usage, then i understand what you say, but i was just very puzzled about the newer P4 optimized build did use about the double amount of cpu resources and about 7MB more in ram consumption, and as i only have a P4 1.7GHz with 256mb ram and where 32mb's of that is shared with the on-board graphics, then i will use your MPUI compile together with the MPlayer build from the official MPUI package(dev-SVN-r26251-3.4.2 compiled with CPU runtime-detection)...

Again, many thanks for your work and reply

CU, Martin.
Martin H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 16:47   #63  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
Time for a RAM upgrade! You can get 4 GB of RAM for 60€ these days ...

http://www.alternate.de/html/product...R2-800/229135/
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 17:12   #64  |  Link
Martin H
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 32
Yeah, i know, but instead of upgrading my system because of bloated and resource hungry apps, then i just instead preffer to use effecient apps instead...

That's also the reason for me using Win2K with Fred Vorck's IE/Junk removal fileset, instead of XP or Vista and hence, my commit is just 34MB
Martin H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008, 10:41   #65  |  Link
plugh
A hollow voice says
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 269
I just tried out this windows mplayer package; nice. I've noticed two items, common to both front-ends, that I hope someone can shed light on.

1) When I add the -benchmark option, the output it is supposed to generate does not appear in the log files.

2) A "-vf screenshot" filter is being added somewhere (which causes a software scalar to be invoked for yv12 to rgb24 on my system). I couldn't find it in any of the gui options, and ended up having to add a -vf-del to undo it.

Comments? TIA!
plugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008, 11:04   #66  |  Link
Gusar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by plugh View Post
2) A "-vf screenshot" filter is being added somewhere (which causes a software scalar to be invoked for yv12 to rgb24 on my system)
That scaler is only invoked when you actually press the screenshot button, it does not affect the normal viewing of the video.
Gusar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2008, 15:56   #67  |  Link
Hogge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Hi Mulder!!Its really sad,i can no longer use your versions,when i try start a avi file,it tries to start it,it can take maybe up to 1min.And sometimes it crashes the exit code 62097.
Ive tried to post this to Sherpya with no luck.
The SMPlayer Standalone package i can use,so it must be something else.Im really sad i like your builds.

Here is a log below,before the exit code.

Code:
C:/Program Files/MPlayer for Windows/MPlayer.exe -noquiet -nofs -sub-fuzziness 1 -identify -slave -vo gl -ao dsound -zoom -nokeepaspect -priority abovenormal -framedrop -subfont-autoscale 1 -subfont-text-scale 5 -subcp ISO-8859-1 -subpos 100 -cache 2000 -osdlevel 1 -vf-add screenshot -channels 6 -af equalizer=0:0:0:0:0:0:0:0:0:0 -sws 9 C:\Users\Hogge\Desktop\WWESUM~1.XVI\KYR-WW~1.AVI

MPlayer Sherpya-SVN-r27323-4.2.4 (C) 2000-2008 MPlayer Team
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+ (Family: 15, Model: 107, Stepping: 1)
3DNow supported but disabled
3DNowExt supported but disabled
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
Compiled for x86 CPU with extensions: MMX MMX2 SSE SSE2
Setting process priority: abovenormal

Playing C:\Users\Hogge\Desktop\WWESUM~1.XVI\KYR-WW~1.AVI.

Cache fill:  0.00% (0 bytes)   
AVI file format detected.
ID_VIDEO_ID=0
[aviheader] Video stream found, -vid 0
ID_AUDIO_ID=1
[aviheader] Audio stream found, -aid 1
VIDEO:  [XVID]  512x384  12bpp  29.970 fps  940.8 kbps (114.8 kbyte/s)
Clip info:
 Software: VirtualDubMod 1.5.10.2 (build 2540/release)
ID_CLIP_INFO_NAME0=Software
ID_CLIP_INFO_VALUE0=VirtualDubMod 1.5.10.2 (build 2540/release)
ID_CLIP_INFO_N=1
ID_FILENAME=C:\Users\Hogge\Desktop\WWESUM~1.XVI\KYR-WW~1.AVI
ID_DEMUXER=avi
ID_VIDEO_FORMAT=XVID
ID_VIDEO_BITRATE=940760
ID_VIDEO_WIDTH=512
ID_VIDEO_HEIGHT=384
ID_VIDEO_FPS=29.970
ID_VIDEO_ASPECT=0.0000
ID_AUDIO_FORMAT=85
ID_AUDIO_BITRATE=128616
ID_AUDIO_RATE=0
ID_AUDIO_NCH=0
ID_LENGTH=1798.63
ID_SEEKABLE=1
[gl] using extended formats. Use -vo gl:nomanyfmts if playback fails.
Opening video filter: [screenshot]
==========================================================================
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
Selected video codec: [ffodivx] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg MPEG-4)
==========================================================================
ID_VIDEO_CODEC=ffodivx
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [mp3lib] MPEG layer-2, layer-3
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 128.0 kbit/8.33% (ratio: 16000->192000)
ID_AUDIO_BITRATE=128000
ID_AUDIO_RATE=48000
ID_AUDIO_NCH=2
Selected audio codec: [mp3] afm: mp3lib (mp3lib MPEG layer-2, layer-3)
==========================================================================
AO: [dsound] 48000Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
ID_AUDIO_CODEC=mp3
Starting playback...
VDec: vo config request - 512 x 384 (preferred colorspace: Planar YV12)
Could not find matching colorspace - retrying with -vf scale...
Opening video filter: [scale]
VDec: using Planar YV12 as output csp (no 0)
Movie-Aspect is 1.33:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
ID_VIDEO_ASPECT=1.3333
[swscaler @ 0pecdba4]using unscaled yuv420p -> rgb32 special converter
VO: [gl] 512x384 => 512x384 BGRA  [zoom]
Hogge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2008, 16:11   #68  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
Try this from the commandline:
"C:\Program Files\MPlayer for Windows\MPlayer.exe" -noquiet "C:\Users\Hogge\Desktop\WWESUM~1.XVI\KYR-WW~1.AVI"

If it still crashes, than it's a problem in the MPlayer, either in MPlayer itself or in Sherpya's build.
I have some problem with the latest MPlayer builds too and I tried to report these in the MPlayer IRC channel.
But with "unofficial" Win32 builds they aren't willing to give support...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2008, 19:13   #69  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally posted by SuperPat

New build version 2008-08-15
Fixed: Workaround for the SkinnedControls plugin one Windows Vista x64 SP1 and more that not drawn buttons at all. (Buttons are now unskinned on this system version)

Download
I hope the problem with skinned Buttons on Vista is fixed now. Here is a new Test build:
http://www.mediafire.com/?pl2m9lohwvr

Feedback from Vista users welcome
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 03:58   #70  |  Link
dat720
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 870
No Problems here...

Buttons are unskinned as note suggests!

Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Intel C2D E6300 1.83ghz
4gb 667mhz Samsung RAM
Intel G33 Motherbaord
dat720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 08:58   #71  |  Link
Hogge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Hi Mulder!I tried running from command in Vista,same problem?But from command line it goes to basic,video starts after 20-30sec!
Hogge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2008, 04:20   #72  |  Link
dat720
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 870
Hogge there is no problem with the current build....

mplayer has issues with Vista and Direct Draw, try changing the Video Out driver to gl:yuv=3 or gl:yuv=2:force-pbo:ati-hack i've found these 2 to give the best performance.
dat720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2008, 07:58   #73  |  Link
Hogge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Hi dat!Ive tried that,its the latest 3-4 builds that i have problem with.Mplayer,Smplayer tries to start a video [avi] it can take up to a minute,and sometimes it doesnt.And dat do you now what exit code 62097 is?Thanks every body for trying to help,RVM Smplayer i can run.But i prefer Mulders.
Hogge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2008, 08:34   #74  |  Link
dat720
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 870
There must be a problem elsewhere with your setup, the only time i ever have playback issues is if the video requires more processing power than my pc has!
dat720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2008, 19:17   #75  |  Link
_xxl
ffdshow user
 
_xxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 818
Can you please add an option not to upx almost all files in the installer, it takes long time to install mplayer.
Thanks!
_xxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2008, 21:39   #76  |  Link
Martin H
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 32
@_xxl:

The installer supports a '/NOPACK' command-line argument
Martin H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2008, 03:22   #77  |  Link
Lenny_Nero
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London, south of the river
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin H View Post
That's also the reason for me using Win2K with Fred Vorck's IE/Junk removal fileset, instead of XP or Vista and hence, my commit is just 34MB
Yep ...another Win 2k user here (the best M$ OS around there is a reason why its still a viable Vista upgrade ), but TBH 256 MB is a tiny amount of local RAM in todays world, I even use 388 MB in my 466 MHz router/firewall/server/main gate box (had been 128 MB for 6+ years of its life) and Win 2000 comes alive above 1 GB, all of my other win 2000 boxes run 2 GB or more.

As said its not a large amount of money and still about the best power/speed upgrade for any OS.
__________________
EncodingBox DFI-LP RDX200 CF-DR AMD4200x2 @2.5GHz 2GB G.Skill HZ's x1650XT Corsair HX620 Eclipse62
LG GSA-H42N Lite0n SHM-165P6S Asus CRW-5232A Optiarc AD-5170A Sony e500's & Ducky 1087 via KVM
Lenny_Nero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 20:42   #78  |  Link
Martin H
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 32
@Lenny_Nero:

Thank's for your reply, mate

Yeah, i see your point, but as i'm not using background-running stuff like anti-virus/malware(i just re-image every 7-14 days, or if having a problem and simply use common-sence), and are just using apps like Opera, ImgBurn,7-Zip, foobar2000, SumatraPDF and MPUI etc, then i'm actually alright with 256mb, but if running big apps and doing e.g. video encoding and such, then it would of course be a big bottleneck, but anyway, thanks again for your reply, and i apologise to Mulder for the off-topic'ness...
Martin H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 22:48   #79  |  Link
vio_man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Portugal
Posts: 86
Does Mplayer support interlaced PAFF on H.264? VLC does support it on nightly builds, but those builds are not quite usable.
vio_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 22:52   #80  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by vio_man View Post
Does Mplayer support interlaced PAFF on H.264? VLC does support it on nightly builds, but those builds are not quite usable.
VLC and MPlayer use the very same H.264 decoder, namely ffmpeg/libavcodec. So if VLC supports PAFF, then MPlayer does too

BUT: The latest MPlayer builds for Win32 date back to 2008-07-18, so you might need to wait for fresh builds or compile your own MPlayer.exe ...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 19th August 2008 at 22:55.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mplayer, mpui, player, smplayer, win32

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.