Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th January 2023, 00:49   #9221  |  Link
therealjoeblow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 210
When I re-encode 1080p x264 mkv files down to 720p, I typically start with the AVS Script Creator tool, and drop the MKV file there. That automatically loads the File Indexer where I choose L-SMASH Works and then I tell it to demux all streams.

But it only demuxes the audio and video. To demux the .srt subtitles and the chapter file, I need to manually use another external tool before I go to the "Auto Encode" tool in MeGUI where I can add the audio and subs and chapters to my final project.

Is there a setting I'm missing, or another way that MeGUI can automate demuxing the subs and chapters at the same time it does the audio and video so I don't need to do it manually?

Many thanks
TRJB
__________________
Cheers,
The REAL Joe

Last edited by therealjoeblow; 6th January 2023 at 01:49.
therealjoeblow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2023, 14:13   #9222  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
The recommended way to use MeGUI for this is load the mkv first in Tools -> HD streams extractor
Here you can extract/recode the desired audio tracks with automatic delay compensation (eac3to), also subtitles can be extracted.
Chapters can't be extracted from mkv with eac3to (it can from BD's) then you need other tool.

In Tools -> Chapter Creator load the original mkv and extract the txt/xml chapter file to mux in your final mkv.
Extract also the .qpf file needed when encode with x264 to create K frames in chapters points to a correct jump in the recoded h264 file.
Add in your x264 config -> tab Misc, Custom Command Line: -qpfile "your.qpf"
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2023, 21:50   #9223  |  Link
pooksahib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
SmoothFPS2 (slomo) issue

Hi. I've successfully used this slomo command on a vid:
Code:
trim(17131,17180).SmoothFPS2(int(framerate*3), 1).AssumeFPS(framerate)
When using it on the same vid but a different part, the MeGUI queue stops and says 'error'. The log says "Number of encoded frames does not match the source: 2940/8743" but I don't know what to make of that.

As an experiment, I made a copy of the vid with XMediaRecode. My thinking was that, being a different beast from the original vid, the slomo command would work. But no, MeGUI still says 'error'. All a bit weird. Can anyone suggest why the slomo command works on some sections of the vid but not others? Thanks.

EDIT: Doesn't matter. I installed Avisynth+ which handled it. Odd, though, that vanilla Avisynth couldn't...

Last edited by pooksahib; 1st March 2023 at 08:32.
pooksahib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2023, 21:05   #9224  |  Link
Tschizzey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 14
Hi,

I've encountered this error message, what does it mean? Is there something I'm doing wrong?

logfile-23-03-10_20-53-15.txt
Tschizzey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2023, 12:02   #9225  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
If your source is a TV capture maybe there are some errors because:
Quote:
----[Information] FrameCount: 22320
----[Information] FrameRate: 29.607
----[Information] FrameRateOriginal: 29.970
----[Information] FrameRateMode: VFR
and the video encode crash:
Quote:
--[Information] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:57] Job command line: "cmd.exe" /c ""G:\Programs\MeGUI\tools\ffmpeg\ffmpeg.exe" -loglevel level+error -i "D:\test\cvzjnqr5.fy4\03..avs" -strict -1 -f yuv4mpegpipe - | "G:\Programs\MeGUI\tools\x264\x264.exe" --level 4.1 --preset veryslow --crf 13.0 --keyint 230 --vbv-bufsize 78125 --vbv-maxrate 62500 --aq-mode 3 --aq-strength 0.6 --colormatrix bt709 --sar 1:1 --tcfile-in "D:\test\cvzjnqr5.fy4\03..mkv.timestamps.txt.x264" --frames 22320 --output "D:\test\cvzjnqr5.fy4\03.mkv" --stdin y4m -"
--[Information] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:57] Process started
--[Information] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:57] Standard output stream
--[Error] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:57] Standard error stream
---[Information] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:59] [error] av_interleaved_write_frame(): Broken pipe
---[Information] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:59] [error] Error writing trailer of pipe:: Broken pipe
---[Information] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:59] [error] Error closing file pipe:: Broken pipe
---[Information] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:59] y4m [info]: 1280x720p 1:1 @ 24000/1001 fps (cfr)
---[Error] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:59] timecode [error]: invalid input tcfile for frame 22320
---[Error] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:59] x264 [error]: timecode input failed
--[Error] [2023. 03. 10. 20:54:59] Process exits with error: 0xFFFFFFFF (-1)
Like the problem seems be at end of file (frame 22320) you can try add a Trim(0,22319) to the avs.
Check also the timestamps file (tcfile).
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 11th March 2023 at 12:12. Reason: add info
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2023, 12:41   #9226  |  Link
Tschizzey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 14
Thank you for the answer!

Added the command to avs script like this:

Code:
<input>
Trim(0,22319)
<crop>
<resize>
AssumeFPS("ntsc_film")
but it didn't solve the problem.

Checked the tcfile (now at least I know what that is ).
The last five line in tcfile:

Code:
744730
744764
744830
753918
753918
And that's what I think the problem is. It's a big jump.
What are these timestamps mean? Which frames are they connected to?

Once I figured it out which frame should be the last frame, trimming should solve the problem I guess.
Tschizzey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2023, 12:27   #9227  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tschizzey View Post
The last five line in tcfile:

Code:
744730  00:12:24.730 + 34 ms
744764  00:12:24.764 + 66 ms
744830  00:12:24.830 + 9008 ms
753918  00:12:33.918 + 0 ms
753918  00:12:33.918
And that's what I think the problem is. It's a big jump.
What are these timestamps mean? Which frames are they connected to?

Once I figured it out which frame should be the last frame, trimming should solve the problem I guess.
Each number is the ms when the player must show this frame on the screen (I added time in hh:mm:ss and ms than must remain in screen).

There are 2 problems: the 0 ms for last frame, but also the 9 seconds for the previous frame.

That last tme (753918) is used like video duration to calculate the average FPS:
22320/753.918 = 29.605

but until 2 previous frames
22318/744.830 = 29.964
the FPS is near the standard "ntsc_film"=29.970

If the error with the trim(0,22318) show also:
Code:
 timecode [error]: invalid input tcfile for frame 22320
maybe you must change also the command line parameter:
--frames 22320 to --frames 22318
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2023, 13:22   #9228  |  Link
Tschizzey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 14
Okay, thank you!
Will look into it.
Tschizzey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2023, 13:27   #9229  |  Link
Zergrinch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 20
I'm using the development server to check for updates. However, I have not seen anything new since October 2022. Am I doing something wrong, or is there a new URL for the development server?

Zergrinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2023, 06:18   #9230  |  Link
doomleox999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 81
MeGUI not deleting intermediate files after update

After updating to its latest version (x64 2933) MeGUI now doesn't delete intermediate files (.lwi) and sometimes even entire folders that contain .avs files and audio files. I've tried disabling and reenabling the "Delete intermediate files" option in settings but didn't work.

How can I fix this? Is this something that needs an update? Thanks in advance.
doomleox999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2023, 10:17   #9231  |  Link
bartonnen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by doomleox999 View Post
After updating to its latest version (x64 2933) MeGUI now doesn't delete intermediate files (.lwi) and sometimes even entire folders that contain .avs files and audio files.
I use both single-click and manual encoding and both methods leave the .lwi files behind.
bartonnen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2023, 11:54   #9232  |  Link
doomleox999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 81
Was it always like that for you? In my case, it used to always delete them.
It's actually not consistent right now, sometimes it deletes them and sometimes it does not.
doomleox999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2023, 18:06   #9233  |  Link
Tschizzey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 14
Hi,

I'd like to use a debanding filter, but I don't know how to do it in MeGUI.
I've tried neo-f3kdb, but it didn't work.
First I downloaded the official neo-f3kdb.dll files and then copied the x86 variant into the following folders:

Code:
G:\Programs\MeGUI\tools\avisynth_plugin
G:\Programs\MeGUI\tools\avs\plugins
Then I opened up the program and tried to one-click encode a video.
The AviSynth configuration dialog window looks like this:

Code:
<input>
<crop>
<resize>
Spline64Resize(854, 480)
neo_f3kdb.deband(src=clip, range=15, y=64, cb=64, cr=64, grainy=64, grainc=64, dynamic_grain=False, sample_mode=4)
The program gives me the following error message:

Code:
--[Error] [2023. 06. 30. 18:45:12] An error occurred creating the AVS file
---[Error] [2023. 06. 30. 18:45:12] Exception message
----[NoImage] The file H:\filename\qzimwtgn.mn3\filename.avs cannot be opened.
----[NoImage] Error message for your reference: I don't know what 'neo_f3kdb' means.
I don't care too much about what debanding filter I'm using as long as it works with MeGUI.
Can you guys help me with that?
Or is there an already built-in debanding filter in MeGUI?
Tschizzey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2023, 14:42   #9234  |  Link
Lan4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 64
Tell me how to use copying the audio stream from the original? I don't see this option.
Lan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2023, 01:55   #9235  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
You need extract it, using Tools -> 'HD Streams Extractor' or 'File Indexer', to mux it after with 'Muxer'
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2023, 14:08   #9236  |  Link
Lan4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 64
Thanks. This can be dealt with. But why does the application give an error when loading the Avisint script, which works fine in other programs? And why is there no usual choice of CRF and CQP in the encoder settings?
Lan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2023, 21:06   #9237  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lan4 View Post
But why does the application give an error when loading the Avisint script,
Upload the log file.

Quote:
And why is there no usual choice of CRF and CQP in the encoder settings?
'Const. Quality' is CRF, like you can see below.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2023, 20:50   #9238  |  Link
Tiny Mud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 37
MeGUI 2944 Development Update Server _ Aug 9th, 2023 - x295 ISSUE

Seems the MeGUI program does not recognize the x295 3.5 + 104 update although successfully Installed ?

"STUCK ON STATUS "REINSTALLING"

Last edited by Tiny Mud; 9th August 2023 at 21:01. Reason: Wrong place
Tiny Mud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2023, 22:03   #9239  |  Link
VoodooFX
Banana User
 
VoodooFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 985
If you think that it's a bug then report it there: https://sourceforge.net/p/megui/bugs/
VoodooFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2023, 18:58   #9240  |  Link
Tiny Mud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks VoodooFX:

Seems the latest MeGUI update for x265 is missing the 86/x265.exe v3.5+104 file

Here's a link to DL "x265-3.5+104_Win_GCC131.7z" containing the file - Extract and copy the 32-Bit version to MeGUI/tools/x265/86 directory: https://www.mediafire.com/file/7rwq5oenvaete3a/

I can't say if they have corrected the update to include the file.
Tiny Mud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
megui

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.