Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th February 2007, 17:57   #101  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
This is what the GPAC team says about the issue:

Quote:
This is likely a temp file creation issue, this bug has been reported by Win2K and XP users. Unfortunately there is no automatic workaround for this bug, you will hav to specify a temporary directory for file creation:

MP4Box ... -tmp Path/To/My/Dir


Hope this helps

jean
Maybe this helps...?
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 18:02   #102  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
thanks! gonna be fixed in next release.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 19:02   #103  |  Link
Mgz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 28
is it possible to encode the video file only ? I usually need to encode FRAPS content (with no audio) to XviD
Mgz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 19:34   #104  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
But I don't think Bencos will do xvid, or will it? Why not do x264?
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 19:42   #105  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
xvid is on the way.

If your source don't have audio, output won't have audio either.
To not have audio, bot usre if it works, but set an audio track number that doesn't exist, like 42.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 20:31   #106  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Bencos also fails if there's no video in the file. RA5 works like a charm, though.
Though RA5 used Nero's AAC encoder it seems, and bencos uses enhAacPlusEnc.exe, and I think the later is better?
Well, I'd like to be able to encode even if there's no video stream in the container.
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 20:42   #107  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Bencos don't verify the source like RA5 did. It only check if there's audio while performing the video first pass encoding.

Bencos requires you to have a video stream, but audio stream is optional. Use another tool for audio-only recoding, there are plenty out there.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 21:12   #108  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Yeah, lots and lots and lots of time finding plus lots of commercial non-free non-AAC encoding software. Feh.
But, at this time, I guess there's no choice.
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 22:58   #109  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
@Eretria-chan

this might interrest you:
http://www.detritus.qc.ca/forum/view...p?pid=154#p154
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 00:49   #110  |  Link
killerhex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 389
@sirber

what made you change your mind a nd re-add mpeg4 ASP into the app
killerhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 03:49   #111  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Bencos on the contrary of RA is a generic batch encoder )which means it has different profiles for movies, animes, etc...). MPEG-4 ASP is necessary for standalones compatibility and it is still the most used standard on the internet. MPEG-4 ASP is also lightweight and (optimal for low end computers) and it's more appetible for a wider range of users, so it's necessary for a general encoding app to have it.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 11th February 2007 at 03:52.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 13:30   #112  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
This seems like RA4/RA5 all over again under a new name, using mencoder. Well, not that I'm complaining. They were good, so this one should be too.
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 14:45   #113  |  Link
killerhex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 389
isnt this app a lot better than the RA
killerhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 14:52   #114  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Why would it be? Currently, it's inferior to RA because most things haven't been added yet. And what does BENCOS have that RA does not? The only thing I can think of right now is dvd input and movie profiles. And linux support, of course. Very neat features, and I do hope there's more to come.
But RA had so much more, so BENCOS isn't better just yet...
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 16:15   #115  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Now that the biggest problem is fixed, the massive framedrops and gray frames, we can add more stuff to bencos and make it the best GUI ever

Currently bencos handle more inputs than RA5 and is more stable, it also have more profiles than RA4/5.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 16:18   #116  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirber View Post
...we can add more stuff to bencos and make it the best GUI ever
Looking forward to it
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 16:21   #117  |  Link
Amnon82
Paldo-GNU/LinuxMaintainer
 
Amnon82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,580
Any news about a linux build?
Amnon82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 20:12   #118  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
I snatched the latest build on the site and, aside from the whole can't encode to any other dir than C:\, it looks like it worked. The sound quality was what I tested and there seems to be no delays and good quality @ 24 kbps. Artifacts appeared when using 16, but that's to be expected.
Good work!
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2007, 01:30   #119  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
@Eretria-chan

Output to F: still fails?

@Amnon82

I'll make the nessessary mod during the week for linux use. Then you'll need someone to compile it.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2007, 03:34   #120  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Some thoughts about mkv and subtitles:

http://www.detritus.qc.ca/forum/view...p?pid=157#p157
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, bencos, gui, webm, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.