Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th May 2015, 12:07   #61  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
FDK is considered higher quality now. Still, Apple AAC is extremely close, no harm using it, especially at 128 and up.
Can you back this up with some test results?

I am using libfdk-aac from within ffmpeg, it does sound pretty good, but VBR modes seem to be problematic.


Cheers
manolito

Last edited by manolito; 24th May 2015 at 14:01.
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2015, 14:58   #62  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
FDK is considered higher quality now. Still, Apple AAC is extremely close, no harm using it, especially at 128 and up.
I wonder if LoRd_MuldeR has thought about incorporating this (Fraunhofer FDK) 'open source' version of the AAC encoder into his LameXP audio encoding application?
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2015, 15:55   #63  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
I wonder if LoRd_MuldeR has thought about incorporating this (Fraunhofer FDK) 'open source' version of the AAC encoder into his LameXP audio encoding application?
See here:
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...30#post1721930

__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2015, 16:21   #64  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,210
Thanks
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2015, 19:29   #65  |  Link
IgorC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
FDK is considered higher quality now. Still, Apple AAC is extremely close, no harm using it, especially at 128 and up.
Hehe. That's simply not the case.

Fraunhofer developer (on hydrogenaudio board) has said that their FhG AAC encoder from Winamp still provides better quality than FDK.
Some personal tests also indicates the same.
So it's still Apple > FhG Winamp > FDK.
IgorC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2015, 21:05   #66  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,076
Thanks for setting this straight...

Cheers
manolito

Last edited by manolito; 25th May 2015 at 16:13.
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2015, 19:31   #67  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
In StaxRip currently only wav and flac are defined as possible input formats, are there any other formats supported?
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2015, 05:11   #68  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by IgorC View Post
Fraunhofer developer (on hydrogenaudio board) has said that their FhG AAC encoder from Winamp still provides better quality than FDK.
Some personal tests also indicates the same.
So it's still Apple > FhG Winamp > FDK.
I can't say I've compared them as I tend to use bitrates (or VBR quality settings) that are transparent enough for me not to be able to tell the difference, and I use QAAC for encoding "soundtrack" audio mainly due to it having the --no-delay option, but I'll say one thing for FhG/Winamp, it's very fast. VBR encoding is probbly around twice the speed of the other encoders.

My main dislike when it comes to FDKAAC is the huge bitrate difference between the VBR quality settings, especially the higher -m 4 and -m 5 quality settings. -m 4 seems a bit low while -m 5 is too high. Although I found the gap can be closed somewhat by specifying a low pass filter in the command line. I settled on -w 18500 for both as it increases the low pass frequency for -m 4 and lowers it for -m 5 and seems to produce more sensible bitrates.
http://wiki.hydrogenaud.io/index.php..._AAC#Bandwidth
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2015, 10:38   #69  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,719
There are new dummies for the icudt55.dll as addition to makeportable for qaac.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 11:11   #70  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,867
WARNING with last qaac 2.60 version:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...18#post1782018
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 16:46   #71  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
tebasuna5, which 7.1 configuration would you recommend for e.g. BluRay rips? The new one from qaac >=2.61 or the old one from <=2.59?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2016, 03:05   #72  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,867
For 5.1 all seems work fine.

I never use 7.1, my audio system is only 5.1 and can't test with a real player the differences but I don't like the patch applied.
For 7.1 use qaac 2.59 and always output as .m4a, never like .aac (without --adts parameter).
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2018, 19:41   #73  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,323
I wanted to transcode my 320kbps cbr mp3 radio captured files into something meaningful today, so I found qaac with the default preset (-V91 -q2). So I searched for a small but powerful GUI for it, hence I found BatchEncoder on GitHub yesterday: it reminds me MeGui and BeHappy, but can do batch processing with threading, supports loads of codecs and presets, it can download the only used latest utils (x32 or x64 version). Previously I've been written small batch scripts for this type of audio transcoding: no more

Do I have to install AppleApplicationSupport64 to be able to use qaac? Isn't the CoreAudioToolbox.dll file enough itself?
That's what I did: downloaded iTunes x64 and extracted AppleApplicationSupport and AppleApplicationSupport64 with 7zip, then installed x64 version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
There are new dummies for the icudt55.dll as addition to makeportable for qaac.
What's this file for?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
For 7.1 use qaac 2.59 and always output as .m4a, never like .aac (without --adts parameter).
Why is that?
I've been wondering which output "container" to use for stereo music files, but since most of the players support raw aac streams, I don't care about tagging and mp3directcut only supports raw aac streams I don't see why m4a is better. Am I missing something?
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v398.18),Win10 LTSC 1809,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED77G2(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz) | madvr config

Last edited by chros; 20th January 2018 at 19:45.
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2018, 19:51   #74  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Do I have to install AppleApplicationSupport64 to be able to use qaac? Isn't the CoreAudioToolbox.dll file enough itself?
That's what I did: downloaded iTunes x64 and extracted AppleApplicationSupport and AppleApplicationSupport64 with 7zip, then installed x64.
No. If you executed the "makeportable" batch file, it would extract all the required DLL's for you into subdirectories (QTFiles + QTFiles64) which only need to exist with qaac.exe or qaac64.exe in the same directory.

32 bit:
  • qaac.exe
  • QTFiles\*.*

64 bit:
  • qaac64.exe
  • QTFiles64\*.*

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
What's this file for?
The "makeportable" batch file extracted all the DLL's from the iTunes64 installer which belong to iTunes' whole feature set; qaac needs only the encoder core. For encoding only, most of the content in the icudt55.dll is not required. But the file icudt55.dll can't be deleted, the encoder would refuse to work if it is not present. But you can replace the original files of several MB size with the tiny dummy DLL's, and the encoder still works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Why is that?
M4A is a subset of the MP4 container which contains useful information about the structure of the AAC audio in its header, which a "raw" AAC audio stream with only ADTS headers partially lacks of. Most of all, the ADTS header is not able to store the channel layout of audio with more than 5.1 channels.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Last edited by LigH; 20th January 2018 at 19:54.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2018, 22:04   #75  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
No. If you executed the "makeportable" batch file, it would extract all the required DLL's for you into subdirectories (QTFiles + QTFiles64) which only need to exist with qaac.exe or qaac64.exe in the same directory.
Thanks LigH for the detailed instructions! Although it still took me 10 minutes to find where the script is: this post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
For encoding only, most of the content in the icudt55.dll is not required. But the file icudt55.dll can't be deleted, the encoder would refuse to work if it is not present. But you can replace the original files of several MB size with the tiny dummy DLL's, and the encoder still works.
It worked liked a charm, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
M4A is a subset of the MP4 container which contains useful information about the structure of the AAC audio in its header, which a "raw" AAC audio stream with only ADTS headers partially lacks of. Most of all, the ADTS header is not able to store the channel layout of audio with more than 5.1 channels.
Thanks, OK, then I'll use m4a container.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v398.18),Win10 LTSC 1809,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED77G2(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz) | madvr config
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2018, 15:29   #76  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Although it still took me 10 minutes to find where the script is...
Or the qaac download (cabinet) page. Or MeGUI\tools\qaac.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2018, 16:47   #77  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Yes, that's where I found it in the end, thanks.
And I just noticed that the above mentioned BatchEncoder has a thread here on doom9.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v398.18),Win10 LTSC 1809,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED77G2(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz) | madvr config
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2023, 10:33   #78  |  Link
Bigjackaal48
Registered User
 
Bigjackaal48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Posts: 3
I must be the few where --Quality 1 helps a few samples since I use "192kbps VBR, -q 1". Oddly even found Damaged & Destroyed by Emil Beaulieau needs --quality 0 to stop ringing/clicks?.
Bigjackaal48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2023, 09:42   #79  |  Link
Barough
Registered User
 
Barough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 476
QAAC v2.80
https://github.com/nu774/qaac/releases/tag/v2.80
__________________
Do NOT re-post any of my Mediafire links. Download & re-host the content(s) if you want to share it somewhere else.
Barough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2023, 18:10   #80  |  Link
kentafilo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Hello everyone.
I would need your opinion regarding an audio encoding.
In your opinion, starting from a DTS Master Audio file, if I wanted to transcode it, would I get a better quality file with qaac encoding at vbr 127 kbit/s or with AC3 at CBR 192 kbit/s?
In other words, is it better to encode an audio file with qaac or with AC3?
Thank you.
kentafilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.