Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th May 2023, 18:06   #541  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
Hi,

With this custom.json file you are only applying the edits to the first 40 frames.

If the film's aspect ratio does not change you don't need a custom.json file, delete it and just use the INJECTOR script with the RPU and set the borders in the DDVT interface.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2023, 19:49   #542  |  Link
GHOSTWRiTAZ
Registered User
 
GHOSTWRiTAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Hi GodzilaAvenger,
Thank you for the swift reply.

Unfortunately I already tried that, the results are the same

Below the settings that I used:

Step 1:


Step 2:


Step 3:


Step 4:


Result remains the same 3840x1600 pixels (cropped/same as source without cinematic black bars/borders)


What I wish to achieve is 3840x2160 pixels (aspect ratio remains the same but cinematic black bars/borders are added during the DDVT Injector process)


Again any help on the matter is greatly appreciated. Thanks
GHOSTWRiTAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2023, 02:56   #543  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
Ok, got it. DDVT can't letterbox a cropped .mkv file (add top and bottom black bars). It is only meant for handling dynamic metadata (Dolby Vision/HDR10+). If your .mkv file is 3840x1600, you should set the borders in the RPU to 0, as it originally was.

If you want to letterbox a video you need to use FFmpeg. For instance, see this and this on how to do it. If you do this and get a 3840x2160 .mkv, then you have to adjust the RPU borders as well (set top and bottom to 280).

Last edited by GodzilaAvenger; 16th May 2023 at 03:51.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2023, 18:26   #544  |  Link
GHOSTWRiTAZ
Registered User
 
GHOSTWRiTAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodzilaAvenger View Post
Ok, got it. DDVT can't letterbox a cropped .mkv file (add top and bottom black bars). It is only meant for handling dynamic metadata (Dolby Vision/HDR10+). If your .mkv file is 3840x1600, you should set the borders in the RPU to 0, as it originally was.

If you want to letterbox a video you need to use FFmpeg. For instance, see this and this on how to do it. If you do this and get a 3840x2160 .mkv, then you have to adjust the RPU borders as well (set top and bottom to 280).
Hi GodzilaAvenger,

I was under the assumption that it actually was possible, so I misunderstood/misread post #281 and #297

Meaning what I want to achieve is simply not possible without ffmpeg processing if the source is cropped 3840x1600 I will have to transcode it using ffmpeg filter to 3840x2160 pixels, which may result in loss of quality. Thanks for clarifying
GHOSTWRiTAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2023, 23:22   #545  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
I highly doubt letterboxing using FFmpeg would result in loss of quality. Even if it did, the loss would be imperceptible.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2023, 06:48   #546  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,041
Is anyone here using x265 to inject the RPU's..

As the title suggests ???
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2023, 20:47   #547  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 245
-v0.54
*NEW New Script included (DDVT_Hybrid) for fast creating DV Profile 8.1 Hybrid Releases.
*INJECTOR-Function to change correctly the video framerate. Also included in HYBRID Script.
*Updated mkvtoolnix to v 76.0.0.0.

Quote:
- SCRIPT <DDVT_HYBRID.cmd>

DESCRIPTION:
------------
Simple quick script to create a DV Profile 8 Hybrid Release. Only add HDR
and DV File (No RAW file Support, only MKV/MP4 Container) set the options
and Go. Completely simplified and the fastest script to Build P 8.1 Files.
Also you can Input only a HDR10+ file without DV Input file and you create
a Profile 8.1 DV file based on the HDR10+ Metadata.

USAGE:
------
DDVT_HYBRID
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 04:39   #548  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,041
DV vs HDR10

I have just asked this question on the x265 thread

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...16#post1987516

Does this make any sense to anyone here ??

Is there still and option to remove the HDR10 metadata ?? I could only see how to remove the DV metadata.
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..

Last edited by TDS; 24th May 2023 at 07:04.
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 09:39   #549  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 638
As TDS described in your linked thread, removing HDR metadata can render a device to not play the baselayer correctly. May I ask why you want to remove HDR metadata when video is HDR encoded?
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 12:10   #550  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
As TDS described in your linked thread, removing HDR metadata can render a device to not play the baselayer correctly. May I ask why you want to remove HDR metadata when video is HDR encoded?
TBH, I don't know if I need to be removing it, it's just that I am trying to figure out how to encode Dolby Vision, seems that most are Hybrid's.

Go here:- https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...77#post1987477 to see what I have been trying.

The difference between HDR Hybrid & and DV seems to be this :-

Dolby Vision, Version 1.0, dvhe.08.06, BL+RPU, HDR10 compatible / SMPTE ST 2086, HDR10 compatible

and

Dolby Vision, Version 1.0, dvhe.08.06
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 12:48   #551  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
Is there still and option to remove the HDR10 metadata ?? I could only see how to remove the DV metadata...
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
May I ask why you want to remove HDR metadata when video is HDR encoded?
If nothing else it would make an interesting addition for the completists!
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 18:08   #552  |  Link
dawid1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 3
hi how to convert dolby vision to hdr10+? i have a samsung and i would really need it?
dawid1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 18:23   #553  |  Link
hidef_rec
Registered User
 
hidef_rec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Had asked that before; don't believe it's doable.

----------

Thanks @-QfG- for the new version. Just tried DDVT_HYBRID, but when I drag-and-drop a HDR file (my sample is HDR10+ w/o DV) or any HDR file, nothing happens, it doesn't drop in. Am I doing something wrong?
__________________
Home Theater Fanatic
hidef_rec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 19:25   #554  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
TBH, I don't know if I need to be removing it, it's just that I am trying to figure out how to encode Dolby Vision, seems that most are Hybrid's.

Go here:- https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...77#post1987477 to see what I have been trying.

The difference between HDR Hybrid & and DV seems to be this :-

Dolby Vision, Version 1.0, dvhe.08.06, BL+RPU, HDR10 compatible / SMPTE ST 2086, HDR10 compatible

and

Dolby Vision, Version 1.0, dvhe.08.06
Triggering DV also depends on the playback device and video container. For example if I remember correctly DV playback on an LG TV's internal media player using .mkv is not possible and it has to be .mp4.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 19:33   #555  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodzilaAvenger View Post
For example if I remember correctly DV playback on an LG TV's internal media player using .mkv is not possible and it has to be .mp4.
Correct. Although some people have had some level of success muxing Dolby Vision encoded content into .ts/.m2ts
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 19:50   #556  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS
Is there still and option to remove the HDR10 metadata ?? I could only see how to remove the DV metadata.
You can not Remove "HDR Metadata" because they don't exist. HDR is a fixed included colorrange, you can remove only HDR10+ Metadata.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 19:53   #557  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by hidef_rec
Thanks @-QfG- for the new version. Just tried DDVT_HYBRID, but when I drag-and-drop a HDR file (my sample is HDR10+ w/o DV) or any HDR file, nothing happens, it doesn't drop in. Am I doing something wrong?
it looks so, that W11 don't support drag and drop I use W10 and have no problems with drag and drop. Will search for a solution.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 19:56   #558  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 245
Quote:
hi how to convert dolby vision to hdr10+? i have a samsung and i would really need it?
There is no solution yet to doing this.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 21:40   #559  |  Link
dawid1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 3
Does anyone know if there is any bluray player 4k that plays 100gb r/rw discs?
dawid1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 21:49   #560  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawid1991 View Post
Does anyone know if there is any bluray player 4k that plays 100gb r/rw discs?
Out of interest...

Which 100GB (triple layer BDXL) 4K UHD disc movies do you have?
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.