Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th December 2014, 17:48   #1  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,351
[SOLVED] fdkaac.EXE - ¿how to compile it?

I'm trying to compile nu774's fdkaac.exe with MinGW-w64.
I've already compiled and "installed" the required libfdk-aac thing.
The big question is,
¿where does the stupid ./configure expect to find libfdk-aac?

Code:
checking fdk-aac/aacenc_lib.h usability... no
checking fdk-aac/aacenc_lib.h presence... no
checking for fdk-aac/aacenc_lib.h... no
configure: error: libfdk-aac is required

Last edited by filler56789; 18th December 2014 at 00:25. Reason: grammar
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2014, 21:57   #2  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
In your "include" path?
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2014, 23:22   #3  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
In your "include" path?
And my "include path" would be where, exactly?

Code:
 Directory of E:\GCC481

2014-07-26  16:18    <DIR>          .
2014-07-26  16:18    <DIR>          ..
2013-07-23  06:06             4,401 !components.txt
2013-08-22  13:43    <DIR>          at-home
2014-12-17  19:52    <DIR>          bin
2013-08-08  06:22    <DIR>          etc
2014-12-17  16:26    <DIR>          include
2014-12-17  16:27    <DIR>          lib
2014-07-26  16:19    <DIR>          local
2009-07-11  18:34             2,238 m.ico
2013-07-23  06:11    <DIR>          manifest
2013-06-01  06:23    <DIR>          mingw
2009-07-11  18:34            37,758 msys.ico
2014-12-17  19:49             7,367 msys481.bat
2013-07-23  06:11    <DIR>          postinstall
2013-07-23  06:11    <DIR>          sbin
2010-09-28  16:34    <DIR>          share
2013-07-23  06:11    <DIR>          var
ANSWER:

mingw/i686-w64-mingw32/bin
mingw/i686-w64-mingw32/include
mingw/i686-w64-mingw32/lib


argh

Last edited by filler56789; 18th December 2014 at 00:24. Reason: add answer
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2014, 00:32   #4  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
The include path(s), i.e. the directories that the compiler will search for header files, is set by the CPATH environment variable:
https://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc/E...Variables.html

It defaults to the subfolder "include" in your MinGW installation directory.

However, instead of messing with your MinGW installation (or modifying CPATH), you probably want add libfdk's "include" directory as an additional include directory via -I compiler option:
https://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc/D...ectory-Options

Note that, usually, the ./configure script will accept the "--extra-cflags" parameter to set additional compiler options. So you can do something like:
Code:
./configure --extra-cflags="-I/path_to_libfdkaac/include"
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 18th December 2014 at 00:41.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2014, 01:50   #5  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,351
Thanks for the information. However I must say that... Well, when I managed to compile libfdk-aac, the files were automagically copied to local/bin,
local/include and local/lib. The first folder to where I manually copied the libfdk-aac files was the most obvious choice (to me at least), i.e., /include. And the trick didn't work -_- I only wish that the "./configure --helpS" were a lot more helpful *by default*, because most of them are not, and IMHO it's a big mistake to assume that every user of a compiler is a skilled programmer who will take the time to study the entire source-codes or the compiler documentation -_-

For the time being, I really prefer to tweak my MinGW setup, because it's something I am able to understand and to control =^.^=
And oh BTW, I still have to find out how to make twolame compatible with the recent versions of MinGW-w64, since Nicholas Humfrey still believes Unix and Linux "are ALL that matters" -_-

Last edited by filler56789; 18th December 2014 at 05:40. Reason: formatting + clarity
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2014, 09:03   #6  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
It's because you mix up MSYS folders within the MinGW ones...not relative to program skills.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2014, 12:07   #7  |  Link
pandy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,049
Works for me: fdkaac_autobuild.zip

https://sites.google.com/site/qaacpage/cabinet
pandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2014, 15:32   #8  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,351
@Kurtnoise: thanks for the tip

— I will try to improve my organizational skills when I upgrade to GCC 4.9.2
(yes, about time!)
__________________
«Your software patents have expired.»
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2014, 12:26   #9  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,558
If MSYS is too annoying (believe me, I really understand), another option is a linux virtual machine with mingw for cross-compiling. That works wonders for me, and the only reason I ever touch MSYS anymore is to build with VS2013 without creating a MSVC project.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2019, 11:33   #10  |  Link
martynuzza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 13
I'm trying to cross-compile an EXE in ubuntu with mingw64. I read the possibility here https://marc.wäckerlin.ch/computer/c...ws-using-mingw

I've downloaded and compiled this: https://github.com/mstorsjo/fdk-aac

Then i attempt to compile this https://github.com/nu774/fdkaac
the windows version but i'm stuck with this error when i try to do ./configure --host=i686-w64-mingw32

configure: error: libfdk-aac is required

1° Is possible to create an EXE in ubuntu in the way I do?
2° Otherwise?

------ edit -------
include folder for ubuntu crosscompiler is in /usr/i686-w64-mingw32 and /usr/x86_64-w64-mingw32 for 64bit

Last edited by martynuzza; 29th January 2019 at 13:17.
martynuzza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2019, 13:15   #11  |  Link
martynuzza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 13
Done myself:

Frontend version 1.0.0
libfdk version 2.0.0

Here is the 32bit exe windows build static:
https://mega.nz/#!6do3ASjL!ApJTfNAWw...A_o9KERgcjC9uI

Here is the 64bit exe windows build static:
https://mega.nz/#!jM5FESzA!vMb5eNEQX...jN54hemeaCPGl8

Last edited by martynuzza; 29th January 2019 at 13:50.
martynuzza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2019, 14:16   #12  |  Link
martynuzza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 13


I was doing listening tests....very disappointed with the coding quality, it is a lot lower than the good old nero aac 1.5.4.0

so much effort for nothing
martynuzza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2019, 18:30   #13  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by martynuzza View Post


I was doing listening tests....very disappointed with the coding quality, it is a lot lower than the good old nero aac 1.5.4.0

so much effort for nothing
@ which samplerate, @ which bitrate?!
Please dont spread FUD without facts.
Many come here for learning and maybe take your opinion for granted.
Just use the Qaac encoder and you will be fine.
No more search for obsolete and outdated stuff.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2019, 03:06   #14  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 744
I did some tests with Behappy to compare fdkaac 0.6.2 with this version, compressing to CBR 32 Kbps gapless iTunSMPB with the profile MPEG-4 HE-AAC v2 (SBR + PS). Using Paris Latino - Bandolero as sample and subjectively I do not notice difference any.
__________________
By law and justice!

GMJCZP's Arsenal
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2019, 06:16   #15  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by martynuzza View Post
Done myself:

Frontend version 1.0.0
libfdk version 2.0.0

Here is the 32bit exe windows build static:
https://mega.nz/#!6do3ASjL!ApJTfNAWw...A_o9KERgcjC9uI

Here is the 64bit exe windows build static:
https://mega.nz/#!jM5FESzA!vMb5eNEQX...jN54hemeaCPGl8
i see new ver, can you compile it?
https://github.com/mstorsjo/fdk-aac/releases/tag/v2.0.1
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 02:25   #16  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by kedautinh12 View Post
DONE.
Oh my goddess, the library took ages to compile
Anyway — unzip, unrar, profit :–p

http://www.mediafire.com/file/jphuy8...v2.0.1.7z/file
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 21:16   #17  |  Link
orion44
None
 
orion44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Background
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
DONE.
Oh my goddess, the library took ages to compile
Anyway — unzip, unrar, profit :–p

http://www.mediafire.com/file/jphuy8...v2.0.1.7z/file
orion44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2019, 05:28   #18  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
DONE.
Oh my goddess, the library took ages to compile
Anyway — unzip, unrar, profit :–p

http://www.mediafire.com/file/jphuy8...v2.0.1.7z/file
thanks, but are you use Frontend fdkaac version: v1.0.0 and included libfdk version: v2.0.1 compilier?

Frontend homepage
https://github.com/nu774/fdkaac

Lib homepage
https://github.com/mstorsjo/fdk-aac

Last edited by kedautinh12; 13th December 2019 at 05:33.
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2019, 06:37   #19  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by kedautinh12 View Post
thanks, but are you use Frontend fdkaac version: v1.0.0 and included libfdk version: v2.0.1 compilier?
As I said,

fdkaac-v2.0.1.7z

By the way, welcome to my Ignore List
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2019, 09:57   #20  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
As I said,

fdkaac-v2.0.1.7z

By the way, welcome to my Ignore List
Oh, i see filesize = 1/4 v2.0.0 and i only ask to confirm again. I don't think you angry very much, i'm very sorry 😱😱😱😱
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.