Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th February 2015, 15:17   #1361  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
A bit harsh ;-).
Not too harsh for a software which violates GPL licence...

Anyway, what about my MI patches ?
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2015, 15:48   #1362  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise View Post
Anyway, what about my MI patches ?

Oops... Checking them now.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2015, 08:09   #1363  |  Link
spoof
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
bug in mediainfo

Thank you for creating this free software. There is a bug in mediainfo. I have a file that media player classic can detect wether the file containing video and/or audio but mediainfo fail to detect the file. I would like to send this file to you but I don't know the procedure. Could you tell me the procedure to send you this file ?
Thank you again for your attention.
spoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2015, 09:43   #1364  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,448
How many MB is this file. What type of contained file is it?
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2015, 11:18   #1365  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoof View Post
I would like to send this file to you but I don't know the procedure. Could you tell me the procedure to send you this file ?
The best method is to fill a bug ticket with an URL to the file. The file may be provided privately to info@mediaarea.net if it can not be provided publicly.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2015, 22:58   #1366  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,612
New version 0.7.73

@ Zenitram

This new version (again) refuses to run on my WinXP system with a non-SSE2 CPU. This has already happened with the previous version 0.7.72, and you were nice enough to compile a non-SSE2 version of the DLL for me.

But with this new version neither the GUI nor the DLL work. The change log does not say anything about WinXP or if SSE2 is required. I have no problem if you decide to no longer support XP or non-SSE2 CPUs, but please state it clearly in the change log or add a system requirement statement.


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2015, 09:05   #1367  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
This has already happened with the previous version 0.7.72, and you were nice enough to compile a non-SSE2 version of the DLL for me.
Looks like cleaned up too much before the release and forgot to configure one lib with /SSE.
Please try This DLL
(rename it to MediaInfo_i386.dll if yo uwant to test the GUI)

Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
I have no problem if you decide to no longer support XP or non-SSE2 CPUs, but please state it clearly in the change log or add a system requirement statement.
For the moment, no plan to ignore WinXP users.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo

Last edited by Zenitram; 16th April 2015 at 14:11.
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2015, 14:09   #1368  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,612
Merci beaucoup...


//EDIT//
Something is wrong with the link for the new DLL. Could you please check?

Last edited by manolito; 15th April 2015 at 14:15.
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2015, 14:11   #1369  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
Something is wrong with the link for the new DLL. Could you please check?
Corrected
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2015, 15:43   #1370  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,612
Thanks very much, the download is working now...

The DLL works perfectly with my non-SSE2 CPU, and the GUI also works, with the exception of MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll. I don't get info tips when hovering over a file with the mouse pointer.

My workaround is to use the GUI version 0.7.70 together with the DLL v. 0.7.73, and this combination is perfect so far...


Thanks again
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2015, 08:07   #1371  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
with the exception of MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll.
Same issue.
New InfoTip DLL.

This time, I commit in the SVN now so I don't miss it again next time!
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo

Last edited by Zenitram; 17th April 2015 at 14:16.
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2015, 14:06   #1372  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,612
Sorry, the link points to the Mediainfo.dll, not to the InfoTip DLL...
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2015, 14:17   #1373  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
Sorry, the link points to the Mediainfo.dll, not to the InfoTip DLL...
I am doomed. Corrected.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2015, 15:03   #1374  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,612
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2015, 13:34   #1375  |  Link
ndjamena
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 366
I'm trying to figure out why MediaInfo refuses to see the channel layouts EAC3To places in FLAC headers...

Looking at it them a hex editor I can see something that looks like it determines the layout... of course, I haven't taken the time learn how to disassemble the FLAC headers so it may be nothing but...

This comes from a header in a FLAC file MakeMKV made, where MediaInfo CAN see the Channel Layout:

Quote:
WAVEFORMATEXTENSIBLE_CHANNEL_MASK=0x63F

Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: L R, LFE
This comes from a header in a FLAC file EAC3To made, where MediaInfo CAN'T see the Channel Layout:

Quote:
WAVEFORMATEXTENSIBLE_CHANNEL_MASK=0X63F

[Channel Postitions Element absent from MediaInfo output]
Is it possible the upper case 'X' is preventing MediaInfo from properly recognising this element in the header? Or am I waaay off and oversimplifying things...

-Edit- it occurred to me, I'd opened the thing in a Hex Editor... and it was one byte... so I changed it to lower case and now the channel positions have magically appeared in the MediaInfo output... Problem solved.

Last edited by ndjamena; 28th April 2015 at 13:39.
ndjamena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2015, 13:49   #1376  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndjamena View Post
Is it possible the upper case 'X' is preventing MediaInfo from properly recognising this element in the header?
Patched.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2015, 11:17   #1377  |  Link
ndjamena
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 366
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...57#post1720157

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madashi
There has been a history of confusion with 5.1 channel assignments. In theory there's a difference between 5.1(back) and 5.1(side), but in real life there really isn't. Old Windows versions used channelmask 0x3F, which is 5.1(back), newer versions are using 0x60F, which is 5.1(side). Practically, when transporting this kind of data as 5.1 via HDMI to the receiver, it ends up all the same. The FLAC spec says that the default channel order for 5.1 is "5.1(back/side)". Well, it's described in other words, but you get my meaning: The FLAC spec doesn't make a difference between side and back for 5.1 channels. And neither does eac3to. The correct format is 5.1(side). And the only proper way to handle 5.1(back) is to treat it as 5.1(side), as well.

I don't know what problem MediaInfo might have, I don't use it. Fact is, if WAVEFORMATEXTENSIBLE_CHANNEL_MASK is specified, that's the channel assignment you should use. If that WAVEFORMATEXTENSIBLE_CHANNEL_MASK tag is missing, then the default FLAC channel assignment should be used. On the following page search for "6 channels:" to see a list of the FLAC default channel assignments:

https://xiph.org/flac/format.html
MediaInfo fails to set defaults when no WAVEFORMATEXTENSIBLE_CHANNEL_MASK is specified in FLAC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tebasuna51
The fisrt M$ spec about 5.1 was FL,FR,FC,LF,BL,BR (back, mask 0x003F) and match the AC3 5.1 layout L,C,R,SurroundL,SurroundR,LFE or the DTS layout C,L,R,Ls,Rs,LFE

When come the 7.1 channels FL,FR,FC,LF,BL,BR,SL,SR (back, side, mask 0x063F) the M$ 5.1 specs change (if I remember whit M$ XP) to prefer FL,FR,FC,LF,SL,SR (side, mask 0x060F) over the old FL,FR,FC,LF,BL,BR but both specs remain valid, for backward compatibility, and any players must play the same with mask 0x003F or 0x060F.

Then, in a 5.1 layout, the last channels can be named Back, Side or simple Surround at your choice. That means the FLAC back/surround channels.

Only the 6.1 layout can be problematic because in the old M$ style FL,FR,FC,LF,BL,BR,BC (0x013F) the last channels don't have the same order than the new FL,FR,FC,LF,BC,SL,SR (0x070F), then here is important the correct channel-mask and order.
Any updated soft, like eac3to, must use FL,FR,FC,LF,BC,SL,SR (0x070F) and here FLAC is clear:
7 channels: front left, front right, front center, LFE, back center, side left, side right

Last edited by ndjamena; 4th May 2015 at 11:43.
ndjamena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2015, 19:37   #1378  |  Link
ndjamena
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 366
Just to clarify, MediaInfo doesn't show any layout at all unless it's specified in a WAVEFORMATEXTENSIBLE_CHANNEL_MASK tag, but the tag isn't actually necessary because there are default layout values in the specs that are determined by channel count.

All the 5.1 stuff is just because I'm not sure what 5.1 is supposed to default to. I think it's side... no ones being very specific.
ndjamena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2015, 20:40   #1379  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Sorry not to have answered.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndjamena View Post
Just to clarify, MediaInfo doesn't show any layout at all unless it's specified in a WAVEFORMATEXTENSIBLE_CHANNEL_MASK tag
I am reluctant to show information when not present in the bitstream, especially when the spec is unclear (e.g. "side/back")

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndjamena View Post
but the tag isn't actually necessary because there are default layout values in the specs that are determined by channel count.
but for this one, looks like it is well defined (there is a default mapping)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndjamena View Post
All the 5.1 stuff is just because I'm not sure what 5.1 is supposed to default to. I think it's side... no ones being very specific.
I use "side" for AC-3, so I'll use "side".
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2015, 20:51   #1380  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,784
Zenitram, do you remember why managed application were crashing using MediaInfo in the beginning of MediaInfo? I've now a similar problem with 2 AviSynth plugins. Since you were fixing this problem MediaInfo was working rock solid since countless years.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.