Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th December 2015, 22:35   #1  |  Link
kotuwa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 66
MP4Box - "OpenGOP detected - adjusting file brand"

I see this when muxing with MP4box.
Code:
OpenGOP detected - adjusting file brand
I got this some time ago and getting this again.

When I use never version of GPAC MP4BOX, I get this.
Same video stream, when muxed using an old mp4box build, it does not show this.
In the video encoding, CLI used and no entry for Open-GOP is given. That means it used none, the default right?
Also, All muxed files made by both mp4box builds show "open_gop=0" in mediainfo.
What is this?
kotuwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 08:24   #2  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 879
Why you created an a new topic? Are you hoping that someone will answer so negatively worded question?
Topic dead:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=94874
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=170918
Topic where you can write your complaint. I don't know if there is the related with some charges.:
https://github.com/gpac/gpac/issues

Last edited by Jamaika; 29th December 2015 at 09:00.
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 16:31   #3  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,422
also more infos regarding what is multiplexed with what settings and mp4box version might also be a good idea,...
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2015, 01:21   #4  |  Link
kotuwa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamaika View Post
Why you created an a new topic? Are you hoping that someone will answer so negatively worded question?
Topic dead:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=94874
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=170918
Topic where you can write your complaint. I don't know if there is the related with some charges.:
https://github.com/gpac/gpac/issues
Thanks for the links...

Searching 'mp4box' in threads did not gave the thread regarding mp4box.
http://forum.doom9.org/search.php?searchid=7475465
(The thread has no tags and looks like title is skipped by search)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
also more infos regarding what is multiplexed with what settings and mp4box version might also be a good idea,...
The message appeared in "MP4Box - GPAC version 0.5.2-DEV-rev1092-g6f3bf8f-master".

And NO such message in "MP4Box - GPAC version 0.5.1-DEV-rev4929" and "MP4Box - GPAC version 0.5.2-DEV-rev70-g0da07c9-master". (For same A/V).
Before, i got this with a version which was older than rev70. (Thought would find some, who also faced this).

Video is x264 720p AVC L4, Audio AAC LC Stereo.
Command
mp4box -add vid.h264:name="AVC x264" -add aud.m4a:lang=eng:name="English AAC" out.mp4

kotuwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2015, 02:58   #5  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,373
It's a status message, nothing to worry about.

Open GOPs are not really a problem. MP4Box is either fixing it (closing the GOP) or flagging it as open; I'm not sure which.

Open GoP and Closed GoP
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=146492
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2015, 06:06   #6  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 879
In your case may not irrelevant information for the GOP because it is the x264 codec. However, as I wrote earlier codec information should be correct.
Worse as it is codec X265 and will have more than 8bit or i444 or opengop. Then surely the movie will be bad play when changing position. It is better to use ffmpeg.
mp4box -new -info -add vid.h264:fmt=H264:fps=???:name="AVC x264" -add aud.m4a:lang=eng:name="English AAC" out.mp4
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2015, 15:36   #7  |  Link
kotuwa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 66
kotuwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2015, 17:55   #8  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Registered User
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,950
Here's a thought...

How about moving Jamaika's post (#489) and subsequent replies out of my GPAC MP4Box Information, Feature Requests & Discussions [No bug reports] topic and into this topic
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2015, 14:06   #9  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,569
OpenGOP in MP4 is not really recommended anyways. Muxers and demuxers and even the specs themselves can be problematic.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gpac, mp4box, open-gop, opengop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.