Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th August 2020, 19:40   #1  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 374
Frame properties

I am having an interlaced TFF m2v video file extracted from a DVD, showing _FieldBased = 0.

I am opening the file using ffms2.Source()

What could be the reason _FieldBased is incorrect. The other properties seem to have transferred correctly.

MediaInfo flags the video file appropriately.
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 20:53   #2  |  Link
Jukus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 46
There are a lot of such cases and there is nothing to pay attention to. The image can be progressive, and MediaInfo can show that it is interlaced. Telecined MediaInfo cannot determine at all.
For indexing it is better to use d2v.
Jukus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 21:36   #3  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jukus View Post
There are a lot of such cases and there is nothing to pay attention to. The image can be progressive, and MediaInfo can show that it is interlaced. Telecined MediaInfo cannot determine at all.
For indexing it is better to use d2v.
What do you mean there is nothing to pay attention to?

As I wrote before the media is interlaced TFF, MediaInfo correctly identifies it as such but by loading it using ffm2 the _FieldBased property shows 0 (which means progressive).
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 21:58   #4  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cary Knoop View Post
What do you mean there is nothing to pay attention to?

As I wrote before the media is interlaced TFF, MediaInfo correctly identifies it as such but by loading it using ffm2 the _FieldBased property shows 0 (which means progressive).
Use d2vsource. It's specialized for this. And FFMS2 can be correct that the frames are indeed progressive what you call "interlaced" is simply RFF flags (which FFMS2 doesn't apply by default).
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 22:08   #5  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
And FFMS2 can be correct that the frames are indeed progressive what you call "interlaced" is simply RFF flags.
As I wrote now three times the source is interlaced.

So the bug is in ffms2?
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 22:23   #6  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cary Knoop View Post
As I wrote now three times the source is interlaced.

So the bug is in ffms2?
MY CODE IS PERFECT.

Also, no sample provided.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 22:33   #7  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
MY CODE IS PERFECT.

Also, no sample provided.
Here is a sample:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/z5w91wpm4f...muxed.m2v?dl=0
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 22:36   #8  |  Link
Jukus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cary Knoop View Post
What do you mean there is nothing to pay attention to?

As I wrote before the media is interlaced TFF, MediaInfo correctly identifies it as such but by loading it using ffm2 the _FieldBased property shows 0 (which means progressive).
The video needs to be assessed only visually, it makes no sense what any program defines.
Jukus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 22:43   #9  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,322
it's interlaced content (motion every field when separated) , encoding is interlaced TFF, metadata is interaced , FrameProps says FieldBased=2 for me

Maybe you are using old ffms2?
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 23:11   #10  |  Link
_Al_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cary Knoop View Post
first frame props:

_AbsoluteTime 0.0
_ChromaLocation 0=left
_ColorRange 1=limited range
_DurationDen 30000
_DurationNum 1001
_FieldBased 2=top field first
_Matrix 6=170m
_PictType I
_Primaries 6=170m
_SARDen 9
_SARNum 8
_Transfer 6=601
_Al_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 23:16   #11  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 374
This is how I obtain the properties:
properties = dict(c.get_frame(0).props)
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 23:19   #12  |  Link
_Al_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 153
yes,that's the way:
{'_AbsoluteTime': 0.0, '_ChromaLocation': 0, '_ColorRange': 1, '_DurationDen': 30000, '_DurationNum': 1001, '_FieldBased': 2, '_Matrix': 6, '_PictType': b'I', '_Primaries': 6, '_SARDen': 9, '_SARNum': 8, '_Transfer': 6}
_Al_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 23:19   #13  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Al_ View Post
first frame props:

_AbsoluteTime 0.0
_ChromaLocation 0=left
_ColorRange 1=limited range
_DurationDen 30000
_DurationNum 1001
_FieldBased 2=top field first
_Matrix 6=170m
_PictType I
_Primaries 6=170m
_SARDen 9
_SARNum 8
_Transfer 6=601
I get everything the same except for:
_FieldBased = 0
_PictType = b'P

I am running ffms2 version 2.23.

Last edited by Cary Knoop; 18th August 2020 at 23:24.
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 23:36   #14  |  Link
_Al_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 153
How do i get version for a ffms2.dll plugin?
_Al_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2020, 23:47   #15  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Al_ View Post
How do i get version for a ffms2.dll plugin?
I use VSRepo
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2020, 00:09   #16  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,322
ffms2 from vsrepo is from 2016-10-18

Try this one
http://forum.doom9.net/showthread.ph...45#post1906345
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2020, 00:15   #17  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop
 
Cary Knoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Newark CA, USA
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
ffms2 from vsrepo is from 2016-10-18

Try this one
http://forum.doom9.net/showthread.ph...45#post1906345
Yes, that did it!
Thanks!

Should the vsrepo administrator (is there one?) be notified?
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.