Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st October 2014, 21:09   #121  |  Link
CaBleman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Got it! (workaround)

r0lZ,

I found the "culprit" causing the hiccup on my system.
At least with DGMVCSource it was the hw=0 option in the function call within the AVS script:
Code:
interleaved = DGMVCSource("xxx.track_xxx.264", "xxx.track_xxx.mvc", view = 0, frames = 198357, hw = 0)
The value 0 means "auto" and on my system it chooses hardware acceleration. So if I leave that on 0 or put it to 2, the following happens:
When the enconding starts, 3-5 seconds go by before something actually happens.
It then starts with the usual approx. 14fps and then accelerates quickly up to 90fps (wow, would be good to have for real.
All this with the result of the black video.

It is only when I put it to 1 and enforce pure software based decoding, that the frame serving works the way it should...

You may very well be right that this is caused by the Intel 3D (decoder?) lib, since I operate a Haswell Refesh processor (Core I5 4590S), which is quite new. May be caused by other libs/components as well...

Hopefully this is a helpful clue to you or your knowledgable people; maybe "we" have to find a newer version of that lib?
If you or someone else needs any more info on my system, let me know...

Anyway, would it be asked too much to have an option (tickboxes or dropdown) in the last tab for this parameter?
Otherwise people with machines like mine have to wait for the demuxing and then amend the AVS script to run the transcoding... please think about it

Thanks again for taking care and providing BD3D2MK3D!

Bye,

CaBleman

Last edited by CaBleman; 21st October 2014 at 21:26.
CaBleman is offline  
Old 21st October 2014, 23:36   #122  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,469
Hey, great news. Thanks for letting us know.
Sure, I'll add an option to control that flag. I have assumed that setting it to "auto" should work in all cases, but assumptions are always dangerous!
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline  
Old 23rd October 2014, 11:28   #123  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,469
BD3D2MK3D v0.52

Levels and profiles changes

I have learned recently many things about the x264 encoding, and I have modified BD3D2MK3D accordingly. The x264 options are therefore much more simple than in the old versions of BD3D2MK3D. The Profile field has been removed, because usually the High profile is selected automatically (except when encoding with the ultrafast preset, where Baseline is used). If you really want to select another profile, you should type "--profile X" in the additional options field, but that should never be necessary.

Similarly, in the previous versions, it was possible to select any level, but due to the HD picture size (1080p), only levels 4.0 and up are useful. Usually, it is recommended to set the level to "do not force", so that x264 can select the level automatically, according to the preset you have selected. However, when encoding with a slow preset, you will probably end up with level 4.1 or 4.2. If that levels are too high for your target hardware, you may need to force level 4.0 or 4.1. (Personally, I recommend level 4.1, because it's the highest level compatible with most hardware players.) Note also that if you encode in Full-SBS or Full-T&B, levels 5.0 or more are mandatory. Since it doesn't make much sense to force a level higher than 5.0 (because you will mainly only limit the compatibility with more hardware players), BD3D2MK3D has implemented the levels 4.0 to 5.0 only. Again, if you want to force a level greater than 5.0, you can do it manually in the additional options field, but the casual user should never need to do that.

Note that forcing a specific level requires also to add the --vbv-bufsize and --vbv-maxrate options, to force x264 to use a buffer size and a maximum bitrate compatible with the specified level. BD3D2MK3D adds these options automatically when a level is forced, and it assumes that profile High (or baseline for the Ultrafast preset) are used. BD3D2MK3D doesn't specify them when the level is not forced. (These options, and some other options, are also used if you tick the "BD compatible" option.) So, if you want to use your own profile or specify a level with a different buffer size or bitrate, you must select "do not force", and enter the requires options manually in the additional options field.

That may seem complicated, but in fact it's much simpler than before. When you encode in Half-SBS or Half-T&B, you should select force level 4.0 or 4.1 to be sure to be compatible with most hardware players. For a slightly better compression but a less good compatibility, you should select "do not force" or level 4.2. When you encode in Full-SBS or Full-T&B, you should select level 5.0 for the best compatibility (but your file will be incompatible with most hardware players anyway), or "do not force" to let x264 decide. You cannot use level 4.*, and if a 4.* level is selected, a warning will be displayed, and you will have to fix the problem.

Note also that the level and profile settings that may have been saved with previous versions of BD3D2MK3D are lost. Don't forget to verify the new Level setting if you want to force a specific level.

Hardware acceleration of the MVC decoder

There is a big bug in the Intel MVC decoder, reported in the few posts above by CaBleman. It appears that the decoder crashes (or produces only black frames) when you have some recent models of the Intel processors, that support theoretically the hardware acceleration. It might therefore be necessary to force the decoder to turn off the hardware acceleration. For that reason, I have added the Settings -> MVC Decoder -> Hardware Acceleration menu. If previous versions of BD3D2MK3D worked fine for you, you should leave that option to its default value "Auto". If you experience crashes, you should try to set it to Disabled. (It should never be necessary to use the Enabled option.) Thanks CaBleman for the bug report, your finding and your tests!

New Tool to convert external subtitles to 3D

With Tools -> Convert Subtitles to 3D (with 3D-Plane), it is possible to convert a subtitle stream from another source to 3D and use the right depth values extracted from the 3D-plane. However, that was not always sufficient to produce the correct subtitles, because often a 3D subtitle must be placed at a precise position in the scene, where there is nothing in the foreground, so that it doesn't enter in objects or characters in the foreground of the scene. Unfortunately, usually the external subtitle file has not been designed with that locations, and the subtitle may therefore enter in objects, It's why I have added a new tool: "Clone Subtitles positions from another file". With that tool, you can use one of the subtitle file extracted from the original 3DBD as a "guide" to place the subtitles of your external stream approximately at the right positions. (It is not always possible to place correctly all subtitles of a specific stream, but the result is usually much better after having used that tool.)

So, in summary, to generate correct 3D subtitles from, say, a SRT file downloaded from the internet, you should do this:
  • Use BD3D2MK3D to generate a project AND tick at least one subtitle stream in tab 2 (or select a stream to hardcode in tab 4). That stream will serve as the "guide" and will be replaced with your own subtitles later.
  • Convert the external subtitle to IDX/SUB format. (I recommend to use SubtitleEdit's Export to BDN xml/png).
  • Use the new "Clone Subtitles positions from another file" tool to move the subtitles of the new XML/PNG stream to their correct position extracted from the "guide" XML file that has been created automatically by BD3D2MK3D during the preparation of the project.
  • Use Convert Subtitles to 3D (with 3D-Plane) to convert the new XML to 3D using the 3D-plane that is associated with the "guide" stream, and output to BD SUP or VobSub format.
  • Edit the _MUX_2D_OPTIONS.txt file to replace the guide file with your new SUP or IDX file. (If you want to hardcode the file, you must edit _ENCODE_3D_MOVIE.avs.)

Other changes

I have also fixed the bug reported by CRFOnly, with the 2D subtitle streams not generated. I have modified a large part of my code, and I hope I haven't introduced new bugs.

There are also some other minor changes.

Download: BD3D2MK3D.7z

Quote:
# v0.52 (October 23, 2014)
# - Modified the x264 encoding options: Profile has been removed.
# - Level is now used also to limit the bitrate peaks and the decoding buffer size and is now minimum 4.0, as it should for 1080p.
# - Added a help button next to the "Level" field to explain why it may be useful to use that option.
# - Added the Settings -> MVC Decoder -> Hardware Acceleration menu to force the decoder to use the hardware or software acceleration.
# - New Tool "Clone Subtitles positions from another file", useful to add another subtitle file to the final MKV.
# - Fix: The forced 2D subtitle SUP stream was not included in the mux. Thanks CRFOnly!
# - Minor cosmetic changes.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV

Last edited by r0lZ; 10th November 2014 at 11:14.
r0lZ is offline  
Old 23rd October 2014, 17:32   #124  |  Link
frank
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: https://t.me/pump_upp
Posts: 811
error: can't read "subsfilename": no such variable

After building the project BD3D2MK3D 0.52 ends with an error message:
Code:
can't read "subsfilename": no such variable
    while executing
"file extension $subsfilename"
    (procedure "GenerateAvs" line 1814)
    invoked from within
"GenerateAvs"
    invoked from within
".nbf5.gf.gen invoke "
    invoked from within
".nbf5.gf.gen instate {pressed !disabled} { .nbf5.gf.gen state !pressed; .nbf5.gf.gen invoke } "
    (command bound to event)
Console:
Code:
*** Saving "_ENCODE.cmd"
x264 command:
"C:\Users\Chef\BD3D2MK3D\toolset\avs2yuv.exe" ^
  "_ENCODE_3D_MOVIE.avs" -frames 178660 -o - ^
  | "C:\Users\Chef\BD3D2MK3D\toolset\x264_x64.exe" ^
  --crf 18 --preset medium ^
  --bluray-compat --profile high --level 4.1 --open-gop --keyint 24 --slices 4 ^
  --colormatrix bt709 --colorprim bt709 --transfer bt709 --b-pyramid strict ^
  --vbv-bufsize 30000 --vbv-maxrate 40000 --aud ^
  --frame-packing 4 --qpfile chapters_3D.qpfile ^
  --output "00799_mpls.264" --frames 178660 --demuxer y4m --stdin y4m -

*** Saving "tags.xml"

*** Saving "_MUX_3D.cmd"

*** Saving "_MUX_3D_OPTIONS.txt"

*** Saving "_MUX_2D.cmd" and "_MUX_2D_OPTIONS.txt"
*** can't read "subsfilename": no such variable
() 1 %
___________
frank
System: Win 7 x64

Last edited by frank; 23rd October 2014 at 17:35.
frank is offline  
Old 23rd October 2014, 19:15   #125  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,469
BD3D2MK3D v0.53

Damn! It's a stupid bug. I think it happens only when there are several subtitle streams to decode and the option to mux the 2D files is ticked in tab 2. Anyway, I have fixed the bug. Or at least I think so. I haven't enough time to test it. Please do it.
Thanks for the bug report!
Code:
# v0.53 (October 23, 2014)
# - Last minute bug fix: Problem when adding the 2D subtitle streams to the _MUX_*D_OPTIONS.txt files
Download: BD3D2MK3D.7z
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline  
Old 24th October 2014, 07:54   #126  |  Link
frank
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: https://t.me/pump_upp
Posts: 811
There were several subs, and I ticked the forced captions only option. Encoding to Half T&B, nothing with 2D.

I will test again.
frank is offline  
Old 24th October 2014, 09:23   #127  |  Link
frank
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: https://t.me/pump_upp
Posts: 811
Successfully done with v0.53!!
frank is offline  
Old 24th October 2014, 10:40   #128  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,469
OK, thanks for the confirmation. :-)
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline  
Old 25th October 2014, 20:40   #129  |  Link
Bryce2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Hi! r0lZ
I have a query about x264 encoder options and how these are incorporated inside "BD3D2MK3D's Options & Go!" panel, and with that in mind, I would like to make a suggestion. My query is why you don't implement a option like "MeGUI - Encoder settings - Config" panel or something similar so the user could apply his own custom settings with ease and with more control on x264 options, without the necessity to wright by hand all the additional parameters someone wants to experiment with?
(Sorry for my terrible English - not my native language as you can imagine)

PS.
With encoding options like :
Mode: CRF (10)
Preset: slower
Additional options: --keyint 240 --min-keyint 24 --merange 64
my memory is up to 94%-96% in use. Any idea why this happens?
My PC:
AMD FX-8350 Vishera (8 Core - core speed 4026.3 MHz)
16GB DDR3

Thanks for the time you spend to make our life easier!
Bryce2 is offline  
Old 25th October 2014, 21:54   #130  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,469
Well, I believe that my program must be accessible to everybody. I don't want to make it too difficult to understand and use. There is already a lot of options, some not obvious for a beginner. Also, x264 has excellent presets and tune options, that should be sufficient for most users. Adding all settings in a GUI is theoretically possible, but that will only be much confusing for most users. And take in mind that BD3D2MK3D sets some options automatically for you (such as --frame-packing, or the --vbv-* options if you select a specific level). It is difficult to have to disable that options in the GUI if the user selects a level, and enable them otherwise. And I don't want to encourage peoples to tick one or two options without knowing exactly what is their usage, just to check if the result will be good. Usually, that kind of experiment leads to bad images, slow encodes or bad compression. In short, I have opted for a GUI as simple as possible, but with the possibility for advanced users to specify additional options manually, if they know what they are doing.

Anyway, if you want to use the same set of options every time you use BD3D2MK3D, you can just type them once, and then use Settings -> Save Settings Now to save them permanently. (Just be sure to disable the Save Settings On Exit option, as otherwise your default options will be overwritten if you change them for a specific movie.) All options are saved, including everything that you can select via the GUI and the content of the "Additional options" field, but of course nothing directly related to the current movie, such as its title and tags. IIRC, only the global Shutdown Computer option is not saved (because it is too dangerous).

Honestly, I don't know why x264 may need almost 16GB of memory with your settings. It may be caused by the --merange parameter, but I'm not sure. I'm not at all a specialist of the x264 encoder. I can only tell you that I have only 4GB of mem, and x264 has never needed more than approximately 2GB to encode my movies (without --merange 64). You should ask your question in a forum about x264.

Don't worry for your "terrible" English. It is perfectly understandable, and anyway, English is not my native language either.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV

Last edited by r0lZ; 25th October 2014 at 22:06.
r0lZ is offline  
Old 25th October 2014, 23:34   #131  |  Link
Bryce2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks my friend for the quick reply. I perfectly understand what you mean, but I just thought that it would be easier for some of us to have more options for x264 to play with! Anyway ..thanks again for such a nice program. it makes a-lot easier to re-encode a original 3D bluray disc than before (manual way).
Can I ask for a "IMDB-id" & "TMDB-id" field and a "Genres" field in the "Title & tags" panel. I think it is important for a movie tag. (my opinion).
I have also a last question for the "Title & tags" panel. How do you put 2 different locations. I tried it for the movie "Upside Down" and it didn't work. the movie was made in Canada & France ..so I put FR, CA and it gave me an error.
PS.
Can we have a crop option in the "Options and Go" panel?
Thanks a-million!!!!!

Last edited by Bryce2; 25th October 2014 at 23:37. Reason: forgot something.
Bryce2 is offline  
Old 26th October 2014, 09:10   #132  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,469
BD3D2MK3D uses only some of the official Matroska tags and, as far as I know, there is nothing to specify IMDB or TMDB IDs. You may want to use the COMMENT field to store them. There is a GENRE tag in the official Matroska list, but afaik it is used only for music (in MKA files). For the location, BD3D2MK3D uses the COMPOSITION_LOCATION official tag, and unfortunately, it is impossible to define two locations at the same time.
I can perhaps add one or two new tags, but they have to be official. Consult the list and make concrete suggestions if you wish...

For the crop, it's NO! Certainly not! Never! It is an extremely bad idea to crop a 3D movie. A 3D movie MUST be encoded with the 16:9 aspect ratio. Dot.
Most (if not all) 3D TVs require the 16:9 ar, and when the black bars have been cropped, they display the movie stretched vertically, or, in some case, they give up completely. It's already a very good reason to avoid cropping the 3D movies.

I know that some devices, and most software players can display non-16:9 3D movies correctly, but they add black borders in real time anyway, and since the black borders are very easy to encode, the gain in file size when cropping them is minimal, and negligible in regard to the numerous drawbacks. Don't forget that it's not because you watch your movies currently with a player that supports the cropped borders that you will never buy a TV or another device that requires full 16:9.

Furthermore, it is impossible to display correctly the 3D subtitles on a movie that has been cropped, because in addition to the depths of the subtitles, their exact positions on screen are very important too. Since the SubRip and BD SUP subtitle formats are made for a specific video format (in our case, 1080p full 16:9), the positions of the subtitles along the Y axis is lost if you have cropped the black borders, and the 3D effect of the subtitles is ruined. (Unfortunately, many software players reposition the subtitles in the bottom center of the screen anyway, and it's mainly because they have to adapt them to cropped movie. I hope that the authors of the 3D players will understand that it is important to display the 3D subtitles as they are, without modification. But first, we need to stop cropping our 3D movies.)
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV

Last edited by r0lZ; 26th October 2014 at 09:17.
r0lZ is offline  
Old 26th October 2014, 11:01   #133  |  Link
Bryce2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Mainly I asked if it was possible from you to add a extra field for "IMDB-id" & "Genres" in the "Title and Tags" panel taking as a paradigm the mkv tagger utility MatroskaTagger from Team MediaPortal as they have already added these fields in their program, thus avoiding me from using two different apps to properly (as to my opinion) tag a MKV movie file.

(Sorry for bringing you a headache with all my questions & requirements)

Maybe I ask too much or perhaps I'm wrong ..or maybe I will consult the list and make concrete suggestions in the near future...
(If you haven't kill me before I do this!!!) .Xa! Xa! Xi! Xi!
Bryce2 is offline  
Old 26th October 2014, 14:40   #134  |  Link
Bryce2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
As for the IMDB-id & Genres tag fields, they are already implemented inside MKVTagger (MatroskaTagger)"" from "Team MediaPortal", and that's the reason that I asked for this addition in the Title and tags panel, thus avoiding me from using 2 different tools for the same job.
(sorry for giving you a headache with so many questions and requests)
Bryce2 is offline  
Old 28th October 2014, 09:24   #135  |  Link
mini-moose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 385
I'm doing a 3d encode for a friend with the latest version. He wanted it 2-pass for whatever reason. I've set the video bitrate to around 9k and I got the next warning:

Code:
Video bitrate is too high for h264 level 4.1.  It has been forced to 56250 kbps.  The final file size may be smaller than expected.
that's 6 times what I set it to initially...

I've edited the encode batch file so that's not an issue. But is it some bug or maybe I did something wrong? I didn't encounter that in previous versions.

Last edited by mini-moose; 28th October 2014 at 09:38.
mini-moose is offline  
Old 28th October 2014, 10:25   #136  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,469
Yes, it's something I have added to the latest version. If you force a specific level (such as 4.1 in your example), the maximum bitrate allowed for that level is now specified automatically in the command line (with the --vbv-maxrate argument). For level 4.1 (and profile high, the default), the maximum bitrate is 62500 kbps. Since the average bitrate specified by the user must be smaller than the maximum, BD3D2MK3D verifies if it is correct, and if it's not the case, it changes it to an acceptable value (90% of the maximum bitrate).

But if you have specified 9k, (I guess you mean 9000 kbps, right?) then your bitrate is largely below the limit, and BD3D2MK3D should not have displayed that warning. Obviously, there is something wrong. I will have a look. Thanks for the bug report.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline  
Old 28th October 2014, 10:41   #137  |  Link
mini-moose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
Yes, it's something I have added to the latest version...
But if you have specified 9k, (I guess you mean 9000 kbps, right?) then your bitrate is largely below the limit, and BD3D2MK3D should not have displayed that warning. Obviously, there is something wrong...
Yes, 9000 kbps.
thanks.
mini-moose is offline  
Old 28th October 2014, 10:43   #138  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,469
BD3B2MK3D v0.54

Confirmed. There was a terrible bug in 2-pass and ABR modes. Sorry. It is fixed in v0.54. Thanks again.
Code:
# v0.54 (October 28, 2014)
# - Bug in 2-pass and ABR modes: the bitrate was forced to the maximum.
# - Minor cosmetic changes
Donwload: BD3D2MK3D.7z
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline  
Old 28th October 2014, 10:47   #139  |  Link
mini-moose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
Confirmed. There was a terrible bug in 2-pass and ABR modes. Sorry. It is fixed in v0.54. Thanks again.
Great. Thanks r0lZ.
mini-moose is offline  
Old 28th October 2014, 16:40   #140  |  Link
frank
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: https://t.me/pump_upp
Posts: 811
Hi r0lZ!
I welcome your opinion to the settings of BD3D2MK3D. Keep it on! Beginners forget often IT IS 3D for TV!!!

I prefer the BD compliant settings. It worked on ALL devices properly in excellent quality.
(I also hate cropping, keyint=250...) As hardware specialist I only can say: TV chipsets and acceleration are developed for standard sizes: 1080 / 720... And HDMI is based on standards.

Last edited by frank; 28th October 2014 at 16:54.
frank is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.