Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th March 2024, 23:32   #2201  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
I will not implement any new functionality. So please do NOT post any feature requests in this topic or on Github.
!!!!!
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2024, 18:59   #2202  |  Link
Cutterkin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick_Mc View Post
Thanks for the response. I think I need to explain this differently because I don't want MPC keeping a history.

Why can't we have "Remember position of previously viewed files" without having to keep a public history of every file we view in MPC? I know you have to store the file path with the position so MPC will know which positions go with which files. But that's got nothing to do whether we want a history list to be displayed when File > Recent is selected.

Because I'm only concerned with accidentally hitting Page Up or Page Down, I also don't want MPC to remember filenames or positions on exit. Once I exit MPC, I want it to forget that it ever viewed any files. The history list is completely separate from what I've asked for and why I asked for it.
There are several ways for you to workaround this.

First, if you find yourself accidentally hitting a key that does something annoying like Page Up/Down is for you, you can disable that key from doing anything in MPC-HC options -> Player -> Keys. You could also just change it so that a "normal" keypress does nothing but a CTRL+Keypress does work. Either would fix your problem of pressing the key inadvertantely.

Second option: in MPC-HC options -> Player check "Store settings in .ini file" so MPC-HC will keep all of its settings (and history) in an mpc-hc64.ini in its program folder. Then enable all history settings and keep a copy of your mpc-hc64.ini file somewhere with all history removed. Now, every time you are done "editing" in MPC-HC just overwrite the mpc-hc64.ini file with your saved backup copy, and "poof" all history is gone. You could make this process "1-button" easy with a simple batch file. If it sounds like it would work for you I would help you create it (if you are not computer & batch file savvy).
Cutterkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2024, 19:13   #2203  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,653
Please do NOT post any feature requests in this topic or on Github. I am not interested in your requests and I will NOT implement them. The developers themselves solely decide which functionality is added.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2024, 12:09   #2204  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,965
Posts deleted by rule 4 violation. Please by nice with other users.

The developper choice is clear, the users choice is use or not MPC-HC like it is.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2024, 05:14   #2205  |  Link
foxyshadis
Angel of Night
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tangled in the silks
Posts: 9,559
I've moved the discussion of color calibration and renderers, which really isn't about MPC-HC at all after all, to a new thread: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=185452

Meanwhile, I'm pissed off. This is the third time in two weeks this thread's gone off the rails, after a warning without strikes already. I don't know how much more clear it has to be, stop antagonizing clsid for not bowing to your whims. Accept their somewhat brusque style as a consequence of asking to add to their own workload, rather than thinking it's a personal attack on you that they just don't want to do what you think they should, and will tell you very directly. Breathe, people, it's a media player, not an excuse to wade into battle. Fortunately, most of you don't need to hear this, but those who do know who they are.

Last edited by foxyshadis; 17th April 2024 at 05:19.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2024, 19:31   #2206  |  Link
rgr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 56
Has anyone else noticed that MPC-HC sometimes hangs on startup?

Nothing happens, so I run MPC-HC again. Nothing happens again, so I look in the program manager and see two MPC-HC instances. When I kill one, only then does the other one start.
rgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2024, 19:56   #2207  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,828
Sometimes a stuck task happens to me too. But the reasons can be hard to spot. The player as such is not very probable, as it is "merely" a container for the really active components, decoder and renderer. And especially a decoder is vulnerable to e.g. data errors in media sources.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2024, 20:17   #2208  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,653
Get Process Explorer:
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sy...ocess-explorer

Right-click on mpc-hc process > Properties > Threads
Make screenshot. Use external image host.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2024, 20:17   #2209  |  Link
Shandra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 94
Jup, confirmed - haven't happen in a while for me, but somehow I doubt that this is due to me upgrading it to 2.1.4 (c82061aef) [x64] in january (btw. time to upgrade again) and it most of the time is just happening whence i switch through (many) videos in a short time (with some seeking) [for instance whence taking screenshots for episode thumbnails (new season, new series bought and encoded - whatsoever)] and I guess that LigH is right and the real culprit/hickup within the filterchain is nearly impossible to nail down by regular use and i guess even pretty hard to hunt down in a dedicated test environment/debuging scenario.
Shandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2024, 20:36   #2210  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,653
Madvr is a common cause of freezes/hangs. Specially when combined with d3d11 native hardware decoding. It is bug in Madvr related to not freeing its queue for LAV to use, so there is NOTHING I can do about it. Madshi knows about it for years. It happens rarely, but excessive seeking can trigger it more frequently.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1

Last edited by clsid; 17th April 2024 at 20:38.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2024, 22:51   #2211  |  Link
modus-ms325c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2023
Posts: 12
if you just so happen to be in the "MediaInfo" tab of the "Properties" window, if you "increase" the canvas (height x width) of that window, said tab will still look like this


just something i found out while using MPC-HC
version 2.2.1 btw
modus-ms325c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2024, 06:18   #2212  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 635
Hello and is this correct



This is what it looks like when I open a physical DVD-ROM disc which has "closed captions" inside the MPEG2 stream (not to be confused with VobSub, which is a different subtitle format that uses bitmap images stored externally to the MPEG2 stream - this disc does not use those, it uses "closed captions"):



If I open the "DVD Navigator" filter it looks like this:



"SubPicture" kind of sounds like VobSub tho which is NOT used by this disc so maybe the above image is redundant.

edit: VLC for comparison




Last edited by flossy_cake; 23rd April 2024 at 06:26.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2024, 06:30   #2213  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Sometimes a stuck task happens to me too. But the reasons can be hard to spot. The player as such is not very probable, as it is "merely" a container for the really active components, decoder and renderer. And especially a decoder is vulnerable to e.g. data errors in media sources.
I get this all the time when I play .avs files with higher CPU load like QTGMC. Before exiting I have to pause the video, wait a few seconds for the CPU load to drop to idle, then exit, then the mpc-hc64.exe disappears from process list. If I exit too fast while the CPU is busy buffering frames, GUI window disappears but mpc-hc64.exe stays running (not consuming any CPU tho). I figured it must be some issue with Avisynth but now I'm not so sure. Handles to the .avs file probably aren't getting released as it won't let me reopen the same .avs file until previous instance is killed.

Last edited by flossy_cake; 23rd April 2024 at 06:39.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2024, 15:19   #2214  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,996
@flossy_cake
View > Options > DVD > Allow closed captions in "Line 21 Decoder" = on.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2024, 06:02   #2215  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by v0lt View Post
@flossy_cake
View > Options > DVD > Allow closed captions in "Line 21 Decoder" = on.
Sorry forgot to mention I tried that already without effect. But it sounds like that is the right setting, it's just not getting activated for some reason...

edit: also tried toggling the subtitle related settings in the Advanced Settings ("do not edit unless you know what you are doing")

Last edited by flossy_cake; 24th April 2024 at 06:06.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2024, 15:08   #2216  |  Link
rgr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by flossy_cake View Post
I get this all the time when I play .avs files with higher CPU load like QTGMC. Before exiting I have to pause the video, wait a few seconds for the CPU load to drop to idle, then exit, then the mpc-hc64.exe disappears from process list. If I exit too fast while the CPU is busy buffering frames, GUI window disappears but mpc-hc64.exe stays running (not consuming any CPU tho). I figured it must be some issue with Avisynth but now I'm not so sure. Handles to the .avs file probably aren't getting released as it won't let me reopen the same .avs file until previous instance is killed.
Indeed - I think it happens to me in such cases.
But this also happens with traditional mp4 files.
rgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2024, 18:33   #2217  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,996
@flossy_cake
Necessary filters to support closed captions in DVD-Video:
  1. DVD-Navigator
  2. Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder (Win7) or MPC DVD Video Decoder (Win7-10)
  3. Line 21 Decoder 2
  4. Enhanced Video Renderer or Enhanced Video Renderer (custom presenter)

Last edited by v0lt; 24th April 2024 at 18:38.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2024, 07:07   #2218  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by v0lt View Post
@flossy_cake
Necessary filters to support closed captions in DVD-Video:
  1. DVD-Navigator
  2. Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder (Win7) or MPC DVD Video Decoder (Win7-10)
  3. Line 21 Decoder 2
  4. Enhanced Video Renderer or Enhanced Video Renderer (custom presenter)
Tried that, no effect effect unfortunately. Notably #2 was checked in Codec Tweak Tool:



(tried disabling them as well)

I'm under the impression "DVD Navigator" is Microsft's DVD Video Decoder? In that case how could I try MPC DVD Video Decoder instead? I have K-Lite codec pack and been through the codec tweak tool and there is nothing there that matches that description.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2024, 11:02   #2219  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,653
DVD Navigator is the source filter that reads the DVD and handles the menus. You can not and should not replace that.

Those CTT settings are for completely disabling MS filters (which you should not do). If you want to use the MS DTV-DVD video decoder in MPC-HC, then either disable internal MPEG2 decoder or add it as preferred external filter.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1

Last edited by clsid; 25th April 2024 at 11:40.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2024, 11:06   #2220  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by flossy_cake View Post
I get this all the time when I play .avs files with higher CPU load like QTGMC. Before exiting I have to pause the video, wait a few seconds for the CPU load to drop to idle, then exit, then the mpc-hc64.exe disappears from process list. If I exit too fast while the CPU is busy buffering frames, GUI window disappears but mpc-hc64.exe stays running (not consuming any CPU tho). I figured it must be some issue with Avisynth but now I'm not so sure. Handles to the .avs file probably aren't getting released as it won't let me reopen the same .avs file until previous instance is killed.
Instead of using Avisynth as a source filter, maybe you get better results with Avisynth Filter as a processing filter. Add it as preferred external filter to load it. There is also a VapourSynth filter.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.