Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th February 2024, 23:28   #64601  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 476
I like mitchell-netravali ar which uses the formula b=1/3 c=1/3 for chroma. It doesn't require much in resources and looks pleasant, good choice for integrated gpus. Not too saturated, a pleasant tonality. bicubic 60 ar (b=0, c=0.6) is similar, but a smidge more saturated.

MN is also good for image scaling too. I would argue for low resource systems that it's probably the most performant choice that actually does look good. Yes, for image scaling others like spline36 and lanczos3 are sharper, but you must ask yourself, should the image be that sharp? Sometimes too sharp can look worse.

If you have gpu to spare, then yes, use super-xbr as a better performer, but it will use more resources.

Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 13:59   #64602  |  Link
fabuloufab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Hi Everybody,
(Very) long time user of MadVR here, I always found the information I needed about it on tutorials or reading other user’s posts in forum but this time I’m facing two strange issues that I can’t solve by myself and I need your ideas.

First, my setup :
- Hardware : Nvidia RTX 3060 Ti – Projector JVC NZ7 in 4K (Set in 120Hz)
- Software : Win 11 - MadVR 0.92.17 hdrMeasure205 – Latest Nvidia drivers (but result the same with plenty of precedent versions) – Lav filters 0.78 with Video hardware decode setting set to “none” (as latest 4k encodes regularly bug with hardware decode set to “copy-back”)

-First problem : - “The Image Enhancements” in the “Processing” section don’t apply on 4k sources.
I can enable all the filters and put them to the max, no filtering is done and I can’t understand why
As there is no scaling to be done (4k projected in 4k) I can’t use the “upscaling refinement” in the “Scaling Algorithms” but I would like to sharpen the image a bit

-Second Problem: -Either my projector or the Nvidia driver or MadVR bugs 50% of the time when switching back from BT 2020 to BT 709 after closure of a HDR movie resulting in a total black screen.
I want to use MadVR HDR tone mapping so on the “Calibration” section of my projector I did put “This display is already calibrated” with “BT. 2020” and I did tick “Report BT.2020 to display (Nvidia only)”
When launching the film, everything is great. The projector switch to BT 2020 and the image is wonderful. But when I close the movie, it only swith back correctly 50 % of the time. The rest of the time it seems to try to switch and my projector screen stay completely black until I either unplug/replug the HDMI cable or power off/on my projector (or pc).

Any idea would be welcome… ��

Last edited by fabuloufab; 28th February 2024 at 15:16.
fabuloufab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 15:30   #64603  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 476
Regarding the 4K encodes bugging, you don't need to use copy-back on a system like that.. select the LAV decoder dropdown as D3D11, select the hardware device dropdown as "Automatic", set MadVR to use D3D11 for presentation and that should work better for you, no?
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 15:55   #64604  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
Regarding the 4K encodes bugging, you don't need to use copy-back on a system like that.. select the LAV decoder dropdown as D3D11, select the hardware device dropdown as "Automatic", set MadVR to use D3D11 for presentation and that should work better for you, no?
It will work better at the cost of presentation glitches.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 16:10   #64605  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
Regarding the 4K encodes bugging, you don't need to use copy-back on a system like that.. select the LAV decoder dropdown as D3D11, select the hardware device dropdown as "Automatic", set MadVR to use D3D11 for presentation and that should work better for you, no?
this breaks deint and what has the presentation to do with decoding. madVR is dx9 with and without d3d11 decode or presentation
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 16:59   #64606  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 476
It would save the trouble of transferring 4K back and forth across the memory bus and instead work on the textures directly in the GPU.. at least this is my understanding of it.

The other stuff like presentation glitches or deint are separate issues..

For the glitches, maybe give it a try unchecking frames in advance mode so it uses backbuffers instead.. the old overlay mode used backbuffers.. maybe it would interact with the driver differently if it wasn't frames in advance. Who knows?
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 17:11   #64607  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,933
what has this todo with presentation.

if you get presentation glitches you get them not from decoding you get them from well presentation.

but d3d11 presentation has nothing todo with d3d11 decode.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 17:48   #64608  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
what has this todo with presentation.

if you get presentation glitches you get them not from decoding you get them from well presentation.

but d3d11 presentation has nothing todo with d3d11 decode.
OK, this is starting to get confusing, what is the better way to set it up in lav video and madvr?
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 17:56   #64609  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,933
the way it works best for you. or sadly i can not give you a proper answer.

if copyback is not a performance issue for you use it.

if d3d11 gives you presentation glitches try d3d9.
if d3d9 still gives presentation issues try the presentation modes this mode has differences compared to d3d11 (it's been a long time since i tested it.)
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 18:25   #64610  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 717
No matter how many frames in advance I set up, it always gets presentation glitch or two. This is with d3d11 in lav, and d3d11 in madvr.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 18:27   #64611  |  Link
fabuloufab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks for your answers,
As Siso said, Any hardware decoding done with Nvidia cards seems to give presentation gliches from time to time with latest x265 encodes so this is not an option.
Also I can't explain it, and it's subtle, but the visual quality of CPU (Non GPU hardware) decoding seems slightly better to my eyes.
But the problem is not there... It's with the two ones I mentionned earlyer.
Does somebody else use the "image enhancements" to filter source image that has the same resolution as your output and does it work ?
Does somebody else use the "Report BT.2020 to display (Nvidia only)” and experienced this problem ?

Thank you
fabuloufab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 20:04   #64612  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by fabuloufab View Post
Does somebody else use the "image enhancements" to filter source image that has the same resolution as your output and does it work?
Regarding this one, with my old monitor which had 2560x1080p resolution image enhancement didn't work on academy flat (1.85:1) sources, I don't know why...maybe madvr bug. On scope (2.35:1) and panavision (2.39:1) they did work.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2024, 23:18   #64613  |  Link
fabuloufab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Ok, I just found out two interesting things for my 2 problems.

-First : I was wrong. The "Image enhancement is active. The thing is that while they worked great when I had a 1080p projector and wanted to sharpen and densify my 1080p sources, the filters doesn't seem tailored and adapted to 4k.
sharpen edges: Even at max level (4.0) No change is visible
crispen edges: Even at max level (4.0) No change is visible
thin edges: Change is visible but filter is not usable at all. As Asmodian says in his description: "As its name implies. Good for SD Anime or cartoons."
enhance detail: At max level (4.0) this one has a small noticeable effect that look nice... I would be interested to see if it could go higher... but it can't...
LumaSharpen: Does have an effect. Sharpen but quickly bring up "noise" to the image
AdaptiveSharpen: Does have an effect. Sharpen but quickly bring up "noise" to the image
activate anti-bloating filter: When you activat LumaSharpen or Adaptive Sharpen, this one is "proposed" automatically and annihilate everything done by these two above filters (That's why I didn't saw any effect)
activate anti-ringing filter: No change visible.

So now my question... Does somebody have something else to propose to filter a 4k image on a 4k projector that works better and is better adapted ?

-Second problem: I found out that the problem only occur if I diminish the movie image (Window mode) before closing mpchc-be with the x in the top right corner.
If I close the video right away from full screen with Alt-x or with the fullscreen flybar, It works. Strange...
fabuloufab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2024, 11:12   #64614  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,933
don't combined them like that.
enhance detail is just a macro block enhancer if you run that one followed by adaptive sharpening it will just create block all over the image.

enhance details at 4 alone massively throws noise all over the image here at my side tested with a 4k source.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2024, 17:50   #64615  |  Link
Amuat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 42
Does anyone see noticeable benefits from reduce ringing artifacts? I've noticed that when I would really need it, it does absolutely nothing. On the other hand, it's good that I realized I was carrying dead weight on all my profiles.
Amuat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2024, 22:33   #64616  |  Link
Heaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 58
I have seen Reduce Ringing Artifacts work on sources that have haloing from being over-sharpened. The setting works, but it can also mistake some hard edges as halos and potentially reduce the contrast intensity of said edges.
Heaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2024, 10:50   #64617  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuat View Post
Does anyone see noticeable benefits from reduce ringing artifacts? I've noticed that when I would really need it, it does absolutely nothing. On the other hand, it's good that I realized I was carrying dead weight on all my profiles.
It's amazing on content that actually needs it. Always evaluate the options effects before selecting them.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2024, 17:17   #64618  |  Link
Amuat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
It's amazing on content that actually needs it. Always evaluate the options effects before selecting them.
Could you give me any examples when it has worked? Could there be some settings that prevent it from working in my case?
Amuat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2024, 03:45   #64619  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,651
It's most noticeable on lower resolution content that's been upscaled/sharpened. For me taking this DVD quality content and upscaling it always made whatever haloing that was there so much more apparent. Having this enabled competely cleaned up the final image, giving me an upscale that looked naturally shaper without looking like it had gone through postprocessing.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2024, 16:54   #64620  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 930
Hi!

Was there some sort of genius timeout in madVR again? This time it seems to break the whole OS's ability to play videos, and not just crashes the mediaplayer. (The DVB app only shows it cannot connect the decoder to the renderer.)
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.