Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd February 2010, 13:10   #1  |  Link
ExtraEye
Registered User
 
ExtraEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 166
fantasia in avisynth - dvd but still

Hi, I decided I wanted to improve the quality of the fantasia DVD. Even though I find it looks better than VHS, and the audio is supposed to be high quality (AC3), I find the video full of noise, interlacing and dot crawl, and the audio's volume very low.
I don't care much for size since I'm really only editing the video for personal storage.
Anyone have suggestions on how to improve the quality of the video?
for now here is a screenshot: (after crop and deinterlace filters)

Bigger

I threw in a couple of plugins i found and this is what i came up with:
Code:
MPEG2Source("project file.d2v", cpu=4)
AMVDeint(mode=4)
Crop(10,0,-10,-4)
Tweak(sat=1.1,cont=1.2)
DeGrainMedian
temporalcleaner
Lanczos4resize(720,560)
zWarpSharp(depth=8)
LSFmod(strength=120)
and the result is cleaner but still "noisy":

pic

Any suggestions on how to improve visuals?
Help with the audio normalization would also be nice.
thank you.
__________________
Hardware: Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz, 2048 Ram, Geforce 9800GT.

Last edited by ExtraEye; 2nd February 2010 at 13:13.
ExtraEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 13:31   #2  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
what's AMVDeint ?

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 13:32   #3  |  Link
rkalwaitis
Robert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 407
Use MCTemporalDenoise, or MCSPuds, They will both do a fine job on that source.
rkalwaitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 16:46   #4  |  Link
ExtraEye
Registered User
 
ExtraEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw
what's AMVDeint ?
I read about it here

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkalwaitis View Post
Use MCTemporalDenoise, or MCSPuds, They will both do a fine job on that source.
thanks for the advice.
When I try to use "MCTemporalDenoise" it gives me an error: "FFT3DFilter: cannot load FFTW3.DLL !"

EDIT:
MCSPuds works great thanks!
__________________
Hardware: Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz, 2048 Ram, Geforce 9800GT.

Last edited by ExtraEye; 2nd February 2010 at 16:59.
ExtraEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 19:00   #5  |  Link
Nightshiver
Quality Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Area 52
Posts: 597
Please post a video sample.
Nightshiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 19:43   #6  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 903
Code:
When I try to use "MCTemporalDenoise" it gives me an error: "FFT3DFilter: cannot load FFTW3.DLL !"
Did you read the "readme"?
FFTW3.DLL must be in the search path of your OS.
Normally C:\Windows\System32\ should be fine.
BTW, which OS are you using?
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 20:29   #7  |  Link
ExtraEye
Registered User
 
ExtraEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 166
Windows 7 64 bit
Yeah I tried downloading FFTW3 dll and putting it in sys32 - didn't work

umm I'm sorry for the simple question but how do I go about making a sample of the video? I tried loading the vob directly in virtualdub and it gives me an error. If I load it as avisynth it creates a huge file when I output a "direct stream copy".
__________________
Hardware: Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz, 2048 Ram, Geforce 9800GT.

Last edited by ExtraEye; 2nd February 2010 at 20:33.
ExtraEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 20:51   #8  |  Link
egrimisu
Registered User
 
egrimisu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Romania - neighbor of Dracula
Posts: 327
for x64 environment put the fftw3.dll in the SysWOW64 folder located in the windows folder.
__________________
I7 920 @ 3.60GHz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Asus P6T Deluxe, 6GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHZ 8-8-8-24
2x1TB Samsung + 1x500GB Samsung,
Corsair 520W, Thermaltake Soprano DX
GeForge GTX280
egrimisu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 21:04   #9  |  Link
ExtraEye
Registered User
 
ExtraEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrimisu View Post
for x64 environment put the fftw3.dll in the SysWOW64 folder located in the windows folder.
Where do I get the fftw3.dll?

I couldn't make a direct sample but here's a part I encoded with 700 bit rate x264: (the artifact are pretty much the same)
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2wyyzvmgzad
__________________
Hardware: Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz, 2048 Ram, Geforce 9800GT.

Last edited by ExtraEye; 2nd February 2010 at 22:24.
ExtraEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 22:32   #10  |  Link
rkalwaitis
Robert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 407
the FFTW3.dll should be in the FFT3dfilter files.

http://avisynth.org.ru/fft3dfilter/fft3dfilter.html
rkalwaitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 22:47   #11  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtraEye View Post
I couldn't make a direct sample but here's a part I encoded with 700 bit rate x264: (the artifact are pretty much the same)
Re-encodes are pointless. Maybe you think it's about the same, but in fact, it is not.

Start DGIndex. Load a VOB. Use "[" + "]" buttons to mark start+end of a short segment. Then use "Save project and demux video". Et voilà, there's the sample to upload. It's really not that difficult.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 07:15   #12  |  Link
ExtraEye
Registered User
 
ExtraEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 166
Thank you for your patient comments.
Here's the sample file: (I didn't know DGIndex could do that. thanks)
http://www.sendspace.com/file/wvlbzc

about "FFTW3.dll", it still doesn't work. I tried downloading FFT3dfilter and just extracting it to both syswow64 and system32 and still doesn't work. Also in the "Features and limitations" he gives 2 links that don't work.

Edit: o.k it finally downloaded and it stopped giving me the error.
Finally works

Edit 2:
MCTemporalDenoise - does some cleaning
MC_Spuds - cleans a lot. very nice.
__________________
Hardware: Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz, 2048 Ram, Geforce 9800GT.

Last edited by ExtraEye; 3rd February 2010 at 09:47.
ExtraEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 10:47   #13  |  Link
Vitaliy Gorbatenko
viterra
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: St. Peterburg, Russia
Posts: 142
not need to put this library in the System directory!! Suffice it to throw the rest of the plugins and add to you script:
SetWorkingDir ( "C: \ system \ Knot \ AviSynthPlugins \")
Form of records to load plug-ins also reduced:
LoadPlugin ( "undot.dll")
LoadPlugin ( "DGDecode.dll")
LoadPlugin ( "Decomb521VFR2Pass-P3.dll")
LoadPlugin ( "ColorMatrix.dll")
Vitaliy Gorbatenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 21:19   #14  |  Link
Nightshiver
Quality Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Area 52
Posts: 597
I would not use AMVDeint. Never heard of it, and your source doesn't need it anyway. While DGIndex says that it's interlaced, it's also PAL, and stepping through it frame by frame reveals no interlacing at all. It is progressive.

MPEG2Source("D:\test1.d2v", cpu=0)
source = last
vectors = source.MVAnalyseMulti(refframes=3, pel=2, overlap=4, sharp=1, idx=1)
source.MVDegrainMulti(vectors,thSAD=800,idx=1)
LimitedSharpenFaster(ss_x=1.8, ss_y=1.8, smode=3, strength=180, overshoot=1, undershoot=1)
Tweak(cont=1.1,sat=1.1,bright=0, hue=0)
crop( 12, 0, -8, 0)
Spline36Resize(720,544)
Nightshiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 21:45   #15  |  Link
ExtraEye
Registered User
 
ExtraEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 166
"MVAnalyseMulti" - gives me error
__________________
Hardware: Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz, 2048 Ram, Geforce 9800GT.
ExtraEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 22:12   #16  |  Link
Nightshiver
Quality Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Area 52
Posts: 597
That's because you're using the new mvtools. You need the version by josey_wells: http://www.mediafire.com/?nndnztohoze
Nightshiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2010, 22:30   #17  |  Link
ExtraEye
Registered User
 
ExtraEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightshiver View Post
That's because you're using the new mvtools. You need the version by josey_wells: http://www.mediafire.com/?nndnztohoze
thank you. It works now. I'm encoding now (still encoding since Thursday).
__________________
Hardware: Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz, 2048 Ram, Geforce 9800GT.
ExtraEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2010, 04:21   #18  |  Link
thetoof
Sleepy overworked fellow
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maple syrup's homeland
Posts: 933
I had this uber slow speed issue too before - try setting a higher setmemorymax and you should notice a change.
__________________
AnimeIVTC() - v2.00
-http://boinc.berkeley.edu/-
Let all geeks use their incredibly powerful comps for the greater good (no, no, it won't slow your filtering/encoding :p)
thetoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2016, 16:40   #19  |  Link
TCmullet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkalwaitis View Post
the FFTW3.dll should be in the FFT3dfilter files.

http://avisynth.org.ru/fft3dfilter/fft3dfilter.html
Not only is the .ru site down now, but wherever I found the zip file for FFT3DFilter, it did not contain the FFTW3.dll file.

(BUT, the html doc file within it DID highlight the need to have FFTW3.dll in the system path.)
TCmullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2016, 22:02   #20  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,341
see http://avisynth.nl/users/fizick/fft3...t3dfilter.html
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.