Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th January 2008, 16:02   #21  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgz View Post
do those encoders and audio codecs support multi-thread?
Multi-threading support is not a question of Avidemux, it depends totally on the individual encoder! For example "x264" has awesome multi-threading support (100% load on all four cores of a Quadcore). At the same time the multi-threading support in "Xvid" is very limited (compared to x264). About the ffmpeg/libavcodec encoders: I'm not sure, but at least the MPEG-2 encoders seems to use two cores...

Note: In Avidemux you can configure the number of threads separately for each encoder.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 19:39   #22  |  Link
cheshire2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
any idea on putting a dvd thru this ?
cheshire2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 21:23   #23  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheshire2k View Post
any idea on putting a dvd thru this ?
Please express your question in a way it can be answered

Avidemux can read VOB files (as found on DVD's) as well as create compliant MPEG-2 files (for burning onto DVD).
But Avidemux is neither a DVD ripping software nor a DVD authoring/burning software...

What exactly do you want to do?


[EDIT]

Maybe those guides can help you to get a start:
* http://www.avidemux.org/admForum/viewtopic.php?id=3469
* http://www.avidemux.org/admForum/viewtopic.php?id=3570


[EDITē]

Avidemux cannot read ISO files, nor can it read the video directly from DVD discs!
You need to use a ripping software (DVDFab Decrypter, DVD Decrypter, AnyDVD, etc.) to get the VOB files on your Hard Drive.
Then simply open the first VOB of the main movie (e.g. VTS_01_1.VOB) in Avidemux via "File" -> "Open".
If Avidemux asks for appending several files, then say "Yes". If it asks for indexing the MPEG file, say "Yes" again...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 14th February 2008 at 21:45.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 15:57   #24  |  Link
cheshire2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
sorry my bad It kept coming up with permission denied on reading the iso mounted to a virtual drive so I riped the dvd to a folder instead and works but takessssssssss FOREVER lastnite I set it running at 10pm 2 pass 1381 bitrate no audio max refs 3 with 3 filters and its still going now today at 2.56pm any reason why its taking forever ?.
cheshire2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2008, 23:42   #25  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,566
Your computer's too slow?
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2008, 23:57   #26  |  Link
cheshire2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
:P i dont know why but on fairuse on full settings or using the same commands in the codec settings it only takes 8 hours to convert maybe 10 but ony this its taking forver
cheshire2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2008, 04:53   #27  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
I can assure you, that Avidemux isn't noticeable slower (or faster) than other video editors.
The bottleneck will be the encoder anyway (well, unless you use really heavy filters).
And since Avidemux is using x264 for H.264 encoding, there won't be any difference to other applications using x264.
The same applies to Xvid for MPEG-4 ASP encoding.

So there are basically two possible reasons why encoding speed is significant slower:
You either use different encoder settings (even if you didn't notice) or you use different filters...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 17th February 2008 at 04:58.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 17:28   #28  |  Link
cheshire2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
Is it me or is go faster when you select priority to below normal ?
cheshire2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 17:35   #29  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheshire2k View Post
Is it me or is go faster when you select priority to below normal ?
You still have fun posting in the Sticky/FAQ thread, eh?


To answer your question:

It doesn't make any sens to get "faster" encoding speed by lowering the process priority of the encoding application!
Lowering the priority of other applications could indeed speed-up the encoding - in certain cases. But I guess that's not what you meant, right?


For information:

Process priorities only take effect when there are several processes running at the same time (processes with high CPU time consumption).
And of course only if there are more processes/threads running than CPU Cores. Otherwise each process/thread can happily run on it's own core.
So as long as your are running Avidemux only and don't do other CPU intensive tasks concurrently, the effect of priorities will be near zero

I personally prefer "below normal" priority for Avidemux, so I can do other things (listen to music, surf the internet, and so on) while I'm encoding.
Those lightweight tasks won't "steal" too much CPU time from Avidemux, so encoding speed won't be effected in a noticeable way...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 20th February 2008 at 17:58.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2008, 11:22   #30  |  Link
freedom4651
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
How can i add ASS subtitle in Avidemux without getting error ?
my subtitle file contain multiple style and japanese chracter. This file is fine when played using DirectVobSub, but when i try to make it hardsubbed using Avidemux, it always says "Cannot read_file for *D:\project\Natsuyaki Miyabi - Natsu Remember You.ass*"

Log file included
Attached Files
File Type: txt admlog.txt (24.3 KB, 62 views)
freedom4651 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2008, 14:17   #31  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
@freedom4651
If you find a bug, you can file a bug report at http://bugs.avidemux.org/
You should also provide a sample file to reproduce the problem...

BTW: Instead of attaching your log, which requires approval, better use [CODE] tags in your post
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 27th February 2008 at 14:21.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2008, 08:08   #32  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,397
Feature request:

If Avidemux imports a Matroska file with native MPEG4-ASP video (e.g. built with MeGUI using xvid-encraw), it assumes FourCC = DIVX on exporting it to AVI. That may be "risky" when MPEG4-ASP features were set up in xvid-encraw which are beyond the abilities of DivX.

I'd like to see an option (e.g. in the "Input" settings) where I can chose a FourCC being assumed for "V_MPEG4/ISO/ASP" MKV imports (DIVX, DX50, XVID, maybe MP4V/LMP4/FMP4?). Possibly one for MPEG4-AVC too (although saving AVC AVIs may not be encouraged...).
__

P.S.: Would it even be detectable if DivX may not be able to decode some ASP video stream, and XviD (ffdshow) may be required?

Last edited by LigH; 21st June 2008 at 08:12.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2008, 12:07   #33  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
If Avidemux imports a Matroska file with native MPEG4-ASP video (e.g. built with MeGUI using xvid-encraw), it assumes FourCC = DIVX on exporting it to AVI. That may be "risky" when MPEG4-ASP features were set up in xvid-encraw which are beyond the abilities of DivX.
AFAIK Avidemux uses "DIVX" as default FourCC for MPEG-4 ASP in AVI in order to ensure Standalone player compatibility (some won't accept other FourCC codes).

Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
I'd like to see an option (e.g. in the "Input" settings) where I can chose a FourCC being assumed for "V_MPEG4/ISO/ASP" MKV imports (DIVX, DX50, XVID, maybe MP4V/LMP4/FMP4?). Possibly one for MPEG4-AVC too (although saving AVC AVIs may not be encouraged...).
__

P.S.: Would it even be detectable if DivX may not be able to decode some ASP video stream, and XviD (ffdshow) may be required?
I think you have a much better chance to get that implemented by posting in the Avidemux forum:
http://www.avidemux.org/admForum/

But I think the developers are working on Avidemux 2.5 right now, so they might not be willing to add new features at the moment...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 21st June 2008 at 15:15.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2008, 14:12   #34  |  Link
fatinmidage
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
a powerful tool,great~
fatinmidage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 05:26   #35  |  Link
prettylove99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
it is a awesome video edited application
would u plz tell me how to add filters to Avidemux
many thanks in advance
best regards
prettylove99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 12:40   #36  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by prettylove99 View Post
it is a awesome video edited application
would u plz tell me how to add filters to Avidemux
many thanks in advance
best regards
Avidemux uses "built-in" filters, so all the filters you see in the pre-compiled builds cannot be changed.
So you would have to edit the source code (implement the new filter) and re-compile Avidemux.

However Avidemux now supports Filter-Plugins, so new video filters can be added via plugins easily.
This way re-compiling Avidemux is not needed to add a filter. All you need is the Plugin DLL...

Another option: Use Avisynth input (AVSProxy GUI) and be able to use all Avisynth filters
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 21:50   #37  |  Link
prettylove99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
thanks for your feedback
prettylove99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008, 23:24   #38  |  Link
prettylove99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
sorry to bother u again
i am a beginner here
the question is that when i try to use the avsproxy gui to open a avisynth script( F:\MTV\1.AVS) it failed
the message is as below:
AVIsynth has encountered a problem ,please see the logo for detailed information!
this may be caused by a missing plugin,an invalid setting ,an imporper script or an unsupported input file.

AvsSocket Proxy, derivated from avs2yuv by Loren Merritt
Loading Avisynth.dll
Avisynth.dll loaded
Env created
Importing..

Avisynth error:
DirectShowSource: RenderFile, the filter graph manager won't talk to me
(C:\DOCUME~1\PRETTY~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\dshow_82262283.avs, line 1)
Initializing WinSock
WinSock ok
Socket bound to port 9999
Waiting for client to connect...

> Exit Code: 1
prettylove99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2008, 12:41   #39  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,196
"DirectShowSource: RenderFile, the filter graph manager won't talk to me"

You try to use DirectShowSource() but no suitable DirectShow filter for your source video is installed on your system!
Either install the suitable DirectShow decoders/encoders or try FFmpegSource as an alternative...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2008, 17:39   #40  |  Link
prettylove99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
many thanks for your reply
but i can open this script(F:\MTV\1.AVS) by Virtualdub directly
prettylove99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avidemux, faq

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.