Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th March 2024, 07:09   #101  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,086
Hi Reset,

I did a 3-1 with the latest everything, and I'm not sure if this is important, or what it means:-

Code:
Input #0, avisynth, from 'D:\Dovi_Temp_MP4\temp.folder77\script.avs':
  Duration: 00:58:48.07, start: 0.000000, bitrate: N/A
  Stream #0:0: Video: rawvideo (Y3[11][10] / 0xA0B3359), yuv420p10le(tv, bt2020nc/bt2020/smpte2084, progressive), 3840x2160, 23.98 fps, 23.98 tbr, 23.98 tbn
Stream mapping:
  Stream #0:0 -> #0:0 (rawvideo (native) -> prores (prores_ks))
Press [q] to stop, [?] for help
Output #0, mov, to 'D:\Dovi_Temp_MP4\temp.folder77\Game of Thrones S01 E01_prores.422.mov':
  Metadata:
    encoder         : Lavf60.16.100
  Stream #0:0: Video: prores (HQ) (apch / 0x68637061), yuv422p10le(tv, bt2020nc/bt2020/smpte2084, progressive), 3840x2160, q=2-31, 200 kb/s, 23.98 fps, 24k tbn
    Metadata:
      encoder         : Lavc60.31.102 prores_ks
[out#0/mov @ 0000013ad8ed2600] video:34326861kB audio:0kB subtitle:0kB other streams:0kB global headers:0kB muxing overhead: 0.002049%
frame=84589 fps= 71 q=-0.0 Lsize=34327565kB time=00:58:48.02 bitrate=79707.9kbits/s speed=2.98x
Copyright (c) 2013-2024 Dolby Laboratories, Inc. All Rights Reserved
03/05/2024/16:51:51.728000000 CPU: INFO 13th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-13900KF (GenuineIntel) [ mmx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 sse41 sse42 avx avx2 fma ]
03/05/2024/16:51:51.755000000 plugin_manager: WARNING plugin does not contain dlb_plugin_file_io_init_v1
03/05/2024/16:51:51.813000000 plugin_manager: WARNING plugin does not contain dlb_plugin_file_io_init_v1
03/05/2024/16:51:51.899000000 plugin_manager: WARNING plugin does not contain dlb_plugin_file_io_init_v1
03/05/2024/16:51:51.937000000 plugin_manager: WARNING plugin does not contain dlb_plugin_file_io_init_v1
03/05/2024/16:51:51.956000000 plugin_manager: WARNING plugin does not contain dlb_plugin_file_io_init_v1
03/05/2024/16:51:51.995000000 plugin_manager: WARNING plugin does not contain dlb_plugin_file_io_init_v1
03/05/2024/16:51:52.109000000 plugin_manager: WARNING plugin does not contain dlb_plugin_file_io_init_v1
03/05/2024/16:51:52.204000000 plugin_manager: WARNING plugin does not contain dlb_plugin_file_io_init_v1
03/05/2024/16:51:52.365000000 plugin_manager: WARNING plugin does not contain dlb_plugin_file_io_init_v1
03/05/2024/16:51:52.459000000 cm_analyze: INFO Shot cut detection is disabled when shot list is used
03/05/2024/16:51:52.460000000 cm_analyze: INFO                Source: 'file:///D:/Dovi_Temp_MP4/temp.folder77/Game of Thrones S01 E01_prores.422.mov'
03/05/2024/16:51:52.460000000 cm_analyze: INFO        Master Display: 1000-nit, BT.2020, D65, ST.2084, Full
03/05/2024/16:51:52.460000000 cm_analyze: INFO              Src Info: '3840x2160x3 u16 interleaved 422 le tight 0-84588 23.976fps top_left pq ycbcr_bt2020 video bt2020'
03/05/2024/16:51:52.460000000 cm_analyze: INFO                Frames: 0 - 84588
03/05/2024/16:51:52.460000000 cm_analyze: INFO            Frame rate: 24000/1001
03/05/2024/16:51:52.460000000 cm_analyze: INFO     Algorithm Version: 4
03/05/2024/16:51:52.460000000 cm_analyze: INFO           XML Version: 4.0.2
I'm going to have to change what drives I do this on, NVME's preferably, doing in on old "spinner's" takes forever
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 12:57   #102  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 277
Yes I've noticed the warning when using the latest CM-Analyze, I don't think it matters. The output is the same as before.
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 15:36   #103  |  Link
pancserzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 131
Hi, thanks for these scripts. I have two questions:

1. Can you tell me what do I need to run to convert a P7 mkv file to a P8 mkv?
2. Do I need to use MakeMKV to crate the source MKV from a BDMV folder, or I can use mkvmerge with the biggest m2ts file in STREAM? Is there any difference, other than the chapters?
pancserzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 16:10   #104  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by pancserzso View Post
Hi, thanks for these scripts. I have two questions:

1. Can you tell me what do I need to run to convert a P7 mkv file to a P8 mkv?
2. Do I need to use MakeMKV to crate the source MKV from a BDMV folder, or I can use mkvmerge with the biggest m2ts file in STREAM? Is there any difference, other than the chapters?
Hi,

For any P7 source(mkv or bdmv) to Profile 8, use workflow 4-1.
For BDMV input, you should input the main playlist file and not the largest M2ts.

see tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBUL2gjhqEE
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 16:14   #105  |  Link
pancserzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
Hi,

For any P7 source(mkv or bdmv) to Profile 8, use workflow 4-1.
For BDMV input, you should input the main playlist file and not the largest M2ts.

see tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBUL2gjhqEE
Thanks a lot, video is perfect! About CM4, if my TV supports it (LG G2), then I should use rem_cmv4=NO right?
pancserzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 16:55   #106  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 277
You should not remove cmv4.0 unless maybe if you use the AppleTV 4K with Infuse (non-beta).
Cmv4.0 has superior tone mapping to the old cmv2.9 algo
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 20:49   #107  |  Link
giyo279
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2023
Posts: 2
Any thoughts on NVENC vs x265 for dovi_baking? I know encoding settings can get pretty advanced, but are the default HDR_settings set for mostly transparent encodes?
giyo279 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 21:21   #108  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 277
I'm no HEVC encode setting expert but as far as I can tell, if you use x265 with the script default settings, it should produce something transparent but depending on how much FEL adds, you might end up with a file larger than your source.
For NVENC, I don't know but from the quick tests I did, it seems to produce decent quality.
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 21:24   #109  |  Link
CineManiac
Registered User
 
CineManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Location: Seattle
Posts: 10
Hey, have you had a chance to check if the Infuse beta implementation of cmv4.0 has the same issues as the Plex version on ATV?
CineManiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 21:29   #110  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 277
Not yet, I have to get in the beta test group first but I'll definitely check it out.
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 21:59   #111  |  Link
CineManiac
Registered User
 
CineManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Location: Seattle
Posts: 10
Oh man, I'll have to re-inject everything with cmv4
CineManiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 22:15   #112  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by CineManiac View Post
Oh man, I'll have to re-inject everything with cmv4
haha, yes but it's worth it.
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 22:56   #113  |  Link
Gatorman3385
Registered User
 
Gatorman3385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Posts: 12
It seems my madVR install is broken. I've tried running "install.bat" as admin. 6-2 gives me the error,

Code:
Connecting LAV Video Decoder to madVR failed.
MPC-HC has stop using madVR as well. Any thoghts?

Last edited by Gatorman3385; 5th March 2024 at 22:59.
Gatorman3385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 23:37   #114  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 277
Yes, it happened to me on 3 different PCs a couple of days ago, and I don't understand how this is possible. It must be a Windows update that broke something, idk...
Re-download the tool pack and overwrite the madvr folder, which should fix it.
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 23:51   #115  |  Link
Gatorman3385
Registered User
 
Gatorman3385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
Yes, it happened to me on 3 different PCs a couple of days ago, and I don't understand how this is possible. It must be a Windows update that broke something, idk...
Re-download the tool pack and overwrite the madvr folder, which should fix it.
That worked. Thanks.
Gatorman3385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2024, 02:03   #116  |  Link
pancserzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 131
I'm using a M1 mac and the only way to run the scripts is through a Windows ARM install in UTM, +1 more layer inside Windows to do the CPU emulation. The files can also only be shared by a loopback network share, which is super super slow, about 12 MB/s only!

The native SSD under macOS on the other hand is super fast, a 100 GB demux only takes a few seconds.

So I've spend a few hours trying to understand what's the heart of P7 -> P8 conversion.

Do I understand it correctly that it's basically these 3 commands?

Code:
ffmpeg -i $MKVFILE -c:v copy -bsf:v hevc_mp4toannexb -f hevc - | dovi_tool demux -

dovi_tool -m 2 mux --bl BL.hevc --el EL.hevc --discard -o P8.hevc

mkvmerge --output $MKVFILE-P8.mkv --compression 0:none --default-duration 0:24000/1001p P8.hevc --no-video --compression 1:none $MKVFILE
And do I understand it correctly that the last command can be simplified into:
Code:
mkvmerge --output $MKVFILE-P8mod.mkv P8.hevc --no-video $MKVFILE
Is this correct?
pancserzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2024, 04:12   #117  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 277
Seems right but you should have a look at @nekno script for MAC

https://github.com/nekno/DV7toDV8
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2024, 04:14   #118  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
Yes I've noticed the warning when using the latest CM-Analyze, I don't think it matters. The output is the same as before.
Can confirm that this IS the case

v5.4.1 does not display those WARNINGS.

v5.5.0 does
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2024, 04:39   #119  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,086
8-1-1

Has something changed with the audio conversions ??

I was sure that I had set it that when I encode audio, regardless of it's original bitrate, to would come out either as 1024 or 1536, but it's unchanged, keeping it's original bitrate.

I'll have to dig deeper.

EDIT:- I just figured it out, I wasn't adding the IGNOREBITRATE in the file name

Forgive me if I've asked this before (I have a very short term memory, sometimes).

I thought that 3-1 would encode any audio to EC3 at the bitrate set in the .bat.
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..

Last edited by TDS; 6th March 2024 at 06:44.
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2024, 07:18   #120  |  Link
speedy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
You should not remove cmv4.0 unless maybe if you use the AppleTV 4K with Infuse (non-beta).
Cmv4.0 has superior tone mapping to the old cmv2.9 algo
Quote:
Originally Posted by CineManiac View Post
Hey, have you had a chance to check if the Infuse beta implementation of cmv4.0 has the same issues as the Plex version on ATV?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
Not yet, I have to get in the beta test group first but I'll definitely check it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CineManiac View Post
Oh man, I'll have to re-inject everything with cmv4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
haha, yes but it's worth it.
Infuse 7.7.2 beta support for CMv4 has been great in my early testing. The only downside is that I'm now likely going to want to go back through a number of my favorite releases and convert re-inject CMv4 metadata
speedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
batch scripts, dolby vision processing, dovi_scripts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.