Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th February 2024, 10:17   #861  |  Link
ripburnlearn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ritsuka View Post
The latest HandBrake version will preserve HDR10+ and Dolby Vision when using the x265 10-bit encoder. So either something went wrong or who knows, it's hard to say without additional info.
Very very interesting. Looks like you pointed me in the right direction. I used H.265 10-Bit (NVEnc) instead of H.265 10-Bit (x265). My GPU compresses in 30-50 minutes rather than a bunch of hours via x265. That's why I used NVEnc.

But testing out both of them using the preview encoding option on Handbrake (encoding a 5 second clip) and dragging that output into MediaInfo, the NVEnc is stripping out the HDR10+ (SMPTE ST 2094 App 4, Version 1, HDR10+ Profile B compatible) and reverting it down to HDR10 (SMPTE ST 2086, HDR10 compatible)

I even tried fooling around with the "Filters tab" and turned on Colourspace to "BT.2020". That definitely was no good. All the HDR10 data gets removed in the section in MediaInfo.

For future time travelers.
Set Video Encoder to H.265 10-bit (x265)
Set Encoder Profile to Main 10, Encoder level to 5.1
In the "Summary" tab make sure "Passthru Common Metadata" is checked.

That worked.
ripburnlearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2024, 10:39   #862  |  Link
bobowb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Posts: 10
So i tried to remux the hybrid .mkv file with newer version of tsMuxer into .ts file and finally my LG C8 plays the file into DV mode ! Now the only problem is that for some reason the .ts file rewind forward and backwards dont work and the movie has wrong duration time . Can this be fixed somehow ?

Last edited by bobowb; 7th February 2024 at 10:51.
bobowb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2024, 11:10   #863  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
One thing that may help is checking the timestamps of the .hevc stream with ffprobe. If there's something weird going on you can rewrite it with ffmpeg genpts.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2024, 11:38   #864  |  Link
rwill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobowb View Post
So i tried to remux the hybrid .mkv file with newer version of tsMuxer into .ts file and finally my LG C8 plays the file into DV mode ! Now the only problem is that for some reason the .ts file rewind forward and backwards dont work and the movie has wrong duration time . Can this be fixed somehow ?
Transport Streams do not have an Index so they are not seek-able and their total duration is unknown unless parsed completely.
rwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2024, 11:52   #865  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobowb View Post
So i tried to remux the hybrid .mkv file with newer version of tsMuxer into .ts file and finally my LG C8 plays the file into DV mode ! Now the only problem is that for some reason the .ts file rewind forward and backwards dont work and the movie has wrong duration time . Can this be fixed somehow ?
Hi "bob",

I have been playing around with all this stuff, the last couple of days, too.

So, try an .m2ts, mine play OK, but the seeking back or fwd, works, but there is a very slight but noticeable delay before things move again.

I read somewhere, that it was suggested to encode the .mkv with x265 with --uhd-bd in the encoding instructions / profile.

It overwrite's some setting's that might already exist in the command line, but it's to a "standard" !!!

So I tried that, and converting that -uhd-bd "fixed" .mkv to .m2ts, the seeking was so much better, but there is still a very, very slight delay, but SO much better.

I will trying a few different settings in the few days, so we'll see how that works out.
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2024, 13:17   #866  |  Link
bobowb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
Hi "bob",

...
Thanks for the help TDS . I still wonder is there any tool like tsMuxer - mp4muxer i guess that can convert the hybrid .mkv into .mp4 and set that dvhe Codec ID so the LG TV triggers the DV mode ? I have been watched a lot of .mp4 DV movies on this TV without any issues . Guess there wont be any problem with timestamp and rewind if the files is with .mp4 instead .ts ...

Last edited by bobowb; 7th February 2024 at 13:20.
bobowb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2024, 13:35   #867  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobowb View Post
Thanks for the help TDS . I still wonder is there any tool like tsMuxer - mp4muxer i guess that can convert the hybrid .mkv into .mp4 and set that dvhe Codec ID so the LG TV triggers the DV mode ? I have been watched a lot of .mp4 DV movies on this TV without any issues . Guess there wont be any problem with timestamp and rewind if the files is with .mp4 instead .ts ...
So where are you getting these DV mp4's ???

I cannot get any DV's to work, unless it's .ts or .m2ts !!!
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2024, 20:01   #868  |  Link
Nico8583
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 851
Hi, what is the best way to demux elementaries HDR10+ / DoVi streams in order to use it with this script ? TsMuxer ? Thank you
Nico8583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2024, 10:29   #869  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobowb View Post
I still wonder is there any tool like tsMuxer - mp4muxer i guess that can convert the hybrid .mkv into .mp4 and set that dvhe Codec ID so the LG TV triggers the DV mode ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
So where are you getting these DV mp4's ?
I cannot get any DV's to work, unless it's .ts or .m2ts
First off, I don't have a LG tv so can't try. I am however more into mp4 lately.
I don't know how far mp4 implementation has reached in -QfG- tools, but you may wanna try dovi scripts from RESET_9999. They make use of mp4muxer and mp4box (cli tools). Resulting mp4 files do carry Codec ID dvhe.

For LG C8, MakeMKV forums show info about DoVi mp4 support and under what conditions several DoVi profiles must be muxed. Where first audiotrack being lossy is of importance, it says.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...#gid=427220017 Row 14

https://github.com/R3S3t9999/DoVi_Scripts/releases

As for these scripts, they do rely on a bunch of tools, which you have to get and put in a tools folder

Last edited by von Suppé; 8th February 2024 at 10:58.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2024, 11:36   #870  |  Link
Fuso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobowb View Post
Thank you very much for the info ! Please can you share which tool (source) and command do you use to demux such hybrid .mkv files into .mp4 (.m2ts) dvhe Codec ID ?
The other not-so-official way to change the Codec ID is to use HxD to edit the converted mp4.

Open the mp4 in HxD, use the Find (Ctrl+F) function and search for hev1 as a Text-string, then simply write dvhe over hev1 and Save the file.
Fuso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2024, 12:24   #871  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
https://github.com/R3S3t9999/DoVi_Scripts/releases

As for these scripts, they do rely on a bunch of tools, which you have to get and put in a tools folder
I did all this, earlier this week, and there IS quite a lot to get & install, (probably close to 3Gb) and put in the correct place, edit a few things so your hard work goes to the correct place, so you don't have to go looking for it.

Only today I had some success
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2024, 12:26   #872  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuso View Post
The other not-so-official way to change the Codec ID is to use HxD to edit the converted mp4.

Open the mp4 in HxD, use the Find (Ctrl+F) function and search for hev1 as a Text-string, then simply write dvhe over hev1 and Save the file.
Will definitely try that
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2024, 12:40   #873  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuso View Post
The other not-so-official way to change the Codec ID is to use HxD to edit the converted mp4.

Open the mp4 in HxD, use the Find (Ctrl+F) function and search for hev1 as a Text-string, then simply write dvhe over hev1 and Save the file.
Nice! Didn't know. Thanks for this
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2024, 13:09   #874  |  Link
cool advertise
Registered User
 
cool advertise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuso View Post
The other not-so-official way to change the Codec ID is to use HxD to edit the converted mp4.

Open the mp4 in HxD, use the Find (Ctrl+F) function and search for hev1 as a Text-string, then simply write dvhe over hev1 and Save the file.
So from an mp4 file with dolby vision, it is sufficient to edit the 4 letters of the Codec ID with a hexadecimal editor, to change e.g. the compatibility between the LG TV or the Samsung TV or for any other device I suppose... And it seems to me the easiest method at the moment... Thank you also from me for this information.
cool advertise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2024, 13:45   #875  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 639
A quick test indeed results in MediaInfo showing Codec ID: dvhe and Codec ID/Info: High Efficiency Video Coding with Dolby Vision. Looks good.
I did use "Replace all" btw. Nice to see that HxD backs-up the source mp4 as ***.bak
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2024, 13:58   #876  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
A quick test indeed results in MediaInfo showing Codec ID: dvhe and Codec ID/Info: High Efficiency Video Coding with Dolby Vision. Looks good.
I did use "Replace all" btw. Nice to see that HxD backs-up the source mp4 as ***.bak
For what it's worth, would this work, and/or make a DV mkv play ??

I will try this myself, but I thought I'd ask, anyway.

UPDATE:- Well, as expected, I can't get this work, I even tried the "Replace All", it found 3 instances, but nothing got changed in Mediainfo.

Might the .mp4 I'm working with
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..

Last edited by TDS; 9th February 2024 at 04:59.
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2024, 18:23   #877  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 639
As said, I don't have a LG tv so can't tell. For my standalone players it makes no difference.
The outcome looks good on MediaInfo and me learning more about mp4, it's nice to know about this hex-editing way.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2024, 08:26   #878  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
I can't get this work, I even tried the "Replace All", it found 3 instances, but nothing got changed in Mediainfo.

Might the .mp4 I'm working with
Can you provide a link to the mp4 - or a small part?
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2024, 22:53   #879  |  Link
AgentXXL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
Attn -QfG-,

I have started using this tool again, after a long break, and the last build I used is #53

So I grabbed the latest build (#63.fixed) the other day, and when just simply wanting to extract the rpu.bin, it fails , however, #53 does the job, no issue

So I just got #60 & #62 (also noticed that there is a significant increase in the file size between #60 & #61.1, and then again between # 61.5 & #62.

#60 worked, #62 failed.

Am I missing something, or do I just need to keep using the older builds ??

Just fyi, that's all.
The failures you're seeing indicate path problems - I've found that these tools often fail when there are spaces in the path and/or filename.

I'm still fighting with the newer releases as well. The context menu options aren't working for me anymore. I even tried a fresh Win11 VM and running the DDVT_Options.cmd file no longer adds the context menu entries. I've rolled back to version 61.5 and it seems to be working for me. I was able to manually add the registry keys to re-add the context menu items.

I'm suspecting it's something to do with Win11 and some security patch that now prevents adding context menu items. Anyone else experiencing this? If the 63-FIXED version is working for anyone via the context menus, would it be possible for you to export the registry keys that it has added?

Thanks!
AgentXXL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2024, 19:17   #880  |  Link
zomorf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Trying with the lastest FIXED 63 scripts. Loading a HDR file into the HYBRID script it doesn't recognise that it is HDR where I know it is...

this being the last portion of the filename... below...

1080p.NF.WEB-DL.DDP5.1.HDR.HEVC-NTb

it says "NO HDR File Chosen, HDR File must be set."

I had it working before in I think v0.61.5...

I'm a novice of this tool but I enjoyed the Hybrid script when it appeared...

Thanks...
__________________
lata,
zomorf

Last edited by zomorf; 14th February 2024 at 19:28.
zomorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.