Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th September 2023, 08:05   #701  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Couldn't get the files to switch on the DV mode, so I have to ask Sony if they can tell me which profiles are supported. I'm not keeping my hopes up too high because the support people may see the same information I see on their pages
Well, they never got back to me which does not surprise me, but I got a Homatics R box and the RPU injected encodes at least trigger Dolby Vision on the old Sony I have to try and see if the picture itself looks okay, I just tested on Death Wish which is probably not the best sample itself.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2023, 05:58   #702  |  Link
NeverExists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 22
does this tool allow hdr extraction? cause I have an SDR video stream from one file that I'm using, and HDR and Dolby Vision metadata from a web release.
NeverExists is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2023, 07:52   #703  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
If I'm not mistaken you can't just turn an SDR video into HDR by adding metadata. SDR uses 8-bit colors and HDR uses 10-bit ones, so the base video streams are completely different. That HDR/DV metadata just tells the display how to adjust its brightness.

Last edited by GodzilaAvenger; 11th September 2023 at 20:00.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2023, 17:34   #704  |  Link
Yosho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
How could we go about fixing:

Format : Timed Text
Muxing mode : sbtl
Codec ID : tx3g
Duration : 1 h 53 min
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 69 b/s
Frame rate : 0.409 FPS
Stream size : 57.3 KiB (0%)
Title : Traditional
Language : English
Service kind : Dubbed
Default : No
Forced : No

If original was:

Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Duration : 1 h 52 min
Bit rate : 63 b/s
Frame rate : 0.287 FPS
Count of elements : 1945
Stream size : 52.7 KiB (0%)
Title : Traditional
Language : Cantonese (Hant)
Default : No
Forced : No

Before conversion?

Is this an mp4box issue perhaps?
Yosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2023, 19:34   #705  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
I'm not sure if this thread is the right place to ask this question, as it doesn't deal with either subtitles or mp4box. You'd probably have better luck searching the forum or creating a new post.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2023, 02:49   #706  |  Link
Yosho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodzilaAvenger View Post
I'm not sure if this thread is the right place to ask this question, as it doesn't deal with either subtitles or mp4box. You'd probably have better luck searching the forum or creating a new post.
Oh, I see. I had thought this section was for the tool discussion, and help.
Yosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2023, 05:43   #707  |  Link
Arkana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 30
How do I add borders?
Arkana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2023, 17:27   #708  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 770
When injecting what is "Match L6 Metadata Change L6 Metadata to match Video"? Should it be yes or no?
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2023, 19:07   #709  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
It matches the RPU's L6 values to those of the video, which you can find using MediaInfo. I remember quietvoid saying L6 values don't really matter and I've also seen a lot of files just have it be set to 0 (the MaxCLL and MaxFALL values), so do with it as you please.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2023, 19:16   #710  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 770
I really like Dolby Vision, it seems like nothing matters in the settings, nothing you do can make it go wrong!
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2023, 22:19   #711  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123

Most of the time only L1 & L2 matter. L5 also matters if your playback device looks for it.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2023, 17:06   #712  |  Link
dkangel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 12
hello everybody
sorry for my bad english but it's not my native langage.
i have 2 files. one is DV 23.76fps and one is hdr 24fps with exactly the same frames.
the 24 fps have french langage so i would like to import DV into this file.
i read the previous thread and some guys says that the DV is not FPS dependent so i can just use it with dvtools hybrid.
but why is there an option to convert fps in hybrid script ?
thank you
dkangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2023, 05:22   #713  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 639
It is true that RPU works with framenumbers and framerate does not matter.
The option to change framerate may come in handy for e.g. cases where you want to be able to sync video with a certain audiotrack that comes from another source with a different framerate. Especially where you can't stretch/shrink the audio, such as Atmos (at least, not with freeware). I've done it several times to sync 24 fps (DoVi or not) video to 23.976 audio or vice versa.

I've never used this option in QfG's script as I always rewrite timestamps for HEVC streams manually with a ffmpeg.exe commandline. I'm educationally guessing QfG would make use of this too in his script. Maybe he cares to confirm.

Last edited by von Suppé; 21st September 2023 at 05:24.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2023, 15:54   #714  |  Link
dkangel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 12
oh thank you for your answer, it's more clear for me.

but if i understand you correctly, it's possible to change fps of a video without recoding ?
dkangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2023, 19:01   #715  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 770
Of course, but the audio goes out of sync. You have to re-encode the audio.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2023, 19:56   #716  |  Link
dkangel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 12
ok i understand.
thank you very much
dkangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2023, 08:30   #717  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
...I always rewrite timestamps for HEVC streams manually with a ffmpeg.exe commandline. I'm educationally guessing QfG would make use of this too in his script. Maybe he cares to confirm.

I think my guess is right. Not having parsed the whole script, I did find the "-bsf:v hevc_metadata=tick_rate=" argument in the DDVT_HYBRID.cmd script.


Should you want to manually change framerate of a hevc stream, here's two examples. Create a .cmd file with Notepad and type following string for rewriting timestamps for "23.976" fps:

ffmpeg -i input.hevc -c copy -bsf:v hevc_metadata=tick_rate=(24000/1001):num_ticks_poc_diff_one=1 output.hevc



For 24 fps type:

ffmpeg -i input.hevc -c copy -bsf:v hevc_metadata=tick_rate=24:num_ticks_poc_diff_one=1 output.hevc



Where obviously "input.hevc" is the source-stream and "output.hevc" will be the result. Put the cmd file with a copy of ffmpeg.exe in same folder where input-stream is and run.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2023, 20:57   #718  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 246
Quote:
but why is there an option to convert fps in hybrid script ?
Simply for dubbing. I'm from Germany and i must dub sometimes US movies. If i have a German BD with 24 FPS, but the Hybrid stream is 23,976 fps, i change the fps of the stream.
This function is not needed to adjust DV timestamps.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2023, 01:08   #719  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 770
Is it possible to convert those strange purple looking Dolby Vision files to DV that is compatible with HDR?
Dolby Vision, Version 1.0, dvhe.05.06, BL+RPU
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2023, 07:42   #720  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
They use different color spaces, so the practical answer is no. Look at earlier posts for more info.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.