Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd September 2022, 18:04   #63561  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
This is why their prices aren't cannibalizing the 30 series.
Just on the technology side of things, most aren't buying $900+ GPUs so 99% of the market is just drooling waiting for second hand 30 series to sell :P

On another note, is anyone else experiencing the odd frame stutter?
got a 3060, on 516.94 CPU/GPU queues 16/8, D3D11, Windowed 1 frame in advance. Flush/Flush & wait/Don't flush/Don't flush
Would be nice to nail this down but I've been living with it for a while.. Windows 11/somewhat recent driver + 30 series issues? idk..
It's not like MadVR will be updated to resolve anything any time soon, MadVR 1.0 the myth, the legend..
Is it still problem free for most?
play around with the power settings it's most likely throttling because it thinks it can get away with a lower power state.

and all GPU menufactora are pretty "bad".
the difference is asus is failing constantly the 5700 xt strig and tuf where not funny...
but so is EVGA the exploding cards where also a sight to behold.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2022, 19:06   #63562  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
play around with the power settings it's most likely throttling because it thinks it can get away with a lower power state.
This is a good suggestion, for a long time on Windows 10 (maybe still is an issue) people with high refresh rate monitors were complaining because they were losing FPS and performance after a "security patch".

The suggested workaround from MS was to set "Maximum Performance" in the power settings instead of "Balanced".

Would be interesting to see if this helps also.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2022, 21:23   #63563  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 371
Usually I would agree to set max power profile but there are significant power consumption gains to be had by letting it downclock. I'm watching probably around 6hrs/day video content in MadVR and web browser, so the power and heat savings adds up with the crazy electricity prices. Playing 1080p24 h.265 @ 4mbps with DXVA2 decoding is downclocking to 600mhz on GTX1070 (max clock = 1600mhz). GPU usage is only 24% so it could downclock to 300mhz @ 50% GPU usage probably, but maybe then it would be more vulnerable to dropped frames?

edit: actually even it saved 40watts * 6hrs / day * 365 days , it's about 87kwh per year which I guess isn't that much to pay for smoother performance if you're having issues.

Last edited by flossy_cake; 22nd September 2022 at 21:33.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 03:15   #63564  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,545
I'll have a play then. It's pretty random It's generally more than just a single frame too, it does very much feel like it's a clocking issue. Don't want to set max performance as thats not an elegant solution, so I might just see if maximizing the GPU queue helps.

Andor has some eye candy btw.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 06:38   #63565  |  Link
VHT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
Hello, Question about HDR settings and display peak luminance (nits) value. Do I put in eg. peak 3% window value or 100% fullscreen values?
VHT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 06:57   #63566  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,518
with an unstable device it's unlikely to get accurate results so the 3% one could results in more accurate results if it is in the 400 nits range if the 3% is close to common knee points it unlikely to be every be used for real content in this case i would use a lower number.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 08:49   #63567  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by VHT View Post
Hello, Question about HDR settings and display peak luminance (nits) value. Do I put in eg. peak 3% window value or 100% fullscreen values?
If your display has ABL then I presume you'd want to pick a window size that represents the APL of typical video content. From memory most movies are around 15% APL so a 15% window might suit.

Last edited by flossy_cake; 23rd September 2022 at 09:20.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 14:33   #63568  |  Link
VHT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by flossy_cake View Post
If your display has ABL then I presume you'd want to pick a window size that represents the APL of typical video content. From memory most movies are around 15% APL so a 15% window might suit.
Thanks! Will try with my OLED display. How about with projectors?
VHT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 20:50   #63569  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by VHT View Post
How about with projectors?
I have zero experience with projectors, but if it uses a technology which has an ABL that reduces peak brightness as APL increases, then I presume the same general logic would apply, unless there is some other behaviour specific to projectors that I'm not aware of.

And I've just realised that figure of 15% I gave you was for SDR movies -- the APL of HDR movies can vary with each movie having a different MaxFALL (Maximum Frame Average Light Level). I'm not sure how to take that into account... perhaps we could take an average MaxFALL across a random selection of movies?
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2022, 21:12   #63570  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 371
Actually MaxFALL doesn't seem very useful either — imagine if there was a fade to white scene that pushes the MaxFALL to a high value.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2022, 22:20   #63571  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by flossy_cake View Post
Actually MaxFALL doesn't seem very useful either imagine if there was a fade to white scene that pushes the MaxFALL to a high value.
A fade to white would likely fade to diffuse (SDR) white, not max brightness HDR white, though. You don't want to blind people, assuming a screen could actually do that.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2022, 22:46   #63572  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
A fade to white would likely fade to diffuse (SDR) white, not max brightness HDR white, though. You don't want to blind people, assuming a screen could actually do that.
Yeah that's true, and as quoted here diffuse white is 200 nits -- higher than I would expect the APL would be across the entire movie.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2022, 02:56   #63573  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
A fade to white would likely fade to diffuse (SDR) white, not max brightness HDR white, though. You don't want to blind people, assuming a screen could actually do that.
I've seen some of those though, e.g. in the film Mother! at 1:52:10 there's a fade to 533 nits white. The rest of the film is extremely dark, so I think the author's intention is precisely to blind the audience.
__________________
AviSynth AiUpscale
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2022, 04:31   #63574  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 371
Random question: how come when I set [deint=off] with 29.97i 3:2 cadence video I'm not seeing mice teeth?
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2022, 06:19   #63575  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,518
because it is 2:2 or 6:4 anime or because you have software deint on.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2022, 07:46   #63576  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
because it is 2:2 or 6:4 anime or because you have software deint on.
I do not have software deint on & LAV Video Decoder's deint settings are both set to "auto".

Here are 2 clips with the following properties:
  • MadVR & MediaInfo both report 29.97fps
  • MadVR reports "cadence 3:2" when MadVR's film mode deint is activated
  • My TV is refreshing @ 59.94hz and I visually observe the classic 3:2 "judder"
  • I can step through each frame with ctrl+arrows and count 24 unique images before the timecode ticks over 1 second

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Gv9...ew?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Pgs...ew?usp=sharing
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2022, 15:01   #63577  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,518
soft telecine or what ever this has no interlaced frame in it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2022, 21:38   #63578  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
soft telecine or what ever this has no interlaced frame in it.
Yes that's what I thought too!

But the first clip (Cowboy Bebop) immediately follows the intro sequence which contains mixed cadences of 1:1 and 3:2. So it really is a 29.97i stream not soft telecine.

Is it possible to be using variable framerates? I don't mean mixed cadences, I mean the MPEG stream may be flagging "these frames are 29.97i, but these frames are 23.976p" and then leaving it up to the DVD player to generate the interlaced output?

edit: but that still doesn't explain why MadVR & MediaInfo are both reporting 29.97i, AND, if I play a typical 23.976p file with [deint=film] MadVR reports "cadence 2:2" instead of "cadence 3:2" with those test clips. Maybe the 29.97i flag is just some leftover incorrect metadata based on the beginning of the stream before it dynamically changed to 23.976p mid stream?

edit: and also, playing them on my PC monitor refresh at 119.88hz shows 3:2 judder as well, which it wouldn't if it was soft telecine 23.976p since that goes evenly into 119.88 just like when playing a 1080p23.976 file there is no 3:2 judder. But I still think you are right and it is probably soft-telecine, because I can't think of any other explanation why there aren't mice teeth. There must be some explanation for how soft-telecine variable framerate stuff is handled by the decoder that's making it get presented in this fashion. I just have no clue what it is.

Last edited by flossy_cake; 30th September 2022 at 23:18.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2022, 23:33   #63579  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 618
Which is the good way to prevent black clipping on an IPS display? With custom levels in madvr 0,5-255 in my case, or to adjust the black output offset in the 3dlut to 90% or something?

Last edited by Siso; 12th October 2022 at 12:23.
Siso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2022, 09:23   #63580  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Which is the efficient way to prevent black clipping on an IPS display? With custom levels in madvr 0,5-255 in my case, or to adjust the black output offset in the 3dlut to 90% or something?
What do you mean by "efficient" - low GPU consumption? In that case just use a GPU meter while factoring in the current clock speed. The solution you are currently using should use a trivial amount of GPU processing.

From memory, 3D LUT has the advantage of adjusting a much wider range of colours but doesn't have as much precise adjustability within a narrow range of colours, otherwise the 3D LUT has to be very large. This could be bad if you want to fine-tune a small range of colours near-black.

But maybe I'm wrong and 3D LUTs are big now and can do these kinds of precise adjustments. From memory 3D LUTs will get upscaled at runtime where it calculates intermediate tones between each row in the table. But that won't necessarily get you the precision you want - depends how it's interpolating between rows in the table.

At the time I was studying all this, only a 10-bit or greater 1D LUT with 256 rows gave me the necessary precision to finely tune shadow detail to my liking. If you had the same precision 3D LUT the table would be massive, but again maybe that's not a problem anymore these days maybe someone can correct me on that.

The other problem I have with 3D LUT is that it can't be applied to everything, so you'll only get the correction when in an application that supports it. If you want a global customised boost to shadow detail that applies to all apps then you can do that with my app Calibration Tools which uses 1D LUT (video card gamma table). There was some discussion about that on the previous 2 pages. Try not to overboost the shadows though as 1D LUTs cant adjust brightness linearity without also affecting hue and saturation. Basically the more you boost the shadows in a 1D LUT, the more blue and sickly skin tones will start to look in the low end (0-10% range).

Last edited by flossy_cake; 12th October 2022 at 15:09.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.