Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Yesterday, 23:06   #2821  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,574
Do we still need to declare SetMemoryMax?

I mean, almost 70% of the computers are now 64-bit with gazillions of GBs of RAM.

Is it of any use? Can't we simply let modern Windows to manage memory?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:20   #2822  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,781
You can probably omit it quite safely. Avisynth uses a convenient default.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:47   #2823  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,730
The default is quite conservative and is sometimes not enough if you work on 4K sources with heavy filtering and use multithreading. There's no real harm setting the max higher if you have the memory available, Avisynth will use what it needs and not all of it automatically.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:16   #2824  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,574
Perhaps I didn't explain well.

I know I can set it as I want but, seen VaporSynth memory use, why can't AVS+ go that way too and send Setmemorymax to ancient memories?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:17   #2825  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
The default is quite conservative and is sometimes not enough if you work on 4K sources with heavy filtering and use multithreading.
I can't find my post but, some years ago, I did some tests where I saw performance decrease with Setmemorymax increase.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.