Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th September 2016, 13:31   #1  |  Link
jriker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
White frame in transitions?

I have some video footage I am trying to burn in subtitles to and also clean up the footage (denoise). I usually use Premier Pro except when I want to burn in subtitles. I think use AVISynth to inject the subtitles automatically from an a_s_s (in case it filters on swears) file. Using NeatVideo for the cleanup. Normally works flawlessly however recently I noticed these weird pixelated white frames showing when playing back to resulting AVI file. It's not all the time but usually comes up during quick scene transition frames or fast action movement. Any idea what's going on?

Thanks.

JR

EDIT: Note using Windows 7 64-bit, 32-bit version of VirtualDub, and Lagarith codec to encode with. Didn't even know there was a 64-bit version of VDub but imagine that's not the issue.

Last edited by jriker1; 7th September 2016 at 13:40.
jriker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2016, 15:52   #2  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 9,903
No real idea, but have fairly recently seen some bad reports on Lagarith getting it wrong sometimes (Arithmetic coding not being 100% reliable).
Maybe try another lossless codec, UT_Video/MagicYUV are suggested.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 15:30   #3  |  Link
jriker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
No real idea, but have fairly recently seen some bad reports on Lagarith getting it wrong sometimes (Arithmetic coding not being 100% reliable).
Maybe try another lossless codec, UT_Video/MagicYUV are suggested.
So the spot this is happening for this particular example has the screen flash quickly to two different scenes for a second almost like a mistake in the footage but isn't. Playing the source it's fine otherwise. I tried MagicYUV and also removing NeatVideo. In all scenarios the below:



Still happened. Any chance it's VirtualDub? Hate to think so as using AVISynth a VDub is the fastest way for me to burn in subtitles. With tools like Premiere I have to add layers one at a time for each forced subtitle.

Note in AVISynth doing the following to load the M2TS file:

ffmpegsource2("STUFF_PT2.M2TS", vtrack = -1)
TextSub("Stuff.ass")

Note this is HD content.

Thanks.

JR

EDIT: If I run the file thru Premiere Pro frame by frame it's fine. If I run it frame by frame thru VDub I get the above. Also shows decoding frame the first time it hits that segment in VDub and scrolls thru some frame numbers on the bottom. VDub, AVISynth, ffmpegsource2? Why this started happening suddenly is beyond me but it is.

EDIT2: I just ran that segment thru a conversion with MagicYUV on Premiere and it plays back fine. Hoping I'm not going to have to run it thru Premiere, clean it with NeatVideo, then run it again thru VDub to burn in the subtitles and hope it comes out. I know when I put the Premiere AVI into VDub straight without AVISynth it's fine. Also if I use AVISynth with the resulting AVI using AVISource in VDub it's then fine.

Last edited by jriker1; 8th September 2016 at 15:59.
jriker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 15:59   #4  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 9,903
Does it still happen if remove TexSub() ?
If not OK, then maybe ffmpegsource problematic. (maybe try LSmash or directshowsource [dont know of alternative source for M2TS]).
Lastly, try VDub alternative, eg AvsPMod or the new AVSEdit or some other.

(assuming that "ffmpegsource2("STUFF_PT2.M2TS", vtrack = -1) TextSub("Stuff.ass")" is your entire script).

EDIT: I recently posted of problem in current versions of VSFilter.dll [textsub dll], here:- http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...07#post1779907
(could produce strange exception).
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 8th September 2016 at 16:02.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 16:19   #5  |  Link
jriker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
Yep, still happens with TextSub commented out and yes that is my entire script.

In theory if I did the neatvideo process thru Premiere to clean the video, then ran that video thru VDub using my AVS script, couldn't I run that thru to a secondary AVI with direct stream copy and it would be fast? Hate to add another half day of encoding to do a second pass for the subs.

Will also look at your other tool suggestions and see. Hopefully they run without installs. I don't want to start installing and uninstalling tools on this system. It's been VERY clean for years.

Thanks.

JR
jriker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 18:18   #6  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriker1 View Post
Any chance it's VirtualDub? Hate to think so...
Try shekh's VirtualDub mod, it's been modernized in several areas.
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 19:36   #7  |  Link
jriker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by raffriff42 View Post
Try shekh's VirtualDub mod, it's been modernized in several areas.
Nope. Same deal. Funny other than I bought both NeatVideo for VDub and Premiere so like to use it, if I could find a way to create subtitles faster in Premiere than manually creating title after title after title, wouldn't need VDub for the most part. Couple tools out there, but one is $99 which isn't the issue, but is only for mac. The other is several thousand dollars. Like WHAT?!?!?!

JR
jriker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 19:42   #8  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 9,903
Have you exhonourated ffmpegsource ?

I understand that recent version ffmpegsource are a lot less problematic that older ones.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 20:10   #9  |  Link
jriker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Have you exhonourated ffmpegsource ?

I understand that recent version ffmpegsource are a lot less problematic that older ones.
We talking ffmpegsource or ffmegsource2. latest version of 2 is almost a year ago however think I'm one rev behind because it requires AVISynth 2.6 and some of the plugins I use are not compatible.

Since there is no version info in the binaries can say my:

FFMS2.avsi file is 6/24/2014
FFMS2.dll file is 6/20/2014
FFMS2.lib file is 6/20/2014

Thanks.

JR
jriker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 20:13   #10  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by raffriff42 View Post
Try shekh's VirtualDub mod, it's been modernized in several areas.
To me the picture looks like some uninitialized memory, which unfortunately can mean anything.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 20:48   #11  |  Link
jriker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
No this seems easy after my last test. I tried DirectShowSource and it didn't do this. Though because of a lot of the conversions I do go beyond adding subtitles, I needed the frame accuracy that FFMpegSource gave me so why I'm using it. That said, apparently ffmpegsource, the one I'm using if nothing else, is no longer supporting some of my current media for whatever reason.
jriker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 22:15   #12  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 9,903
Older versions of ffmpegsource were not good, seems you are using such, shit happens.

Edit: try lsmash or later ffmpegsource. read that you don't like changing things, but in this case would seem prudent.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 8th September 2016 at 22:19.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2016, 00:59   #13  |  Link
jriker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
What is the last version of ffmpegsource2 that you could use with 2.5 of AVISynth? Can try that first. If I go to 2.6 a lot of my plugins for cleaning up VHS content will break but may just opt for alternatives or go for it.

Thanks.

JR
jriker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2016, 02:20   #14  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,373
Groucho2004's Avisynth version switcher sounds like something you could use; haven't tried it myself though, so can't say for sure.
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2016, 12:50   #15  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 9,903
Quote:
If I go to 2.6 a lot of my plugins for cleaning up VHS content will break but may just opt for alternatives or go for it.
What are the scripts that will break, are they well known scripts?

v2.6 is quite a bit better than previous versions, quite a lot of fixes.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2016, 13:55   #16  |  Link
jriker1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
Yeah, don't have them in front of me but was related to cleanup of VHS tapes I dubbed to digital format. They are sitting there waiting for me to process them and just remember a lot of the scripts and plugins I used were not compatible with 2.6. Plus remember playing with the multi-threading stuff and it crashing all the time so overall wasn't a positive experience. I'll have to fire up the system I used for transferring the videos and see if I can see what I was using.

JR
jriker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
virtualdub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.