Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th June 2024, 20:34   #361  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by subnrg View Post
Hey K.
I had everything working well, then all of a sudden I'm getting errors. I deleted and reinstalled everything and started with a fresh .bat file (only changing the output/temp directory and nvenc), but I'm still getting errors that seem like they may be PTS or nvenc issues? The .mkv i mux via mkvtoolnix seems to play fine, but when I try to mux back to MP4 in staxrip (whether lsmash or ffvideosource) i'm getting:

Script Error
FFVideoSource: The index does not match the source file
(P:\Muxes\Awaken (2018) UHD Disc Sample_temp\Awaken (2018) UHD Disc Sample_source.avs, line 5)

MODE.B shows the script was completed, but no file is rendered. I'm thinking something was updated or I messed with something I shouldn't have. Any ideas?
Why aren't you using the MP4 Muxer in DS ??
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2024, 20:54   #362  |  Link
subnrg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
Why aren't you using the MP4 Muxer in DS ??
It isn't working for me. It shows that it's completed, but no output. There has to be some driver or setting that's not compatible. Racking my brain trying to figure it out.
subnrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2024, 20:54   #363  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 275
Quote:
when I try to mux back to MP4 in staxrip (whether lsmash or ffvideosource) i'm getting:

Script Error
FFVideoSource: The index does not match the source file
(P:\Muxes\Awaken (2018) UHD Disc Sample_temp\Awaken (2018) UHD Disc Sample_source.avs, line 5)
This usually happens when you try to import a file with the same filename as another file you already imported in staxrip. Solution: Delete temp folder or rename input

Quote:
MODE.B shows the script was completed, but no file is rendered. I'm thinking something was updated or I messed with something I shouldn't have. Any ideas?
not enough info to help you but it sounds like you're not using the MP4 version of the script. You have to show me your log (with 'echo on' line 2 preferably) like this:
https://justpaste.it/fbvgg
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2024, 22:36   #364  |  Link
subnrg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
This usually happens when you try to import a file with the same filename as another file you already imported in staxrip. Solution: Delete temp folder or rename input

not enough info to help you but it sounds like you're not using the MP4 version of the script. You have to show me your log (with 'echo on' line 2 preferably) like this:
https://justpaste.it/fbvgg
I do always delete the temp folder unless I'm doing 2 different encodes off the same source file to save time. There's something else going on. If I remux in XMedia Recode, it work just fine. Go figure.

And you were correct about using the mp4.bat being the reason I got no output. I was using the .mp4 version before I deleted everything and started over. But I'm still getting either remuxes with no audio or messed up audio like this one:
https://justpaste.it/3ecjd
subnrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2024, 22:50   #365  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 275
I dont know, everything looks normal... Try the old mp4 muxer. line 60 set mp4_version=OLD
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2024, 05:27   #366  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Hi Kuler,

I'm using 2.0.7 beta, and I am randomly getting this annoying error:-

Workflow 3-1

Code:
Parsing XML metadata...ast frame: 0.045 seconds. ETA: 2:15:08.091
Error: The system cannot find the file specified. (os error 2)
File not found - S01E05 4K HDR vol 3.0 (1)_DV.xml
The system cannot find the file specified.
Error: The system cannot find the file specified. (os error 2)
Error: expected value at line 21 column 35
Error: The system cannot find the file specified. (os error 2)
Parsing RPU file...
Error: The system cannot find the file specified. (os error 2)
I just noticed that 2.0.7 (proper) is out, so I will grab that and see what happens.

==========================================

I ran a Profile 5 DV mkv thru MP4 Muxer, and just at the end got this what I think is an irrelevant error :-

Code:
====== PROCESSING LOG ======================
Number of written frames = 168973
Number of Errors= 0
Processing finished successfully.
muxing into a DoVi MP4 file. Be patient, it can take a while. 40min+ on slow HDD
[1/2] Parsing track "E:\Dovi_Temp_MP4\tempstemp.folder66\HDR.hevc"...
hevc: ******************** 100%
[2/2] Saving output file(s) "E:\Dovi_Temp_MP4\tempstemp.folder66\temp.mp4"...
written: ******************** 100%
Broken argument specifier or file name missing - check usage with -h
'.Jerry.Zucker' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
Was has Jerry Zucker got to do with anything ??

The movie is Top Secret.
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..

Last edited by TDS; 7th June 2024 at 08:07.
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2024, 08:42   #367  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
Was has Jerry Zucker got to do with anything ??

The movie is Top Secret.
At its time a commemorably funny movie, created by Jim Abrahams and the Zucker brothers. Dunno how "Jerry.Zucker" is conjured up here though.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2024, 08:56   #368  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
At its time a commemorably funny movie, created by Jim Abrahams and the Zucker brothers. Dunno how "Jerry.Zucker" is conjured up here though.
I think it might be the dodgey way it was compiled, only being Profile 5 is not preferrable...hopefully I can re-encode it something better.

Cheers, thanks for the info
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2024, 12:01   #369  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 275
Nothing changed in 3-1 and the mp4muxer in a while but please remember to always post the complete log and not just parts of it.
A small sample would be nice too.


Quote:
Was has Jerry Zucker got to do with anything ??
Maybe some of the track names have strange characters (EG Russian text for the tracknames cause this kind of error)
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2024, 14:09   #370  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
Nothing changed in 3-1 and the mp4muxer in a while but please remember to always post the complete log and not just parts of it.
A small sample would be nice too.
Yeah, not sure why this is happening, I processed the same file again, and there was no error...just one of those things.


Quote:
Maybe some of the track names have strange characters (EG Russian text for the tracknames cause this kind of error)
This movie hasn't got many tracks, tho.

And this so called DV, is some shitty thing that the colours all messed up, similar to a True Lies "DV" I got some time back, and I ended up downloading a "non DV" version, and this Top Secret has the same issue, not worth "playing" with, so I'm getting it again, "non DV".
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2024, 15:58   #371  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 275
the issue with that file is as i suspected, there are special characters in the track name of the commentary track
''Commentary by co-directors Jim Abrahams and David & Jerry Zucker, with co-producers Jon Davison and Hunt Lowry''

the DTSHD track has a delay btw and delays for lossless audio is not supported in the OLD mp4muxer workflow. so you might want to set keep_lossless=NO for this one

https://justpaste.it/g5pvd
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2024, 02:57   #372  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
I generally run most videos thru MKVToolNix first to remove the stuff I don't want, but I just threw this in to see what happens to the Profile 5, but I acquired a much better conversion, it's actually Profile 8.1, so I will go with that one.
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..

Last edited by TDS; 8th June 2024 at 04:23.
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2024, 04:22   #373  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
I think I may have asked you this before...

I recall that you're running an Intel 13900KS, but I've forgotten what GPU you use, I'm guessing maybe a 4080, or even a 4090, just for all the CUDA cores !!!

You do use CUDA in preference to CPU, even the 13900 ?!?!

I've only got a 3050 & 3060, so even a 4070 Ti Super should process things a LOT faster, correct ??

Would save a lot of time.
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..

Last edited by TDS; 8th June 2024 at 06:35.
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2024, 13:46   #374  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 275
3070

I always use my CPU for encoding. GPU encoding is not great.
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2024, 14:04   #375  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
3070

I always use my CPU for encoding. GPU encoding is not great.
That IS interesting, thanks for that..

I'll have to change mine from CUDA to CPU, then!

It will be interesting to find out which CPU is faster, my 13900KF, or the 7950X.

You've just saved me a lot of money or not.

UPDATE:-

So I am doing another 3-1 with CUDA disabled, on the 7950X, and at the start of that CUDA process it shows approx ETA is 4:10:00, but with CUDA enabled (RTX 3060), it would be approx 3:10:00 ???

Then I tried the same scenario on the 13900KF, and at the start of the CUDA process it shows approx ETA is 4:35:00, but with CUDA enabled (RTX 3050), it would be approx 3:30:00 ???

Your RTX 3070 (with 5,888 CUDA cores) would be a little faster again, so my way of thinking is, an RTX 4080 Super (with 10,240 CUDA cores) would be close to 3 times faster than the RTX 3060, (with 3,584 CUDA cores).

In CPU "mode", it's only using 1-2% on both CPU's

So to me, that appears that the 7950X is faster than the 13900KF, maybe similar to your 13900KS

Doing a DS 3-1 on my 5950X with dual GTX 770's, (1532 CUDA cores) unfortunately it only uses 1 GPU, and its S-L-O-W, (ETA 6:00:00) so I kind of have to disagree that CPU is faster than CUDA...
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..

Last edited by TDS; 9th June 2024 at 05:17.
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2024, 04:07   #376  |  Link
Yosho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Can someone help with this MP4 playback problem on an LG C9 tv? I tried this mp4 script to make a p7 st-dl with GxK uhd but it comes out stuttering. P8 has issues too for some reason, but P7 DT-DL made with it works well though, no problems with playing back. I looked through script, saw OLD and NEW Muxer, tried both, but ST-DL stutters no matter what.. Am I doing something wrong? Modes 4 and 5 is what I used. No luck for st-dl. Made a mkv with makemkv, dropping in bdmv, dropping in mpls, and tried just the m2ts with no luck.
I tried dvvt tool as well but it also came out stuttering the same way unfortunately.
Yosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2024, 11:59   #377  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 275
yeah, unfortunately, STDL MP4 does not work very well on 2017-2019 LG TVs. You should get the Ugoos AM6b+ or you could try the mkv container with Kodi but I don't know if the EL is used or ignored.
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2024, 12:13   #378  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 275
Quote:
So I am doing another 3-1 with CUDA disabled, on the 7950X, and at the start of that CUDA process it shows approx ETA is 4:10:00, but with CUDA enabled (RTX 3060), it would be approx 3:10:00 ???

Then I tried the same scenario on the 13900KF, and at the start of the CUDA process it shows approx ETA is 4:35:00, but with CUDA enabled (RTX 3050), it would be approx 3:30:00 ???

Your RTX 3070 (with 5,888 CUDA cores) would be a little faster again, so my way of thinking is, an RTX 4080 Super (with 10,240 CUDA cores) would be close to 3 times faster than the RTX 3060, (with 3,584 CUDA cores).

In CPU "mode", it's only using 1-2% on both CPU's

So to me, that appears that the 7950X is faster than the 13900KF, maybe similar to your 13900KS

Doing a DS 3-1 on my 5950X with dual GTX 770's, (1532 CUDA cores) unfortunately it only uses 1 GPU, and its S-L-O-W, (ETA 6:00:00) so I kind of have to disagree that CPU is faster than CUDA...
I was talking about x265/x264 encoding and not about speed but quality.
For 3-1, there's no encoding, just decoding and the GPU is faster for that of course.
__________________
DoVi_Scripts
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2024, 12:26   #379  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
I was talking about x265/x264 encoding and not about speed but quality.
For 3-1, there's no encoding, just decoding and the GPU is faster for that of course.
OK, well the majority of my use of DS is 3-1..so the faster I can get that done, the better

Each "job" I do takes well over an hour, and that's for a video thats less than a hour long..so long movies will take half the day

So I think I'll buy an RTX 4080 Super...

__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2024, 13:05   #380  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Kuler087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 275
there's a lot of variation in 3-1 because of the prores decoding bug in CM with Windows. Sometimes I can do a 2h movie in just 1h-1h30 and some other times, it can take well over 4h. A 4080 will be a lot faster than a 3060 for sure but some movies will still take forever to process regardless of the GPU.
In Resolve it's always fast.

EDIT: workaround would be to use jpeg-2000 mxf but I'm not able to encode a cm_analyze compatible file with ffmpeg. It only works with the mxf file from Resolve.
__________________
DoVi_Scripts

Last edited by Kuler087; 10th June 2024 at 16:55.
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
batch scripts, dolby vision processing, dovi_scripts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.