Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th January 2020, 00:42   #1  |  Link
F3low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 21
How do you forcefully change video resolution/buffer dimensions?.

Hi, first I'm sorry if this isn't the right place to post this.

I usually encode my videos to HEVC 1920x1080p using Vidcoder and then I cut and merge them using Avidemux, now the problem is from time to time I come across videos that have Buffer Dimensions of 1920x1088 and Video Resolution of 1920x1080 sometimes after encoding them the VR and BD change to 1920x1080 (this is what I want and set Vidcoder to do) other times the VR changes to 1920x1078 or nothing changes and the videos keep the original VR and BD.. now this is a big problem for me because if I try merging videos with different VR or BD I get a messed up output where only the first part of the video plays correctly and as soon as the second part starts I get a static image with or without artifacts and only the sound plays.
At first I didn't know what caused that problem since I encode my videos with the same settings and resolution so I started doing some research and found that on VLC the buffer dimensions are different from video resolution.

Sorry for the long post but I tried to explain as best as I can.

Thanks.

Last edited by F3low; 27th January 2020 at 00:45.
F3low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 08:53   #2  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,552
If you have --min-cu 16 pixels then x265 will have to encode 1088 rows (because 1080 is not mod16) and then add metadata for the player to crop away the excess 8 pixels. So try to have all your parts encoded with the same --min-cu value.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 13:44   #3  |  Link
F3low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
If you have --min-cu 16 pixels then x265 will have to encode 1088 rows (because 1080 is not mod16) and then add metadata for the player to crop away the excess 8 pixels. So try to have all your parts encoded with the same --min-cu value.
HI, I don't know if I have --min-cu 16 but can you tell me how to set the same --min-cu value for my future encodes on Vidcoder?.
F3low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 19:50   #4  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,280
--min-cu-size 8 is the parameter you want to use. Have you set the preset to "ultrafast" - that's the only one that defaults to min-cu-size of 16. And isn't going to give you great results, and might not be that much faster given source decoding and other operations. At least try superfast and keep going until encoding gets too slow for you.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 22:20   #5  |  Link
F3low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwaggoner View Post
--min-cu-size 8 is the parameter you want to use. Have you set the preset to "ultrafast" - that's the only one that defaults to min-cu-size of 16. And isn't going to give you great results, and might not be that much faster given source decoding and other operations. At least try superfast and keep going until encoding gets too slow for you.
I always use the slow preset, I added --min-cu-size 8 but I still got 1920x1078 resolution instead of 1920x1080, please take a look and tell me where I did go wrong https://imgur.com/a/ljit5Dq.

Last edited by F3low; 27th January 2020 at 23:10.
F3low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 23:04   #6  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,552
I thought the 1078 was a typo at first. I think your problem may be VidCoder doing some auto-cropping. (Irregardless of that you would set "min-cu-size=8" in VidCoder, not "--min-cu-size 8".)
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2020, 01:12   #7  |  Link
F3low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
I thought the 1078 was a typo at first. I think your problem may be VidCoder doing some auto-cropping. (Irregardless of that you would set "min-cu-size=8" in VidCoder, not "--min-cu-size 8".)
It worked! thanks guys.

Last edited by F3low; 28th January 2020 at 02:15.
F3low is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
encoding, hevc. h.265, newbie, resolution

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.