Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Announcements and Chat > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th July 2009, 10:19   #21  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
SeeMoreDigital - nearly missed the links at the bottom of the post, had quick look, going to have to set aside time to study the info there, looks like it will clarify a lot of what I need to know.

My DVD player is a cheap "Philips DVP3120", (I should learn to be clearer)

I found I had the same problem with Video convertion as I did with Networks, a lot of history, specs and revisions, mixed with varied comformity, all working as a moving train crash

Internet searches did not realy help, most of the keywords I could use brought up commercial software rather than information, and trawling through them, is both time consuming and frustrating.

As a personal point, has this thred helped anyone other than me, just interested ..... Cheers to every one
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 10:24   #22  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
SeeMoreDigital - nearly missed the links at the bottom of the post, had quick look, going to have to set aside time to study the info there, looks like it will clarify a lot of what I need to know.

My DVD player is a cheap "Philips DVP3120", (I should learn to be clearer)

I found I had the same problem with Video convertion as I did with Networks, a lot of history, specs and revisions, mixed with varied comformity, all working as a moving train crash

Internet searches did not realy help, most of the keywords I could use brought up commercial software rather than information, and trawling through them, is both time consuming and frustrating.

As a personal point, has this thred helped anyone other than me, just interested ..... Cheers to every one
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 17:48   #23  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
Hi evry body, just cheaking in

sorry about the double post, my fault - oops.

I tried MPEG4 Modifier, did what it said on the tin, GSPOT, said 16:9, however, my media player did not read the tin, the best I got was a play back that was nearer 3:1 or 4:1, a narrow band accross the middle of the screen, totaly out of aspect, well I was warned about such things happening. but now I know for certain.

Any way - shortly after all my playback decoders went wackadoodle, and would not play video on anything, with all the messing with programes I've done over the past few weeks, I decided on a fresh install of Windows. and re-install of programes. ( Always fun)

Any advice an whats the best MPEG2 codec(encoder), I have been using the one in "nero vision express 2 - (nero ver6), but its encoding at 2 times the file time. there is no update for it. And I sure it does not use Petium4 code. I know some are faster, but I do need to set DVD standard bit rates for the video.

So to all the people in England, enjoying the summer weather ( for every one else you have to be here).
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 22:09   #24  |  Link
Nexin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 144
What does GSpot show for the following dvbt files you have, before and after PVAStrumento

before (source files)
720x576 - SAR - PAR - DAR
704x576 - SAR - PAR - DAR
544x576 - SAR - PAR - DAR
Others.. - SAR - PAR - DAR


after (converted files)
720x576 - SAR - PAR - DAR
704x576 - SAR - PAR - DAR
544x576 - SAR - PAR - DAR
Others.. - SAR - PAR - DAR
Nexin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2009, 13:08   #25  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
Err.. Ive bin doing a cleanup, and getting rid of the temp and test files I was using.

But as I recall ....

Before 720 x 576 - square pixel (DAR PAR, 4:3)

After "720 x 576 - PAR 16:9" and "720 x 576 - DAR 16:9" there is no SAR setting in MPEG4 Modifier v1.4.4.

Personaly I blame my cheep player, when I say I was warned it was that I was told not all players, (esp the cheep chines ones), conform to displaying correctly, as they dont always take notice of the settings in files.

I still dont have a spec for the AVI stream.

I may give it another try when I get my apps and codecs sorted properly.
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2009, 15:33   #26  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,668
PVAstromento doesn't change the DAR/SAR/PAR it simply changes the container by remuxing the streams in a different format.

It is possible that you recorded a multiDAR/SAR broadcast (usual eg film in 169, commercials in 43) and that tricked the software used to cut out the latter.
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2009, 15:36   #27  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by iffybob View Post
After "720 x 576 - PAR 16:9" and "720 x 576 - DAR 16:9" there is no SAR setting in MPEG4 Modifier v1.4.4.
SAR is the same thing as PAR...

Please try the following (MPEG-4 (ASP) 720x576 with 16:9 aspect ratio signalling) sample in your player and report back: -

http://www.one.seemoredigital.net/Do..._AC3_in_AVI.7z


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2009, 16:26   #28  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
SeeMoreDigital - the pic was fine thank you, displayed 16:9

No audio but I only got a sterio player.

on another matter I got the latest version of tmpgenc when I tried to recencode a file with a max frames of GOP of 8 I got his message in the logg file "Multiplex buffer underflow!! packet: 143711", but did not get any errors when I let it do a stream copy.
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2009, 17:29   #29  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
SeeMoreDigital - Ive down loaded - MPEG_Mediator_1.5.7z twice from your link!
MPEG_Mediator_1.5.7z: CRC failed in MPEGmediator (v1.5).exe. The file is corrupt. - from Winrar 3.40.

tried using MPEG_Mediator_SE_v1.4.5.9 - from a 720 x 576 ar 16:9 ,it output 720 x 416 set for 16:9 I "gess" it calcs this to get a stable 16:9, I is getting

(where' s smily for pulling out your hair)
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2009, 19:02   #30  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by iffybob View Post
SeeMoreDigital - Ive down loaded - MPEG_Mediator_1.5.7z twice from your link!
MPEG_Mediator_1.5.7z: CRC failed in MPEGmediator (v1.5).exe. The file is corrupt. - from Winrar 3.40.
Yep... It's corrupt alright

Thanks for letting me know. It should be working okay now
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2009, 20:21   #31  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Yep... It's corrupt alright

Thanks for letting me know. It should be working okay now
nope getting an NTL page saying not available ... I will try again tmoz.
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2009, 22:13   #32  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
Ghitulescu - I was using a 720x576 16:9 clip cut from a BBC recording (no ads)

I use DVD patcher, to alter aspect ratios, if its iffy I will patch the whole file , not just the first header.

I noticed, an observation, that it tends to work the other way, programe in 4:3 addverts in 16:9, not set in stone though.
though somtimes there is a lag in the transition of the display, during the transistion between one and the other.
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2009, 22:44   #33  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by iffybob View Post
nope getting an NTL page saying not available ... I will try again tmoz.
It's working now...
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2009, 14:44   #34  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
It's working now...
Yes it is got no crc error, thank you, got to try it now.

with "7z" file I have to use MS-IE to download it, norm I use firefox, which tries to open the file in a page, just a note not a critic, lack of knowlage on my part I suspect.

Bin out of this bussiness way too long, chatching up....
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 00:22   #35  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
quicky - does anyone know if PVAStrumento corrects the audio sync to make it compatable with Avidemux 2.5, to produce a correctly synced output. cheers.
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2009, 20:34   #36  |  Link
iffybob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England , South Yorkshire
Posts: 99
I did get the 720 x 576 AR 16:9 going.........

As I thought it was the original Xvid codec I was using that mixed up the displaying of the picture correctly

I have tried two media players the first is a HDD player approx 3 years old, and did not play the AR-16:9 at 16:9, and crashed when I tried playing the file patched to DAR 4:3. the rest it played fine at I presume square pixel.

The second is a USB drive player that playes AVIs, that I got this year.
This played all the files at correct aspect, though it did produce flashes of horizontal banding, ( I'm sure theres a name for this )


Files -
1-fred avi- test.avi
Gspot "sez" -

720 x 576 Square Pixel. XviD ISO MPEG-4 , 1Mbps - Video,
sar 1.250 (5:4) - par 1.000 (1:1) - dar1.250 (5:4)

MPEG-1 Layer 3 , 48000Hz 128 kb/s tot , Stereo - Audio.

Patched Files -

2-fred avi- patched PAR 4:3 PAL - test.avi
3-fred avi- patched DAR 4:3 - test.avi
4-fred avi- patched PAR 16:9 PAL - test.avi
5-fred avi- patched DAR 16:9 - test.avi



Apps -

Avidemux 2.5 - "avidemux2_qt4.exe" - For Mpg -> Avi convertion ( available from SourceForge )

MPEG4Modifier v1.4.4 - to change / set the Apect Ratio.
( see post #20 on this thred for link.)

Thanks Every one
iffybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apect ratio, dvbt, newbie, xvid

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.