Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th April 2020, 20:21   #1  |  Link
F3low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 21
Does min-cu-size=8 hurt quality?.

Hi,

I've had that command enabled for everything to force 1920x1080p on some videos.

Thanks.
F3low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2020, 21:45   #2  |  Link
froggy1
ffx264/ffhevc author
 
froggy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,646
No, but on 1080p, a lot of people use cu-size of 32. 64 is mostly beneficial for UHD
__________________
ffx264--ffhevc--ffxvid

Desktop: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Server: Intel Core i7-7700K
NAS: Intel Pentium G4400
froggy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 00:15   #3  |  Link
F3low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by froggy1 View Post
No, but on 1080p, a lot of people use cu-size of 32. 64 is mostly beneficial for UHD
Would changing 8 to 32 improve quality? what does this option do exactly?.
F3low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 01:54   #4  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,711
Don't get confused between --ctu and --min-cu-size

https://x265.readthedocs.io/en/defau...on-min-cu-size

You probably don't want to mess with this. Use the presets. 8 is the default for everything except ultrafast.

It sets the minimum possible coding unit size. The HEVC standard lets you go as small as 8x8 and the encoder will do this when it makes sense.

If you force this to be higher then you can go faster in some cases because you don't even evaluate 8x8. In practice, you will usually want to have some 8x8 CUs though, so forcing the encoder to never consider this is a bad idea.

--ctu on the other hand is a super important setting. The default (64) makes sense most of the time. Lower values can preserve a bit more fine detail in still images and can be more parallel (since you're processing a larger number of smaller CUs), but the 64x64 CU is a HUGE deal in HEVC and helps a ton overal for most content, especially 4K, and especially when you compare clips in motion vs still images. The reduction in blocking is great!

I suggest always leaving this at 64 unless you need to go fast, in which case you should be using the presets anyway

Last edited by Blue_MiSfit; 10th April 2020 at 01:58.
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 11:49   #5  |  Link
F3low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
Don't get confused between --ctu and --min-cu-size

https://x265.readthedocs.io/en/defau...on-min-cu-size

You probably don't want to mess with this. Use the presets. 8 is the default for everything except ultrafast.

It sets the minimum possible coding unit size. The HEVC standard lets you go as small as 8x8 and the encoder will do this when it makes sense.

If you force this to be higher then you can go faster in some cases because you don't even evaluate 8x8. In practice, you will usually want to have some 8x8 CUs though, so forcing the encoder to never consider this is a bad idea.

--ctu on the other hand is a super important setting. The default (64) makes sense most of the time. Lower values can preserve a bit more fine detail in still images and can be more parallel (since you're processing a larger number of smaller CUs), but the 64x64 CU is a HUGE deal in HEVC and helps a ton overal for most content, especially 4K, and especially when you compare clips in motion vs still images. The reduction in blocking is great!

I suggest always leaving this at 64 unless you need to go fast, in which case you should be using the presets anyway
I don't usually mess with commands. --min-cu-size 8 was suggested to me on this forum because I was having trouble upscaling some videos to 1080p.

Though I don't understand this: Note

All encoders within a single process must use the same settings for the CU size range. --ctu and --min-cu-size must be consistent for all of them since the encoder configures several key global data structures based on this range.

By consistent, doesn't that mean it should be ctu=32 min-cu-size=32 / instead of ctu=64 min-cu-size=8?.

Last edited by F3low; 10th April 2020 at 11:58.
F3low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 14:35   #6  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 871
That means if you choose 64/8 for one encoder inside a running process (a running process is an individual program process, refer to OS text book if you don't know), you can't run another encoder within the same process with different settings.

For example you have a tool called a.exe that internally initialize x265 encoder with mincu=8, then you can't internally initialize another x265 encoder with mincu=16. You have to run another a.exe to encode in a different cu size.

If you run x265.exe, then if you run x265 with mincu=8, and you want to make another encode with mincu=16, you have to run another x265.exe. Hope this is clear.
__________________
Projects
x265 - Yuuki-Asuna-mod Download / GitHub
TS - ADTS AAC Splitter | LATM AAC Splitter | BS4K-ASS
Neo AviSynth+ filters - F3KDB | FFT3D | DFTTest | MiniDeen | Temporal Median

Last edited by MeteorRain; 10th April 2020 at 14:37.
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 18:14   #7  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,711
Quote:
By consistent, doesn't that mean it should be ctu=32 min-cu-size=32 / instead of ctu=64 min-cu-size=8?.
No. It only applies to a special case where you're using a special app that runs multiple x265 instances in parallel. You're not doing this, so don't worry about it. Just use the defaults
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 22:22   #8  |  Link
F3low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 21
Thanks guys
F3low is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newbie

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.