Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st January 2009, 17:04   #1  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
HELP - Creating custom AVCHD menu from scratch

Hey there!

I'm trying to create custom menu from scratch but I have no luck so far.

Nero Vision 5 won't recognise my generated file if used for menu.

If I play it alone (with Nero Vision) - it says: AVC, interlaced, 1920x1080.. all okay.

If I use it for menu - Nero says: MPEG2, progressive (which is not true), 1920x1080... and I'll see black screen only - no menu - nothing.

Here are the files:

* My menu
* Nero menu

I can easily see that my output has additional 192 bytes in the header but can't figure out what to do.

If I can accomplish creating this file, then it's just matter of hours to make custom titled motion top menu, and decrease multiAVCHD size to 2MBs

I'm using aviSynth -> x264 -> tsMuxer to get my .MTS file.

Dean

Last edited by deank; 1st January 2009 at 17:23.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 11:22   #2  |  Link
G_M_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,076
Could you post your AviSynth script and your x264 commandline ?

Also look as my first post in this thread, the .BAT/commandline i use work perfectly (for movies / M2TS thru tsMuxer): http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...60&postcount=1

PS: Everybody could use --partitions all in stead of omitting the 4x4.

PPS: I've seen suggestions that menu's can best be made @ 24p.
G_M_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 11:25   #3  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
avisynth:
Quote:
itab=" "
mmenu="\n\n\n\n\n"+itab+"Title#1"+"\n"+itab+"Title#2"+"\n"+itab+"Title#3"+"\n"+itab+"Title#4"+"\n"+itab+"Title#5"+"\n"+itab+"Title#6"+"\n"+itab+"Title#7"+"\n"+itab+"Title#8"+"\n"+itab+"Title#9"
lf=9
ImageSource("C:\Program Files\megui\tools\ffmpeg\bg.jpg", end = lf, use_DevIL=true)

#fadein(10)
Subtitle("\n\nmultiAVCHD TOP MENU", first_frame=0, last_frame=lf, font="Copperplate Gothic Bold", size=70, text_color=$e0e0e0, lsp=10, align=8)
Subtitle("\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n multiAVCHD.deanbg.com", first_frame=0, last_frame=lf, font="Copperplate Gothic Bold", size=30, text_color=$606060, lsp=10, align=4)

Subtitle(mmenu, first_frame=0, last_frame=lf, font="Tahoma", size=66, text_color=$c0c0c0, lsp=10, align=7)
LanczosResize(1920,1080)
ConvertToYV12()
ConvertFPS(25)
trim(0,lf)
video = last
return video
x264

Quote:
x264.exe --bitrate 50000 --interlaced --pulldown 1 --videoformat pal --keyint 25 --min-keyint 1 --ref 3 --mixed-refs --bframes 1 --weightb --subme 5 --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,i8x8 --8x8dct --ipratio 1.1 --pbratio 1.1 --vbv-bufsize 30000 --vbv-maxrate 50000 --qcomp 0.5 --merange 12 --threads auto --thread-input --progress --no-psnr --no-ssim --mvrange 511 --aud --nal-hrd --sar 1:1 --output %1.264 %1
It is not that the final m2ts is not playable. It is okay - just AVCHD players won't see it as a valid MENU file. If played alone - it shows okay.

Last edited by deank; 2nd January 2009 at 11:32.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 11:34   #4  |  Link
G_M_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,076
I've seen suggestions that menu's can best be made @ 24p.

So try ConvertFPS (24,1) or ConvertFPS (24000,1001) the first is true 24p (24.000 fps), the other is "NTSC 24p" (23.976 fps).

Anyway, vbv-maxrate is too high. It should best be: --vbv-maxrate 24000, vbv-bufsize 30000, and when you make another try: Dont forget to set --keyint equal to the framerate you use, rounded off (so 24 in the case of 23.976 for instance).

And finally; I think you can do without the video = last and return video lines.
How did the script itself play in Virtualdub for instance ?

Last edited by G_M_C; 2nd January 2009 at 11:51.
G_M_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 11:44   #5  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
No, it didn't work - just tried. May be it has to do with something inside *.BDMV files...
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 15:26   #6  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
I suspect something else...

I think "button" information is stored inside menu m2ts files. I'll have to do some tests.

Could it be image information is stored as separate stream inside m2ts?
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 15:29   #7  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by G_M_C View Post
Anyway, vbv-maxrate is too high. It should best be: --vbv-maxrate 24000, vbv-bufsize 30000, and when you make another try: Dont forget to set --keyint equal to the framerate you use, rounded off (so 24 in the case of 23.976 for instance).

And finally; I think you can do without the video = last and return video lines.
How did the script itself play in Virtualdub for instance ?
It plays fine in MPC and even if I load .avs directly in Nero Showtime. I removed some lines from the script, that's why there are some extra lines.

I remember to set keyframe and other stuff

I just think that there may be something more with these menu m2ts files.

----

edit: I'm already ALMOST sure that MENU information (as buttons, navigation arrows, etc.) is stored inside m2ts, probably with special VideoID/MenuID. tsMuxer doesn't recognise these tracks and doesn't show them.

Is there some media-info tool that shows ALL tracks, not just VIDEO/AUDIO/SUBTITLES/FONTS?

Last edited by deank; 2nd January 2009 at 15:35.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 15:36   #8  |  Link
~bT~
н∂-αиαтι
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,005
^ avinaptic perhaps?
~bT~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 15:55   #9  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
BDinfo showed:

Code:
Interactive Graphics            English         3,784 kbps                      

STREAM DIAGNOSTICS:

File            PID             Type            Codec           Language                Seconds                 Bitrate                 Bytes           Packets         
----            ---             ----            -----           --------                --------------  
00012.M2TS      5120 (0x1400)   0x91            IGS             eng (English)           31,932                  4                       15*135          105
So.. that is the problem. I need to generate IGS.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 15:57   #10  |  Link
idbirch2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 680
You might want to pm jdobbs and see if he can offer any insight. BDRebuilder is already capable of re-encoding BluRay menus and then manages to piece them back together, I doubt AVCHD menus are much different to BD ones.
idbirch2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 16:58   #11  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
I succeeded!

...to create a compatible blank navigational page with ac3 audio and navigational placeholders.

I used tsremux...

Now I need something to mux AVC+AC3+IGS into a new m2ts or just add AVC to existing m2ts, keeping other two tracks untouched.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2009, 15:35   #12  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
I found the general ISO-13818-1/2 specification (suggested by jdobbs) and I'm planning to integrate TS muxing/demuxing capabilities in multiAVCHD.

This should help me to create custom transport stream files, containing video, audio and program streams (IGS navigation track).

Doing this is a great challenge for me and it may take a while.

Dean
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2009, 16:01   #13  |  Link
idbirch2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 680
Sounds awesome Dean, I look forward to seeing what you come up with.
idbirch2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 13:34   #14  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
Have anyone of you seen THUMBNAIL preview of an AVCHD folder on their PS3 or other AVCHD player?

There is a folder and files:

<root>\AVCHD\AVCHDTN\THUMB.TDT (which is a simple JPG)

and

<root>\AVCHD\AVCHDTN\THUMB.TID

Dean
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2009, 17:14   #15  |  Link
robshot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by deank View Post
I succeeded!

...to create a compatible blank navigational page with ac3 audio and navigational placeholders.

I used tsremux...

Now I need something to mux AVC+AC3+IGS into a new m2ts or just add AVC to existing m2ts, keeping other two tracks untouched.
How goes the investigation, deank? Do you think we can expect to be able to create custom menu soon?

cheers
robshot
__________________
HD n00b
robshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2009, 17:31   #16  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
I need custom menu as badly as you, but progress is real slow
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 01:09   #17  |  Link
MadMonkey57
Duh!
 
MadMonkey57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by deank View Post
I found the general ISO-13818-1/2 specification (suggested by jdobbs) and I'm planning to integrate TS muxing/demuxing capabilities in multiAVCHD...
Wow a new muxing toy to play with! That would be nice.
MadMonkey57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 10:03   #18  |  Link
Krawhitham
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 58
so how did you do it?
Krawhitham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 11:04   #19  |  Link
Glorioso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by deank View Post
Have anyone of you seen THUMBNAIL preview of an AVCHD folder on their PS3 or other AVCHD player?

There is a folder and files:

<root>\AVCHD\AVCHDTN\THUMB.TDT (which is a simple JPG)

and

<root>\AVCHD\AVCHDTN\THUMB.TID

Dean
Thats a nice addition to the, already awesome, multiACVHD.
Glorioso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 12:51   #20  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krawhitham View Post
so how did you do it?
It is mostly done by some program segments in movieobject.bdmv, playing m2ts menu files in correct order and using navigational m2ts file with no video stream / no background but navigational placeholders and navigational arrow.

This is where the problem arises. I can't get rid of the black background. I know there is a way to encode video as "transparent" as it is in "pop-up menus", but still haven't found a way.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avisynth, multiavchd, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.