Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd November 2023, 19:09   #3161  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 652
Transparency is fixed in W10. Although I have to say I did not experience the bad performance that had been reported for 345.xx ...
__________________
LG 77C1 - Denon AVC-X3800H - Windows 10 Pro 22H2 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Sanear) - RTX 4070 - Ryzen 5 3600 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2023, 22:22   #3162  |  Link
whitestar999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Transparency is fixed in W10. Although I have to say I did not experience the bad performance that had been reported for 345.xx ...
You mean 545.xx
whitestar999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2023, 15:17   #3163  |  Link
KrazyLurt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 31
No scroll bug for me with Firefox 119 or Chromium 119 using Nvidia GeForce 546.17 WHQL.
KrazyLurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2023, 23:20   #3164  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 942
Re the discussion we had a while ago here about nVidia HDMI 2.1 GPU getting a black screen in 4K23 in 10/12bits when using an HDMI 2.0 input of the AVR, I found a workaround which is to go back to 532.03 or earlier.

Not ideal of course, but I have no problem getting 10/12bits in 4K23 with the 3090 using that version (or previous ones). It also resolves frame drops in HDR Passthrough with jriver/JRVR. Looks like the architecture change from 535.98 might have broken some stuff with the 3xxx family.

I also noticed that the latest drivers forced the same bit depth on all frame rates (not possible to set a different bit depth for 60p and 23p). No such issue with up to 532.03, though I believe that was broken much later.

So it looks like I’ll stay with 532.03 with the 3090 for as long as it works. This is with win11 pro x64 22H2 or 23H2. YMMV.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb 551.33
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>TCL 55C805K

Last edited by Manni; 15th November 2023 at 10:13.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2023, 00:12   #3165  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 652
I have been experiencing a bug with all drivers supporting RTX 4070 I have tried (and I have tried several), where once I apply custom resolutions through CRU and restart... black screen and no way to get a working computer until I reboot in safe mode and remove the edid override from the registry.

And now I'm stuck with this crappy 23.976 one frame drop every 1.06 hours...
__________________
LG 77C1 - Denon AVC-X3800H - Windows 10 Pro 22H2 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Sanear) - RTX 4070 - Ryzen 5 3600 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2023, 09:18   #3166  |  Link
whitestar999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
I have been experiencing a bug with all drivers supporting RTX 4070 I have tried (and I have tried several), where once I apply custom resolutions through CRU and restart... black screen and no way to get a working computer until I reboot in safe mode and remove the edid override from the registry.

And now I'm stuck with this crappy 23.976 one frame drop every 1.06 hours...
Is that even noticeable to human eyes or you mean you are not happy with 23.976 fps?
whitestar999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2023, 10:34   #3167  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,849
yes a stutter of nearly 42 ms is very noticable to the human eye.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2023, 11:39   #3168  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
I have been experiencing a bug with all drivers supporting RTX 4070 I have tried (and I have tried several), where once I apply custom resolutions through CRU and restart... black screen and no way to get a working computer until I reboot in safe mode and remove the edid override from the registry.

And now I'm stuck with this crappy 23.976 one frame drop every 1.06 hours...
Are you using 4K 10/12 bits output from the 4xxx on a HDMI 2.0 input of your AVR? That’s a known issue of recent drivers. I posted recently the last working one for 3090 (I use 531.61 studio but 532.03 game ready should work too), It should work with the 4070. Alternatively, you can try to use 8bits as a workaround.

One frame drop every hour or so is normal if you’re bitstreaming. Using LPCM should get rid of it, again with recent enough drivers.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb 551.33
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>TCL 55C805K

Last edited by Manni; 4th December 2023 at 12:56.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2023, 12:58   #3169  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
yes a stutter of nearly 42 ms is very noticable to the human eye.
Yeah but we're talking about one frame drop every hour or so here. I do notice them if they happen in a moving shot, but I can live with a couple of drops per film.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb 551.33
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>TCL 55C805K
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2023, 22:00   #3170  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitestar999 View Post
Is that even noticeable to human eyes or you mean you are not happy with 23.976 fps?
It means a couple of frame drops for an average movie. When they happen I always notice. It bothers me, especially because it's due to a bug. "Funny" thing is that this started to happen when I had pretty much finished fine tuning 23.976, 24 and 59.94 (25 was fine already).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Are you using 4K 10/12 bits output from the 4xxx on a HDMI 2.0 input of your AVR? Thatís a known issue of recent drivers. I posted recently the last working one for 3090 (I use 531.61 studio but 532.03 game ready should work too), It should work with the 4070. Alternatively, you can try to use 8bits as a workaround.

One frame drop every hour or so is normal if youíre bitstreaming. Using LPCM should get rid of it, again with recent enough drivers.
I am using 4K 10 bits on a HDMI 2.1 input of my AVR. Not 2.0.

I will try using 8 bits, as you suggest.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Denon AVC-X3800H - Windows 10 Pro 22H2 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Sanear) - RTX 4070 - Ryzen 5 3600 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2023, 00:02   #3171  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 652
Manni, thank you! Setting the display at 8 bit worked. After fine tuning the custom resolutions I set it at 10 bits and everything works fine, driver 546.17 (on Windows 10).
__________________
LG 77C1 - Denon AVC-X3800H - Windows 10 Pro 22H2 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Sanear) - RTX 4070 - Ryzen 5 3600 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2023, 00:59   #3172  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Manni, thank you! Setting the display at 8 bit worked. After fine tuning the custom resolutions I set it at 10 bits and everything works fine, driver 546.17 (on Windows 10).
Glad I could help and itís resolved for you now.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb 551.33
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>TCL 55C805K
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2023, 21:04   #3173  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 697
ashlar42, you have rtx 4070 right? I bought rtx 4070 ti, which driver works best for you, and what settings do you use in nvidia control panel and in madvr presented frames in advance?
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2023, 22:04   #3174  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
ashlar42, you have rtx 4070 right? I bought rtx 4070 ti, which driver works best for you, and what settings do you use in nvidia control panel and in madvr presented frames in advance?
I am using currently 546.17. 1 frame presented in advance for madVR.
As far as settings... I set Vertical Sync to On and kept Power Management Mode at Normal.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Denon AVC-X3800H - Windows 10 Pro 22H2 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Sanear) - RTX 4070 - Ryzen 5 3600 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2023, 00:45   #3175  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 697
I'm on 546.17 too. Why did you choose normal power management mode? Why not maximum performance? Also in madvr - D3D9 or D3D11? Lav video decoder is set to what?
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2023, 13:56   #3176  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
I'm on 546.17 too. Why did you choose normal power management mode? Why not maximum performance? Also in madvr - D3D9 or D3D11? Lav video decoder is set to what?
madVR set tp D3D11, better decoding performance and 10 bit.

Normal power because I use it mainly for HTPC purposes. I do gaming, but it's secondary. As such, I prefer having a cooler machine, that has fans rotating slowly, so as to avoid unwanted noise.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Denon AVC-X3800H - Windows 10 Pro 22H2 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Sanear) - RTX 4070 - Ryzen 5 3600 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2023, 15:16   #3177  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Glad I could help and itís resolved for you now.
Unfortunately it isn't and I've been kicking myself for the past two hours for my stupidity.

I should have created a system restore point when I had everything working. I didn't. Probably thinking "now I've got the secret recipe"...

I went to "play" with settings relevant to VRR and DLSS 3.5... ended up having the machine crash to black screen and... everything started acting up like it was doing before.

No matter the color bit settings, now I can't use CRU. No matter the driver version (tried the ones you suggested, tried others). I'm so f%$£ fed up with this crap.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Denon AVC-X3800H - Windows 10 Pro 22H2 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Sanear) - RTX 4070 - Ryzen 5 3600 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2023, 16:58   #3178  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Unfortunately it isn't and I've been kicking myself for the past two hours for my stupidity.

I should have created a system restore point when I had everything working. I didn't. Probably thinking "now I've got the secret recipe"...

I went to "play" with settings relevant to VRR and DLSS 3.5... ended up having the machine crash to black screen and... everything started acting up like it was doing before.

No matter the color bit settings, now I can't use CRU. No matter the driver version (tried the ones you suggested, tried others). I'm so f%$£ fed up with this crap.
The only thing I can suggest is try a HDMI 2.0 input in your AVR and/or change the EDID in your display/PJ to a HDMI 2.0 EDID if you can (EDID B in the latest JVCs), with the driver in my sig if you have a 3xxx GPU. That’s what I had to do to get my 3090 to work reliably with 4K24 12bits.

When it works, make a system image, anything can break it at anytime if you change anything or allow internet updates.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb 551.33
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>TCL 55C805K
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2023, 22:48   #3179  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
The only thing I can suggest is try a HDMI 2.0 input in your AVR and/or change the EDID in your display/PJ to a HDMI 2.0 EDID if you can (EDID B in the latest JVCs), with the driver in my sig if you have a 3xxx GPU. That’s what I had to do to get my 3090 to work reliably with 4K24 12bits.

When it works, make a system image, anything can break it at anytime if you change anything or allow internet updates.
Yeah, problem is, that way, I'd lose 120Hz for games. Which is not *that* of a dealbreaker but still it's quite annoying, considering I know it can work correctly. Anyway, thanks for all the help.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Denon AVC-X3800H - Windows 10 Pro 22H2 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Sanear) - RTX 4070 - Ryzen 5 3600 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2023, 16:41   #3180  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 652
Ok, crossing fingers, I should have solved my problem. I will list what I did, as a reminder to myself and for other users that might find it useful in the future. I have NO idea if the sequence of things I did is relevant or not. Nvidia drivers have bugs, it could be random for all I know.

In any case. Starting from the regular, standard EDID after clean driver installation, I did the following.

1. Leave Output Color Depth in Nvidia control panel at default setting (Use default colour settings).
2. Opened CRU, deleted some useless resolutions (useless for me) from CTA-861 extension block. Saved and restarted the video driver (with CRU's restart64.exe).
3. Imported the settings I wanted for custom resolutions (remember, they used to work before the mishap with black screens upon restart of the video driver). Restarted the video driver. And... wow, it worked!
4. Set Output Color Depth in Nvidia control panel to Use Nvidia Settings. This doesn't change anything, theoretically, but it probably "saves" something somewhere. So you go from 8bit color depth to 8bit color depth. But that's apparently needed.
5. Restarted the machine.
6. Set Output Color Depth at 10bit. Apply. Done.
7. Create a restore point. I actually did it after #3 and redid it after #6.

Points 4 and 5... I tried to do that because I had already reached successfully #3 but when I went straight from "Use default colour settings" to Nvidia settings at 10 bit... it didn't like it. Black screens, need to reboot, etc.

Again, I stress... this is just what I did, no guarantee it's gonna work for anyone else but I thought it was worth reporting...
I now have 10 bit video playback both in Kodi and madVR (with correctly tuned refresh rates) and VRR and HDR are working for games.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Denon AVC-X3800H - Windows 10 Pro 22H2 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Sanear) - RTX 4070 - Ryzen 5 3600 - 16GB RAM

Last edited by ashlar42; 7th December 2023 at 16:45.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.