Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd September 2008, 16:49   #301  |  Link
Zwitterion
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Post your script please.
Code:
DGAVCDecodeNV_AVCSource("00014.dga")
Does it decode fine for you?
Zwitterion is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 16:49   #302  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
If it's coded in some silly managed language, I'm not going to bother trying to debug it.
i have a gf6800 so i cant help here...
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 16:53   #303  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zwitterion View Post
Does it decode fine for you?
I can't get file sharing sites behind my corporate firewall, so I can't answer that until this evening.
Guest is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 18:04   #304  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Yes, it seems to work fine. Why would you be amazed? Allowed by what? I haven't done any comparisons yet.
I'm amazed that it's so simple to implement and NVIDIA would allow something like that. If I'm honest, I thought they'd lock you to their PureVideo de-interlacer.

On a separate note, don't you have an FTP people can post to, or am I thinking of someone else?
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 18:22   #305  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,806
Quote:
So a word of warning to Vista users - don't use the two DLLs supplied in the package (nvapi.dll and ncuda.dll) as I think they are from Winxp and must be different to the Vista ones (which are already in system32). Looks like nvcuvid.dll is still needed.
There is simple solution : if OS=6.0 then use system32dlls else use dlls in main direcory
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 19:11   #306  |  Link
blubberbirne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Germany, Hamm
Posts: 161
what the hell is going on

i test the new version with some orf hd test file (1280x720 50P)

First Pass: encoded 3618 frames, 19.61 fps, 4972.53 kb/s
Second Pass: encoded 3618 frames, 87.28 fps, 4994.29 kb/s

i used these settings:

Code:
x264.exe --pass 1 --bitrate 5000 --stats ".stats" --level 4.1 --bframes 3 --b-adapt 2 --direct auto --filter -1:-1 --subme 2 --partitions none --vbv-bufsize 50000 --vbv-maxrate 50000 --me dia --threads auto --thread-input --progress --no-psnr --no-ssim --output NUL "dga.avs"
pause 
x264.exe --pass 2 --bitrate 5000 --stats ".stats" --level 4.1 --bframes 3 --b-adapt 2 --direct auto --filter -1:-1 --subme 2 --partitions none --vbv-bufsize 50000 --vbv-maxrate 50000 --threads auto --thread-input --progress --no-psnr --no-ssim --output "video.mp4" "dga.avs" 
pause
can't belive it, but the encoded video works fine here

Last edited by blubberbirne; 22nd September 2008 at 19:24.
blubberbirne is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 19:32   #307  |  Link
TL0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by blubberbirne View Post
what the hell is going on
Your first pass is slower because of frame decision, second pass does not have to do this and is much faster because of your lowered quality settings.
TL0 is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 19:33   #308  |  Link
blubberbirne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Germany, Hamm
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by TL0 View Post
Your first pass is slower because of frame decision, second pass does not have to do this and is much faster because of your lowered quality settings.
normaly i get ~12fps in second pass with these settings
blubberbirne is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 19:37   #309  |  Link
TL0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
You should maybe ask one of the x264 developers about this then, I looked at your settings and they are almost indentical for both passes, except for --me hex on second pass.
TL0 is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 20:02   #310  |  Link
DarkZell666
aka XaS
 
DarkZell666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1,122
Simple : you're using --b-adapt 2, which is much slower in the first pass than on the second (since it does all it's magic in the first pass).
__________________

Q9300 OC @ 3.2ghz / Asus P5E3 / 4GB PC10600 / Geforce 8600 GTS
DarkZell666 is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 20:13   #311  |  Link
blubberbirne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Germany, Hamm
Posts: 161
hey, the second pass is the problem Its "ultra" fast for HD Encoding
blubberbirne is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 20:15   #312  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
First time I've ever had a complaint that my software is too fast.
Guest is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 20:34   #313  |  Link
AtomX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
I am very happy to report that everything works flawlessly as far as I can find (flawlessly for my workflow anyway). Here's how it goes:

1. Process an M2TS file from a ripped blu-ray (in this case, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time) through DGAVCIndexNV
2. Create an AVS script to process the .dga
3. Open up my Premiere project that uses an MJPEG encode of the movie (made from the blu-ray, originally using the old DGAVCIndex
4. Replace the footage with the new AVS script
5. Everything is in it's right place and works perfectly (granted it's slow, but I mean, it's 1080p. I would never expect it to be)

I can export from Premiere in full 1080p and everything works great. What I had to do before was demux the m2ts file to a .h264 file, process that through DGAVCIndex, and then bring that into VDub to encode it to both MJPEG and to Lagarith (resulting in an enormous file, and the encode time was very significant), and then bait and switch between the two.

So basically, having this new workflow is going to save me a ton of HD space and a lot of time. Thanks a ton!
AtomX is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 21:22   #314  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
My #1 request: Linux support. There is CUDA for Linux. If any Linux devs are willing to help neuron2, then, since I don't believe he uses Linux at all?
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 21:33   #315  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,806
Neuron2 - Will you add simple support for .MKV?
It would be great if I could import mkv generated by eac3to directly without demuxing.
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 21:36   #316  |  Link
blubberbirne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Germany, Hamm
Posts: 161
oh yes, mkv support would be great. i have many avc records muxed to mkv here.
blubberbirne is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 22:03   #317  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Where is the spec for the MKV container?
Guest is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 22:09   #318  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Where is the spec for the MKV container?
Is this what you're looking for?
rack04 is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 22:57   #319  |  Link
nm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranguvar View Post
My #1 request: Linux support. There is CUDA for Linux. If any Linux devs are willing to help neuron2, then, since I don't believe he uses Linux at all?
Unfortunately Cuda Linux SDK doesn't contain the necessary video decoding functions, probably because the display driver doesn't support VP2 in any way.
nm is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 23:17   #320  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Linux talk not welcome here! Please go to the Linux forum. Thank you.
Guest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.