Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th June 2017, 17:51   #44201  |  Link
SamuelMaki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 56
If you are running out of VRAM, try with minimum queues. Could easily check that with GPU-Z running same time as watching.
SamuelMaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 00:02   #44202  |  Link
amayra
Quality Checker
 
amayra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
exactly the same bugs
__________________
I love Doom9
amayra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 08:22   #44203  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Even running a torture test heat doesn't pass 70. I'll check advanced render steps a bit later, hopefully that will give more of a clue
Could be your GPU downclocking then...not sure.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 12:03   #44204  |  Link
takenori
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Setting power config to Adaptive should be enough.
this works for me thanks.
i never know theres differences between adaptive and optimal performance.
takenori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 13:44   #44205  |  Link
lunnar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 35
Hey, I just found out this week end that to be able to use the HDR metadata passthru with MPC-HC, I have to use the 32bit version. I have always used the 64bit... this might have been tell before in this thread and I've misse it probably...
anyway since the switch, I have been able to test out both the Nvidia API as well as the Windows 10 API and both work pretty well. On one occasion the HDR flag stayed up after exiting the movie and I couln't find any way to reset it exept rebooting my PC. But overall , works nicely.
lunnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 18:16   #44206  |  Link
Damie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 21
When playing a source video in DXVA2 copy-back mode with BT.2020 matrix & primaries and passthrough HDR, Mad-VR says "HDR 1000 nits, BT.2020 -> DCI-P3".

Should I select DCI or BT.2020 in my TV (X850C) menu settings? With BT.2020 enabled the colors look deeper without oversaturation.

Is there a setting in MadVR to disable the BT.2020 -> DCI-P3 conversion (DXVA2 native mode, perhaps?)

Thanks for any help!

Last edited by Damie; 26th June 2017 at 18:58.
Damie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 19:37   #44207  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damie View Post
When playing a source video in DXVA2 copy-back mode with BT.2020 matrix & primaries and passthrough HDR, Mad-VR says "HDR 1000 nits, BT.2020 -> DCI-P3".
This line only informs you of the actual used colorspace inside the stream. Its always contained in a BT.2020 container, however BT.2020 covers a huge range of colors which isn't fully used by anything so far (nor can TVs fully reproduce it). So HDR contains metadata that informs the player about the actually used colorspace - in this case thats DCI-P3, in a BT.2020 container.

So that line is just informationl.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damie View Post
Should I select DCI or BT.2020 in my TV (X850C) menu settings? With BT.2020 enabled the colors look deeper without oversaturation.
You should select whatever you set in madVR under devices -> <device> -> calibration. Those settings have to match (if you're not calibrating manually, set it to display is already calibrated and select BT.2020 or DCI-P3 in the box below)
At this point in time, perhaps using DCI-P3 would be best, although BT.2020 would also work (but if you're not using 10-bit output, it may cause a bit of loss).
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 19:45   #44208  |  Link
Zaoshi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 14
Are my colors wrong?

Hey there,

I encountered this pack containing some test videos and some of them caught my interesting: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9F...p1eGVnTG8/edit

When I play "MP4-2c\Basic Settings\3-White Clipping.mp4" what I see on the screen matches what the video says: 235 and higher are completely white, while 230-234 are slightly gray (refer to the image), but shouldn't I see whole range up to 253?
I tried checking colors in Paint and 230 column is actually 249 white, while 234 column is 254 white. Why is this considered to be correct output when colors are incorrect?
Similar issue with "1-Black Clipping.mp4" file - dark colors are darker than the number says.

Zaoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 19:48   #44209  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaoshi View Post
When I play "MP4-2c\Basic Settings\3-White Clipping.mp4" what I see on the screen matches what the video says: 235 and higher are completely white, while 230-234 are slightly gray (refer to the image), but shouldn't I see whole range up to 253?
On a properly calibrated screen and playback chain, you should not see values above 235 or below 16.
Note that when you take a screenshot of the video, it is already after various levels of processing, and the values don't match the actual values in the video.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 19:54   #44210  |  Link
Zaoshi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
On a properly calibrated screen and playback chain, you should not see values above 235 or below 16.
In that case my colors are displayed correctly, but why is that?
Shouldn't 235 appear as 235, not 255? If video is going to have colors in ranges 0-16 and 235-255 they'll just get thrown away.
If I use EVR and set LAV to output 16-235 then I can actually see the whole range and color values match the number (which implies video does have those colors, but as seen in the picture those colors just disappear). Shouldn't this be the correct way?
Zaoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 20:30   #44211  |  Link
Damie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
This line only informs you of the actual used colorspace inside the stream.
Thank you! So it's the same as "Mastering display color primaries " shown by Mediainfo.

As my TV shows 96% of DCI P3 uv gamut, and only 72% of BT.2020 uv gamut, and because the source is DCI P3, I'll be selecting the latter in the TV menu.

Selecting BT.2020 in TV menu would result in oversaturation, yes? But if my TV could reproduce 100% of BT.2020 gamut, there would be no oversaturation, right?
Damie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 20:31   #44212  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
are you running out of Vram? check the advanced rendersteps part and see if you get spikes in finalstep.
Yep, out of vram. 2gb not enough I guess
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 21:45   #44213  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaoshi View Post
In that case my colors are displayed correctly, but why is that?
Shouldn't 235 appear as 235, not 255? If video is going to have colors in ranges 0-16 and 235-255 they'll just get thrown away.
If I use EVR and set LAV to output 16-235 then I can actually see the whole range and color values match the number (which implies video does have those colors, but as seen in the picture those colors just disappear). Shouldn't this be the correct way?
These test videos are specifically designed to include data that should not usually be visible, so that you can actually detect problems with that - ie. if you do see it, you know that its wrong.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2017, 22:06   #44214  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,530
To expand on what nevcairiel said, the test video is flagged as limited range but contains full range information to expose incorrect playback chains.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2017, 00:16   #44215  |  Link
johnnylaiyee
Registered User
 
johnnylaiyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Yep, out of vram. 2gb not enough I guess
By setting to 4 present queue ,my 1050 2gb can play a whole 1080p upscaling to 4k without any issue

Sent from my LG-H860 using Tapatalk
johnnylaiyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2017, 01:01   #44216  |  Link
sauma144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnylaiyee View Post
By setting to 4 present queue, my 1050 2gb can play a whole 1080p upscaling to 4k without any issue.
What upscaler do you use?
sauma144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2017, 01:22   #44217  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnylaiyee View Post
By setting to 4 present queue ,my 1050 2gb can play a whole 1080p upscaling to 4k without any issue

Sent from my LG-H860 using Tapatalk
Upscaling 1080p to 4k is no problem (i often crop black bars and zoom to fill the screen, using ngu doubling for upscaling). 4k hdr downscaled to 1080p is what my card is struggling with.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2017, 01:39   #44218  |  Link
johnnylaiyee
Registered User
 
johnnylaiyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by sauma144 View Post
What upscaler do you use?
Luma ngu sharp high
Chroma superxbr 150

Sent from my LG-H860 using Tapatalk
johnnylaiyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2017, 12:25   #44219  |  Link
pankov
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 658
Hello fellow madVR users,
last week I got the chance to test my first 4K TV with HDR support (LG OLED65E6) and I was very impressed with the "punch" of the HDR picture and the OLED picture in general. I was using a few HDR demos and one of them had some external subtitles (.srt) with comments which I decided to try and I think I stumbled on an major downside of using external text subs with HDR videos with current subtitle renderers and/or madVR.
Here is the issue:
Since madVR is smart enough to turn on the HDR mode on the TV and get specular highlights in 1000+ nits (well ~500 nits on this OLED TV) while maintaining the rest of the picture at lower levels ... or even much lower in dark scenes ... the rendered subtitles (which by default are "white" - RGB 255,255,255) are blindingly bright and they have much greater area than a specular highlight and are almost hurting the eyes. This got me thinking if the way madVR and XySubFilter that I use are actually rendering the subtitles is correct. On one side XySubFilter doesn't know if the subs are rendered over an HDR or SDR video ... I think ... and the preference for font color it uses is always the same ... which makes me believe that it's madVR's job to lower the brightness of the color/white in some way (f.e. 255,255,255 = 100 nits as per SDR spec) but on the other side if there is some color/brightness information in the SRT file (I'm not 100% sure if it's possible but with other external subtitles formats it is AFAIK) how should madVR react?

So I'll be glad to hear your thoughts on the subject.
I don't have access to UHD Blu-Ray player and real movies so I'm wondering how these things designed in the real/official format.
Can you someone with access to such content share a few pictures with us? For example one picture from a dark scene with subs and a different one from a very bright scene again with subs on screen.
__________________
Z370M Pro4 | i3-8100 | 16GB RAM | 256GB SSD + 40TB NAS
NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB (385.28) | LG OLED65B7V
Win 10 64bit 1803 + Zoom Player v14
pankov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2017, 22:47   #44220  |  Link
sauma144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 89
I don't know if this can be useful for madVR.

But it seems it's possible to detect HDR support of any displays with Windows.
https://github.com/Microsoft/DirectX...12HDR.cpp#L904

Hope it's not only for latest Win10 release and/or D3D12.
sauma144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.