Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th November 2009, 21:04   #61  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
Has Adobe been notified RE: flash and recent x264 changes?
Adobe has been notified.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2009, 19:21   #62  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by CpT View Post
I uploaded a working version to the actual site. Then updated the links in my first post about it.

It can be seen here http://vizmu.com/player/flash/test2.html
Scrub to 50 seconds, it's shortly after that @ 56-59
Seems like your distortions are gone in Flash Player 10.1 Prerelease (10,1,51,45).

Download:
http://download.macromedia.com/pub/l...gin_111709.exe
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2009, 19:34   #63  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,689
That was fast, eh?
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2009, 19:39   #64  |  Link
elguaxo
Registered User
 
elguaxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 260
Great news!
elguaxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2009, 19:43   #65  |  Link
lexor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 849
Adobe release notes say something along the line of using hardware acceleration. So did Adobe fix anything, or did they just get DXVA to fix it for them (kinda like coreavc 1.9.5 also works flawlessly... if you use CUDA)? Either way, good to know it's fixed, somehow.

Less work for Atom, more work for ION my HTPC like, very much.
__________________
Geforce GTX 260
Windows 7, 64bit, Core i7
MPC-HC, Foobar2000
lexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2009, 19:48   #66  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexor View Post
Adobe release notes say something along the line of using hardware acceleration. So did Adobe fix anything, or did they just get DXVA to fix it for them (kinda like coreavc 1.9.5 also works flawlessly... if you use CUDA)? Either way, good to know it's fixed, somehow.
Well, I checked with "Enable Hardware Acceleration" and without it. There are no artifacts with both of them

But can't say for sure that DXVA isn't involved anyway.

However I noticed that with "Enable Hardware Acceleration" the scaling quality is really bad. Looks like Point Resize.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 17th November 2009 at 19:53.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2009, 19:50   #67  |  Link
Killerattacks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 29
@lexor
If you can trust AnandTech then 10.1 uses DXVA (for the Hardware acceleration):

http://anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3678&p=1

ATI users are still out of luck it seems, since the GPU-acceleration only works with HD4xxx cards (or HD3xxx IGP) and Catalyst 9.11 driver which isn't out yet. The Catalyst 9.11 beta driver doesn't work (tested this myself).
Killerattacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2009, 19:52   #68  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexor View Post
Adobe release notes say something along the line of using hardware acceleration. So did Adobe fix anything, or did they just get DXVA to fix it for them (kinda like coreavc 1.9.5 also works flawlessly... if you use CUDA)? Either way, good to know it's fixed, somehow.
I confirmed with Adobe that the software decoder itself is fixed.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2009, 18:40   #69  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
x264 0.72.1222 d0ee6f8
built on Aug 20 2009, gcc: 3.4.6

encoded 2419 frames, 11.20 fps, 2949.58 kb/s

x264 0.79.1342 e8501ef
built on Nov 16 2009, gcc: 3.4.6

encoded 2419 frames, 8.73 fps, 2951.58 kb/s

Whats going on i triple checked this and it definitely got a lot slower @ crf, is really the weightp addition the cause of this slowdown ?

im using this encoding settings

x264.exe "%SourceVideo%" --crf 24 --preset veryfast --profile high --cabac -m 3 --no-deblock --weightp 2 --8x8dct -b 3 --aq-mode 2 --ssim --psnr --partitions i8x8,i4x4,p8x8 -o "%SourceVideo%.mp4"

i also have to explicitly force --weightp 2 else only wpredb seems to be used but no wpredp

here the analyse data i couldn't see any difference visually between the encodes but first realized this heavy slowdown (Ben Waggoners Dreamworks The Island Trailer)

x264 [info]: i16 v,h,dc,p: 35% 26% 16% 23%
x264 [info]: i8 v,h,dc,ddl,ddr,vr,hd,vl,hu: 15% 18% 28% 6% 6% 7% 7% 6% 7%
x264 [info]: i4 v,h,dc,ddl,ddr,vr,hd,vl,hu: 19% 20% 12% 7% 9% 9% 9% 7% 8%
x264 [info]: Weighted P-Frames: Y:8.4%
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 19th November 2009 at 19:00.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2009, 19:14   #70  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
i also have to explicitly force --weightp 2 else only wpredb seems to be used but no wpredp
That's because weightp isn't on when you use preset veryfast. This is intentional.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2009, 20:58   #71  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
i guessed so, i also tried it now with --weightp 0 and no weightp @ all no big speed difference i gonna try now to see when this was introduced by checking all builds between 1222-1342, i missed a lot

PS: it seems the range of the performance drop is somewhere between 1240 (encoded 2419 frames, 9.73 fps, 2941.27 kb/s)-1280 (encoded 2419 frames, 8.92 fps, 2944.83 kb/s)
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 19th November 2009 at 22:16.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2009, 04:10   #72  |  Link
hakujin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19
Prefer CoreAVC. Is there any way to disable i.e. --weightp 0 to x264 file with weightp enabled, either via MKVMerge or MeGui?
hakujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2009, 05:52   #73  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Sorry i was a bit to fast with my assumption the Windows cache blinded me, i should have known better that this was impossible

x264 0.72.1232 c8edc12
built on Aug 25 2009, gcc: 3.4.6

x264 [info]: SSIM Mean Y:0.9533577
x264 [info]: PSNR Mean Y:40.359 U:43.930 V:44.165 Avg:41.213 Global:40.136 kb/s:
2925.99

encoded 2419 frames, 9.82 fps, 2926.42 kb/s

x264 0.79.1342 e8501ef
built on Nov 16 2009, gcc: 3.4.6

[WEIGHTP 1]
x264 [info]: SSIM Mean Y:0.9535975
x264 [info]: PSNR Mean Y:40.390 U:43.942 V:44.190 Avg:41.241 Global:40.179 kb/s:
2951.00

encoded 2419 frames, 8.85 fps, 2951.00 kb/s

[WEIGHTP 2]
x264 [info]: SSIM Mean Y:0.9536431
x264 [info]: PSNR Mean Y:40.377 U:43.927 V:44.175 Avg:41.229 Global:40.180 kb/s:
2951.58

encoded 2419 frames, 8.68 fps, 2951.58 kb/s

looks much more real world
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by Guest; 20th November 2009 at 13:32. Reason: 4
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2009, 13:17   #74  |  Link
PeterLynn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Sadly, my standalone LG BD370 can't accept weightp correctly anymore.

Edit: LG's latest firmware fixed the problem.

Last edited by PeterLynn; 1st April 2010 at 08:03.
PeterLynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
artifacts, coreavc, corruption, weightp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.