Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th December 2008, 21:02   #681  |  Link
Emp3r0r
Registered User
 
Emp3r0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Alabama, USA
Posts: 769
Feature request: Can mkvmerge ignore data in it's own namespace within a chapter xml file? For example:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Chapters xmlns:x="http://custom-data-namespace">
  <EditionEntry>
    <x:Data>I should be ignored because I'm in my own namespace.</x:Data>
    <EditionFlagHidden>0</EditionFlagHidden>
    <EditionFlagDefault>0</EditionFlagDefault>
    <ChapterAtom>...
Also, on a separate subject, can you elaborate on what it takes to support new formats in mkvmerge? I assume it is technically possible to mux any audio/video/subtitle format (including currently unsupported formats) into mkv, but does the complexity come in with how the data is interleaved in ebml (for later splitting)?
__________________
ChapterGrabber - add names to your chapters | AtomSite - open source AtomPub server
Emp3r0r is offline  
Old 8th December 2008, 23:45   #682  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73ChargerFan View Post
Ugggh, Kaspersky thinks the installation program is a trojan.
As more users have reported this issue I've taken the time to investigate this thoroghly. My findings are that this is indeed a false positive. However, I've pulled the installer and provided a new build that Kaspersky and all other anti virus scanners thinks is clean.

You can read my full announcement.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v83.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 8th December 2008, 23:48   #683  |  Link
Dark Morford
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 15
Is there a way to get mkvextract 2.4.1 to output timecodes that aren't in scientific notation?

For example, running `mkvextract timecodes_v2 video.mkv 1:timecodes.txt` on a file recently gave me output like
Code:
999749
999790
999832
999874
999916
999957
999999
1.00004e+006
1.00008e+006
1.00012e+006
1.00017e+006
1.00021e+006
Other tools I use that used to work correctly now complain that timecodes are too close together; I assume they can't deal with the 'e+006' at the end and just see timecodes like 1.00004, 1.00008, and so on. I wrote a Perl script that converts the scientific-notation numbers back into "regular" numbers, but I still lose precision because everything gets rounded to the closest 10.

Is there a command-line option or something for mkvextract that tells it to just output regular numbers instead of the scientific ones? If not, can we get one in mkvtoolnix 2.4.2?
Dark Morford is offline  
Old 8th December 2008, 23:52   #684  |  Link
Eragon4ever
lost program in the net
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 106
Did you send them the file in question so they can fix it? The email address is newvirus@kaspersky.com; just use "Possible false-positive" as header. Their support in this regard is pretty good, all my reports were taken care of in less than 24h.

P.S. My Kaspersky remained completely silent.
Eragon4ever is offline  
Old 9th December 2008, 00:21   #685  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Morford View Post
Is there a way to get mkvextract 2.4.1 to output timecodes that aren't in scientific notation?

For example, running `mkvextract timecodes_v2 video.mkv 1:timecodes.txt` on a file recently gave me output like
Code:
999749
999790
999832
999874
999916
999957
999999
1.00004e+006
1.00008e+006
1.00012e+006
1.00017e+006
1.00021e+006
Duh. That's definitely a bug that I'll fix. Even though mkvmerge probably understands it (it simply uses the C function "strtod") I don't want scientific notation to be used for timecode files. I'll see to it that the next release contains a fix for it.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v83.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 9th December 2008, 00:22   #686  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eragon4ever View Post
Did you send them the file in question so they can fix it? The email address is newvirus@kaspersky.com
Thanks for the idea, I just did.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v83.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 9th December 2008, 02:03   #687  |  Link
Mtz
Registered User
 
Mtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On The Beach
Posts: 714
I like that "Use Me". I hope to not change it for the next fix, or change it to "Use Me, Please".
Thank you for this program!

enjoy,
Mtz
Mtz is offline  
Old 10th December 2008, 20:29   #688  |  Link
canTsTop
Registered User
 
canTsTop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 120
is it possible some how to mux not fully encoded audio file? example:

ffmpeg -i audio.wav -acodec ac3 -ab 640k audio.ac3

and then encoding starts run this

mkvmerge -o new_video.mkv old_video.mkv audio.ac3

so mkvmerge mux everything at speed of conversion of audio to ac3
canTsTop is offline  
Old 10th December 2008, 20:37   #689  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
you can use the ffmkv muxer for that...

Code:
FFmpeg -i audio.wav -acodec ac3 -ab 640k -i old_video.mkv output.mkv
Kurtnoise is offline  
Old 10th December 2008, 21:01   #690  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,278
No, mkvmerge requires all files to be finished and seekable (meaning that it will never support reading files via other protocols, e.g. ftp or http).
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v83.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 11th December 2008, 02:08   #691  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by canTsTop View Post
is it possible some how to mux not fully encoded audio file?
I'm hard drive limited, and this would just thrash. I can run multiple muxing / encoding programs, but only one per hard drive.
73ChargerFan is offline  
Old 12th December 2008, 03:41   #692  |  Link
doggersen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
The "splitting" feature works very well. But is it possible to end up with just 1 output-file (instead of at least 2)?
If for example I would only be interested in 20 minutes in the middle of a video (everything coming before and after, I would like to leave out).

Thanks.
doggersen is offline  
Old 12th December 2008, 09:49   #693  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,278
No, that's not possible at the moment, and I don't think I'll implement something like that anytime soon.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v83.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 12th December 2008, 13:00   #694  |  Link
spida_singh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 125
Hi

I have been using mkvmerge to create my video and flac audio mkv's. They play perfectly fine on the pc, but, when I use java playstation media server to stream them across, I always get stutter every 1 second. I have asked the question to the developer of the java streaming tool, and awaiting his reply, I just wanted to make sure I was not doing anything wrong when creating the mkv in the first place. As this stutter occurs with any mkv file I create only when streaming. Any ideas why this could be happeneing? I set the correct framerate for the elementary stream, correct aspect ratio, add the audio flac file and mux. All ok until i want to stream it.
spida_singh is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 09:15   #695  |  Link
thetoof
Sleepy overworked fellow
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maple syrup's homeland
Posts: 933
How could I insert mkv files in another one, without appending them? I've seen this before... but I don't have the slightest idea how the chapters and file linking methods were combined.

Practical usage:
Episode start - Opening - Episode - Ending - Preview
Since "Opening" and "Ending" are the same for the whole series, I'd like to encode them only once and link them in the episodes to reduce overall size.
Code:
Timecode example (random numbers, it's just for the concept):
3 files to link : Episode, Opening, Ending
00:00-02:00 (Episode 00:00-02:00)
02:00-03:30 (Opening 00:00-01:30)
03:30-23:30 (Episode 02:00-22:00)
23:30-25:00 (Ending 00:00-01:30)
25:00-26:00 (Episode 22:00-23:00)
So, how can I put the UID values in the timecodes??

Thanks for any input.
__________________
AnimeIVTC() - v2.00
-http://boinc.berkeley.edu/-
Let all geeks use their incredibly powerful comps for the greater good (no, no, it won't slow your filtering/encoding :p)
thetoof is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 10:58   #696  |  Link
Snake91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
I don't know if it's possible, however can you add the possibility to add black boarders during playing? I think so it could be possibile to append stream with different resolution in the same container.
I am ripping The Dark Knight BD and I don't want to waste bitrate in the useless black boarders just for few IMAX scenes (but I don't want to cut them either XD), with these solution I could simply add boarders with a container option only when they are needed to not deform correct aspect ratio.

Last edited by Snake91; 14th December 2008 at 11:06.
Snake91 is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 13:41   #697  |  Link
Daiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 68
I have a feature request: Could it be possible to include support for having both chapters and tags in the same .xml file?

The reason why I'm asking is because it's annoying that you can't give editions names in the chapters file, you have to do it with a separate tags file.

So if it was possible to have a file like this:
Code:
<?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8'?>
<!-- <!DOCTYPE Tags SYSTEM 'matroskatags.dtd'> -->
<Chapters>
 <EditionEntry>
  <EditionFlagOrdered>1</EditionFlagOrdered>
   <EditionFlagHidden>0</EditionFlagHidden>
   <EditionFlagDefault>1</EditionFlagDefault>
   <EditionUID>500030138</EditionUID>
   <ChapterAtom>
[...]
</Chapters>
<Tags>
 <Tag>
  <Targets>
   <EditionUID>500030138</EditionUID>
   <TargetTypeValue>50</TargetTypeValue>
  </Targets>
  <Simple>
   <Name>TITLE</Name>
   <String>Normal</String>
   <TagLanguage>eng</TagLanguage>
   <DefaultLanguage>1</DefaultLanguage>
  </Simple>
 </Tag>
[...]
</Tags>
You could keep everything in one file, and mkvmerge could recognize <Chapters> and <Tags> from there and write them properly to the resulting file. It would be a lot simpler to handle multiple editions this way.
__________________
Where did neuron1 go? | Doom10
Daiz is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 19:23   #698  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetoof View Post
Practical usage:
Episode start - Opening - Episode - Ending - Preview
Since "Opening" and "Ending" are the same for the whole series, I'd like to encode them only once and link them in the episodes to reduce overall size.
Check out 101 things you never knew you could do with Matroska
73ChargerFan is offline  
Old 17th December 2008, 02:15   #699  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
I ran into this today and just wanted to report it. The "Save command line" doesn't save the command line. It only saves this
Code:
"mkvmerge" -o ""
What I did find is that if you use the "Show the command line" prior to using "Save command line" then it works. The same goes for "rem all" which doesn't clear the command line until you use "Show the command line."

I guess I would ask for a feature where the command line stuff gets updated as the UI is used so it wouldn't be necessary to show the command line first and then saving it. It would also be nice to clear it when removing all content. Thanks much for considering this.
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline  
Old 17th December 2008, 08:32   #700  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chumbo View Post
I ran into this today and just wanted to report it. The "Save command line" doesn't save the command line.
Fixed in this build:

http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...20081217-48.7z
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v83.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.