Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th June 2011, 12:57   #1  |  Link
RazvanuZu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: RO
Posts: 14
XviD codec for encoding

I'm using VirtualDubMod and yesterday I decided to upgrade my XviD codec because I had installed a very old version.
I downloaded the latest XviD codec from here: http://www.xvid.org/Downloads.15.0.html , and with this codec VirtualDubMod isn't working anymore and I got this error in VirtualDubMod: "Error decompressing video frame ****: The source image format is not acceptable. (error code -2)".

Now I want to change my codec to http://download.divxmovies.com/XviD-1.2.2-07062009.exe and I'm wondering if this codec is good.

I opened some "ARROW" releases (scene) with MediaInfo and I saw that they use XviD 1.2.1, not XviD 1.2.2 and I don't know what codec I need to choose between these two.

Thanks in advance!

Best regards,
RazvanuZu
RazvanuZu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2011, 14:11   #2  |  Link
Motenai Yoda
Registered User
 
Motenai Yoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 709
u should use xvid 1.3.2
vanilla - http://www.free-codecs.com/download/xvid_codec.htm
koepi - http://www.koepi.info/xvid.html
jawor - http://jawormat.republika.pl/xvid.html
Motenai Yoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2011, 14:49   #3  |  Link
RazvanuZu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: RO
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motenai Yoda View Post
I installed XviD 1.3.2 from Jawor and I can't see this codec in VirtualDubMod (Video -> Compression)...
RazvanuZu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2011, 15:24   #4  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
Make sure you installed the correct version. You need to install 32bit xvid for 32bit VirtualDub and 64bit xvid for 64bit VirtualDub - you cannot mix them.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2011, 15:39   #5  |  Link
RazvanuZu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: RO
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
Make sure you installed the correct version. You need to install 32bit xvid for 32bit VirtualDub and 64bit xvid for 64bit VirtualDub - you cannot mix them.
Now I understand...
I installed the 64-bit binaries because I have a 64-bit operating system, but VirtualDubMod is a 32-bit application...
I will uninstall the 64-bit binaries and I will install the 32-bit binaries.

I will write here if I have problems anymore.

Thanks for your help!

LE: Everything is working fine now. Thanks for help!

Last edited by RazvanuZu; 19th June 2011 at 13:25.
RazvanuZu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.