Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Old 16th July 2022, 00:45   #1  |  Link
Blastfrog
Frog blast the vent core!

Deinterlacing Euro-pulldown

Hi, so, I'm a total newbie to AVIsynth, etc, so please be patient with me.

I have a video source ripped from DVD that is using Euro-pulldown and has 4:2:2 chroma sub-sampling. I don't know if this is standard or not, but interestingly enough, the chroma itself seems to be interlaced (despite being half of the resolution of the luma).

I figure the best thing to do is to de-interlace the chroma separately and merge it back into the (deinterlaced) luma once both steps are done. I've already exported the video to a PNG image sequence, and downscaled it to half without any resampling using Irfanview in preparation for this.

Problem is, AVIsynth is extremely unintuitive to me. I'm sure I'll get the hang of it as I use it, but basically, I need someone to hold my hand for a short while so I can learn the basics.

I already have VirtualDub2, so how do I set up AVIsynth with it, and what script should I use to remove every 25th field and reconstitute the pulldown'd frames back into proper frames? My goal is to bring it back to native 24FPS in the rawest way possible. I don't want any kind of blending, etc.

Last edited by Blastfrog; 16th July 2022 at 01:02.
Blastfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2022, 11:16   #2  |  Link
Sharc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blastfrog View Post
Hi, so, I'm a total newbie to AVIsynth, etc, so please be patient with me.

I have a video source ripped from DVD that is using Euro-pulldown and has 4:2:2 chroma sub-sampling. I don't know if this is standard or not, but interestingly enough, the chroma itself seems to be interlaced (despite being half of the resolution of the luma).