Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th February 2016, 08:47   #3941  |  Link
XRyche
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 211
I have a question that has probably been asked quite a few times before but..................................................................................has there been a script made for user configurable keyboard shortcuts? So MCE remotes can be used to control MPDN.
__________________
Intel i5 3470, EVGA GTX 1050Ti SC ACX 2.0, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, 16 GB 1600 mhz DDR3 RAM
XRyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2016, 14:47   #3942  |  Link
trandoanhung1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Any idea how I can debug decoder stalls?

Just as I said that I got a Runtime Error while running MPDN.

Last edited by trandoanhung1991; 19th February 2016 at 15:45.
trandoanhung1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2016, 01:51   #3943  |  Link
cascardian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
I have another bug to report, though it is extremely minor. Watching a video against the background of a running Twitch stream (Flash video with HTML5 controls) in Chrome will lead to occasional frame hitching/stuttering in MPDN. This is on DX11, using the new windowed mode rendering path. Switching that option off fixes the problem. Also happens in fullscreen, though not in exclusive.

I just checked: The problem does not occur with Youtube's HTML5 video in the background. In case it helps, here is Chrome's GPU log:
Code:
Graphics Feature Status
Canvas: Hardware accelerated
Flash: Hardware accelerated
Flash Stage3D: Hardware accelerated
Flash Stage3D Baseline profile: Hardware accelerated
Compositing: Hardware accelerated
Multiple Raster Threads: Enabled
Native GpuMemoryBuffers: Software only. Hardware acceleration disabled
Rasterization: Software only. Hardware acceleration disabled
Video Decode: Hardware accelerated
Video Encode: Hardware accelerated
WebGL: Hardware accelerated

Driver Bug Workarounds
clear_uniforms_before_first_program_use
disable_discard_framebuffer
exit_on_context_lost
force_cube_complete
scalarize_vec_and_mat_constructor_args
texsubimage_faster_than_teximage
use_current_program_after_successful_link

Problems Detected
Always call glUseProgram after a successful link to avoid a driver bug: 349137
Applied Workarounds: use_current_program_after_successful_link
Some drivers are unable to reset the D3D device in the GPU process sandbox
Applied Workarounds: exit_on_context_lost
TexSubImage is faster for full uploads on ANGLE
Applied Workarounds: texsubimage_faster_than_teximage
Clear uniforms before first program use on all platforms: 124764, 349137
Applied Workarounds: clear_uniforms_before_first_program_use
Always rewrite vec/mat constructors to be consistent: 398694
Applied Workarounds: scalarize_vec_and_mat_constructor_args
ANGLE crash on glReadPixels from incomplete cube map texture: 518889
Applied Workarounds: force_cube_complete
Framebuffer discarding can hurt performance on non-tilers: 570897
Applied Workarounds: disable_discard_framebuffer
Accelerated rasterization has been disabled, either via about:flags or command line.
Disabled Features: rasterization
Native GpuMemoryBuffers have been disabled, either via about:flags or command line.
Disabled Features: native_gpu_memory_buffers

Last edited by cascardian; 20th February 2016 at 03:11. Reason: Better formatting. More info.
cascardian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2016, 13:04   #3944  |  Link
l0rdraiden
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by l0rdraiden View Post
Is there any guide explaning how to configure MPDN with SVP
and on how to configure MPDN itself? in particular the render script and upscaler sections.

Are the extensions / renders used in MPDN the same than in mpv? https://mpv.io/

What is the advantage of MPDN over Madvr?

Is MPDN close source? why?
Some help please?
l0rdraiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2016, 06:57   #3945  |  Link
XRyche
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by XRyche View Post
I have a question that has probably been asked quite a few times before but..................................................................................has there been a script made for user configurable keyboard shortcuts? So MCE remotes can be used to control MPDN.
shrugs
__________________
Intel i5 3470, EVGA GTX 1050Ti SC ACX 2.0, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, 16 GB 1600 mhz DDR3 RAM
XRyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2016, 02:18   #3946  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by XRyche View Post
I have a question that has probably been asked quite a few times before but..................................................................................has there been a script made for user configurable keyboard shortcuts? So MCE remotes can be used to control MPDN.
No not yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trandoanhung1991 View Post
Any idea how I can debug decoder stalls?

Just as I said that I got a Runtime Error while running MPDN.
This usually means your CPU isn't fast enough (usually in the case of high bitrake 4K HEVC) or the data isn't being supplied fast enough to the decoder - e.g. If you're streaming high bitrate footage over wifi or via the internet, you could get stalls.

Runtime Error tends to happen when the unmanaged part of MPDN (i.e. DirectShow filters) have corrupted the heap - there's really not much that could be done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cascardian View Post
I have another bug to report, though it is extremely minor. Watching a video against the background of a running Twitch stream (Flash video with HTML5 controls) in Chrome will lead to occasional frame hitching/stuttering in MPDN. This is on DX11, using the new windowed mode rendering path. Switching that option off fixes the problem. Also happens in fullscreen, though not in exclusive.
In windowed mode, the GPU has to be shared with every other app that requires it - and if one demands max priority and steals too much time from MPDN, you'll get a problem as it won't be able to present when it needs to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by l0rdraiden View Post
Is there any guide explaning how to configure MPDN with SVP
and on how to configure MPDN itself? in particular the render script and upscaler sections.

Are the extensions / renders used in MPDN the same than in mpv? https://mpv.io/

What is the advantage of MPDN over Madvr?

Is MPDN close source? why?
Guide to use SVP with MPDN -
Render script and upscaler configuration -

I don't know much about MPV other than they took code from our GitHub repository, removed the LGPL license and then calling it their own. The issue was sorted after reminding them about the licensing issue.

AFAIK, madVR and mpv use much of the code from MPDN Extensions.

MPDN is closed source but the extensions where all the high-end scalers and filters are implemented, are LGPL v3. Why is MPDN closed source - as answered before multiple times - it's just is because I have to.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 00:45   #3947  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
foozoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 116
Could you if possible fix this really annoying bug?
https://mpdn.zachsaw.com/bug/view.php?id=6
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2016, 17:22   #3948  |  Link
Braum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 48
Hi ! I need some advice concerning the render script configuration.

I only play Bluray in 1920x1080
My screen resolution is 1680x1050
My gpu is an AMD 7980

Here is my downscaling configuration:

SuperChromaRes - 3 passes, strength 1, softness 0
SSIM downscaler
Deband - power 0,3
Image Processor - FineSharp tuned to my liking.

Am I doing it right ?
Braum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2016, 04:22   #3949  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by foozoor View Post
Could you if possible fix this really annoying bug?
https://mpdn.zachsaw.com/bug/view.php?id=6
If you are using the playlist and have it set to repeat playback it will show two sets of filters in the system tray. Why would you assume it is " cause double performance consumption"? The other one, while loaded, will remain idle.

Disable "Preload next file" in the playlist if you don't want this feature.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2016, 13:53   #3950  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
foozoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
If you are using the playlist and have it set to repeat playback it will show two sets of filters in the system tray. Why would you assume it is " cause double performance consumption"? The other one, while loaded, will remain idle.

Disable "Preload next file" in the playlist if you don't want this feature.
I am not the one who reported the "bug" but I am using lavfilters megamix setup from the imouto.my blog.

However I had performance issues but it was maybe because of xysubfilter, I need to test it again.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2016, 12:45   #3951  |  Link
mecedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 26
Can you help me with the following issue? I can't enable Hardware Acceleration in LAV Video in MPDN Player. If I set "DXVA Native" in LAV Video then "Available" is displayed and Active Decoder is "avcodec". In Potplayer with LAV Video which is configured in the same way as in MPDN displayed Active Decoder is "dxva2n" and hardware acceleration works.
Is it possible to debug or log MPDN Player to find out why hardware acceleration isn't applied?
Checked configurations: Intel i3 4130T (HD4400 video) with Win7 x32 and Win 7 x64.
Checked Intel video drivers: 10.18.10.3960 and 15.36.28.4332.
Any help will be appreciated.
mecedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2016, 23:46   #3952  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecedo View Post
Can you help me with the following issue? I can't enable Hardware Acceleration in LAV Video in MPDN Player. If I set "DXVA Native" in LAV Video then "Available" is displayed and Active Decoder is "avcodec". In Potplayer with LAV Video which is configured in the same way as in MPDN displayed Active Decoder is "dxva2n" and hardware acceleration works.
Is it possible to debug or log MPDN Player to find out why hardware acceleration isn't applied?
Checked configurations: Intel i3 4130T (HD4400 video) with Win7 x32 and Win 7 x64.
Checked Intel video drivers: 10.18.10.3960 and 15.36.28.4332.
Any help will be appreciated.
MPDN doesn't support DXVA native. Other modes are fully supported.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2016, 20:40   #3953  |  Link
mecedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
MPDN doesn't support DXVA native. Other modes are fully supported.
Thanks. Maybe you should mention it in description?
Here is useful explanation: LAV Video Configuration

And another question. Can MPDN use WASAPI as Audio renderer?
mecedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2016, 00:08   #3954  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecedo View Post
And another question. Can MPDN use WASAPI as Audio renderer?
Sanear uses WASAPI, I'd recommend using that, it's included in the installer.

Hopefully a new version of that isn't that far off, Alex has been committing some code recently.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2016, 05:12   #3955  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quick update.

A new MPDN version will be released soon (later today or tomorrow) along with new extensions with plethora of changes (SuperRes/SuperChromaRes, SSIM etc).
Shiandow will do a quick write up on the changes later.

Someone requested a display gamma correction feature some time ago. It, in the form of a shader file to be used with Image Processor, has also made it into this next release.

Cheers.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2016, 14:55   #3956  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 753
Hi,

A few comments about the upcoming release.
  • Super-XBR has been updated by Hylian with an improved anti-ringing algorithm and tweaked parameters.
  • Image Processing no longer requires shaders to be in the 'ImageProcessingShaders' folder.
  • SSIM performance has been improved, and a limiter has been added to prevent it from amplifying details too much.
  • SuperRes / SuperChromaRes performance has improved with numerous tweaks to improve picture quality as well. Most of the tweaks are small but together they might make a significant difference. Also added 'Sinc-Jinc' as the default prescaler, since it is faster and sharper for low(ish) scaling factors (below 2~3), which makes it better for most practical purposes. Also added a fast preset for Super-Xbr that gives a good quality / performance ratio for higher scaling factors.
  • Bilateral now uses a more reconstructive method for retrieving chroma information from the luma, this method is still somewhat experimental and is prone to artefacts, but in some scenarios it blows away all other algorithms.
  • Lots of other tweaks and fixes (see the release notes / git repository for more details).

Anyone interested in developing may also be happy to hear that the framework has been improved quite a bit for this new release, also improving the readability of the RenderScripts (which should be convenient for people interested in porting them to other applications). Anyone not (yet) interested in developing will hopefully also see some of the benefits soon, in the form of less bugs and more features.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2016, 15:36   #3957  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
foozoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
Quick update.

A new MPDN version will be released soon (later today or tomorrow) along with new extensions with plethora of changes (SuperRes/SuperChromaRes, SSIM etc).
Shiandow will do a quick write up on the changes later.

Someone requested a display gamma correction feature some time ago. It, in the form of a shader file to be used with Image Processor, has also made it into this next release.

Cheers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiandow View Post
Hi,

A few comments about the upcoming release.
  • Super-XBR has been updated by Hylian with an improved anti-ringing algorithm and tweaked parameters.
  • Image Processing no longer requires shaders to be in the 'ImageProcessingShaders' folder.
  • SSIM performance has been improved, and a limiter has been added to prevent it from amplifying details too much.
  • SuperRes / SuperChromaRes performance has improved with numerous tweaks to improve picture quality as well. Most of the tweaks are small but together they might make a significant difference. Also added 'Sinc-Jinc' as the default prescaler, since it is faster and sharper for low(ish) scaling factors (below 2~3), which makes it better for most practical purposes. Also added a fast preset for Super-Xbr that gives a good quality / performance ratio for higher scaling factors.
  • Bilateral now uses a more reconstructive method for retrieving chroma information from the luma, this method is still somewhat experimental and is prone to artefacts, but in some scenarios it blows away all other algorithms.
  • Lots of other tweaks and fixes (see the release notes / git repository for more details).

Anyone interested in developing may also be happy to hear that the framework has been improved quite a bit for this new release, also improving the readability of the RenderScripts (which should be convenient for people interested in porting them to other applications). Anyone not (yet) interested in developing will hopefully also see some of the benefits soon, in the form of less bugs and more features.
You are amazing guys.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2016, 01:18   #3958  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
v2.46.0/v1.26.0 Released.

Please let us know if there's any issues.

Note: Your old audio script group config may throw up an error when you try to open the "Script Group" config dialog. To fix this, delete the %localappdata%\MediaPlayerDotNet\AudioScripts.?? (?? == 32/64/AnyCPU) folder and reconfigure your script chain.

This will be fixed in the next minor release. EDIT: Fixed in v1.26.1 (clears the config automatically instead of failing to bring up the config dialog altogether)

Cheers!

Last edited by Zachs; 4th March 2016 at 04:56.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2016, 04:05   #3959  |  Link
cascardian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Thank you for the newest version!

This is what I now get in DebugView on a fresh default config with any AudioScript enabled (I apologise if this is redundant for you):
Code:
00000002	5.56374979	[2344] [109346'021,584ms] [INFO] Spent 516ms building/loading extensions 
00000003	6.08320141	[2344] Information: Create ComputeContext(806126304) in Thread(1). 
00000004	6.08431005	[2344] Information: Create ComputeCommandQueue(634353200) in Thread(1). 
00000005	6.69643497	[2344] Mono.Cecil.AssemblyResolutionException: Failed to resolve assembly: 'Mpdn.Core, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' 
00000006	6.69643497	[2344]    at Mono.Cecil.BaseAssemblyResolver.Resolve(AssemblyNameReference name, ReaderParameters parameters) 
00000007	6.69643497	[2344]    at Mono.Cecil.DefaultAssemblyResolver.Resolve(AssemblyNameReference name) 
00000008	6.69643497	[2344]    at ICSharpCode.Decompiler.Ast.Transforms.IntroduceUsingDeclarations.Run(AstNode compilationUnit) 
00000009	6.69643497	[2344]    at ICSharpCode.Decompiler.Ast.Transforms.TransformationPipeline.RunTransformationsUntil(AstNode node, Predicate`1 abortCondition, DecompilerContext context) 
00000010	6.69643497	[2344]    at Cudafy.Translator.CUDALanguage.DecompileType(TypeDefinition type, ITextOutput output, DecompilationOptions options) 
00000011	6.69643497	[2344]    at Cudafy.Translator.CudafyTranslator.DoCudafy(CudafyModule cm, Type[] types) 
00000012	6.69643497	[2344]    at Cudafy.Translator.CudafyTranslator.Cudafy(IEnumerable`1 props, Type[] types) 
00000013	6.69643497	[2344]    at Cudafy.Translator.CudafyTranslator.Cudafy(eArchitecture arch, Type[] types) 
00000014	6.69643497	[2344]    at Mpdn.Extensions.Framework.AudioHelpers.GetCudafyModule(Type[] types) 
00000015	6.69643497	[2344]    at Mpdn.Extensions.Framework.AudioHelpers.LoadAudioKernel(GPGPU gpu, Type type, Type[] types) 
00000016	6.69643497	[2344]    at Mpdn.Extensions.Framework.AudioChain.AudioProc.Initialize() 
00000017	6.69762754	[2344] Error in AudioChainScript: 
00000018	6.69762754	[2344]  
00000019	6.69762754	[2344] Object reference not set to an instance of an object. 
00000020	6.69762754	[2344]  
00000021	6.69762754	[2344] ~ 
00000022	6.69762754	[2344] Stack Trace: 
00000023	6.69762754	[2344]    at Mpdn.Extensions.Framework.Chain.FilterChainScript`2.Execute() 
00000024	6.70564222	[2344] Error in AudioChainScript: 
00000025	6.70564222	[2344]  
00000026	6.70564222	[2344] Object reference not set to an instance of an object. 
00000027	6.70564222	[2344]  
00000028	6.70564222	[2344] ~ 
00000029	6.70564222	[2344] Stack Trace: 
00000030	6.70564222	[2344]    at Mpdn.Extensions.Framework.Chain.FilterChainScript`2.Execute() 
00000031	6.70576859	[2344] Error in AudioChainScript: 
00000032	6.70576859	[2344]  
00000033	6.70576859	[2344] Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
. . . and so on. It spams this.
00000311	7.86265707	[2344] Warning: ComputeContext(806126304) leaked! 
00000312	7.86511326	[2344] Information: Dispose ComputeCommandQueue(634353200) in Thread(2).
cascardian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2016, 04:24   #3960  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by cascardian View Post
Thank you for the newest version!

This is what I now get in DebugView on a fresh default config with any AudioScript enabled (I apologise if this is redundant for you):
Ah I forgot to fix that.

Can you try it with the latest source version from GitHub?
I'll probably make another release once you've tested it out.

There's instructions on MPDN Extensions GitHub page on how to use the source version if you are not familiar with it.


** I've released extensions v1.26.1 which should fix the problem.

Let me know how you go.

Last edited by Zachs; 4th March 2016 at 04:49.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct3d, mpdn, nnedi3, opencl, reclock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.