Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st July 2021, 12:33   #61661  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,466
Based on a review I saw it looks like Sony is the king of upscaling at this resolution.. I do wish there was a smooth motion frame blending option in hardware what with 120Hz now filtering down the chain.. C1/CX owners how does your motion options at lowest/closest to 100% frame blending look compared to madVR's Smooth Motion? Are we almost there near MadVR quality yet?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2021, 12:38   #61662  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,085
i have a sony Tv here and it is really bilinear with 120 hz this is not a joke well maybe from sony.

the 60 HZ 1080->2160 is decent but far from a really good scaler.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2021, 17:15   #61663  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,259
i'm with SamuriHL, i think we'll see V1.0 at some point, I think MADSHI would understand the massive disappointment to us all for all our support if we dont see this, most of us are also happy to pay for it should that be the only option.

We'll just have to see what happens and continue to enjoy what we have, and what we've had for years completely free of charge
__________________
LG OLED EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 RX 5700 - http://madshi.net/madVRhdrMeasure140.zip
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2021, 17:34   #61664  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 359
^ What he said.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (21.6.1) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (20H2), Silverstone LC13B-E, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64, LG OLED55BX6LB, Denon AVR-X3300W, Mission M35i speakers.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2021, 01:23   #61665  |  Link
SoySauceWDF
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
I've got a weird issue using madvr that's been happening for a while. If I pause or sometimes randomly during playback, the render queue drops to 3-4/8 and I start getting dropped frames. It fills up if I backup a little bit and start playing again. I've messed with queue sizes, vsync, present frames in advance, etc, almost every setting I could think of.
Running windowed with D3D11, output in sdr bt.2020 and 10 bit, display set to 12 bit. Happened on both my 2080 ti and 3090, latest drivers. Wondering if its an issue with nvidia outputting 12 bit?
SoySauceWDF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2021, 02:58   #61666  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,466
Well the easiest way to test is by simply outputting to 8-Bit instead yeah?
No there's no problems with outputting 12-bit with your GPU, if there was you would've seen a post about it.
If it's randomly dropping the queue down it's either an app that's interfering with it or it's your config in which case, reset, revert, restore etc.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2021, 03:12   #61667  |  Link
SoySauceWDF
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
It seems to stop doing in when its set to D3D9 but I'd like to run D3D11 so I can output 12 bit. Does it using DXVA2 copyback as well. I've done multiple windows clean installs and used the default settings and have tested multiple settings. Don't know what app could be interfering, any common ones? Kind of a head scratcher
SoySauceWDF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2021, 08:19   #61668  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,466
Would recommend booting without anything programs loading in startup and also changing you power profiles with your graphics card and PC just to test that the system isn't moving into lower power states for whatever reason. Short of that I really don't know, but I would be logging everything I can in the system to figure out what's triggering it. Might be a tough one to nail down.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2021, 14:00   #61669  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 661
We're all very confident Madvr as a paid software pack will have a wide market.

As a $2000-3000 device, It's a tough sell.

Upscaling just isn't that important.

Tonemapping, we're getting brighter and better devices every year that do their own tonemapping, this solution is better overall as the devices are aware of the impact of its own ABL. Once we hit a steady 1000 nit on devices, which is already possible just too expensive on LMCL, tonemapping itself becomes niche. Those 4000nit dolby pulsars arn't getting that much use, The panasonic 1000nit lmcl builds are much more widely used grading monitors.

3DLut, I love madvr's implementation to death, but high end TVs support this.

Where is the niche for Envy. The Sony/Epson, all of their expensive projector units will also improve on internal tonemapping year over year.

_Projectors_ in general going the way of the dodo.
_Oleds_ getting BIGGER and CHEAPER all the time.
_LCDs_ Already hitting 1500nits
_LMCL_ Most promising short term solution @ ~500nits
_Samsung QNED_ Self Emmisive. Spanks Oled in sustained output, <in active development, allegedly screen burn proof.>


Madvr's PRIMARY societal role
has been to leverage the average ghetto boxes of the PC-masses and turning them into very capable, high-Quality video players.

Going the ENVY route, madshi is taking a path away from his BIGGEST FAN BASE, the people MOST LIKELY and WILLING to PAY HIM MONEY.

Compared to Madvr's existing success reaching the eyes and imagination of world wide active users, Envy is going from an ocean to a drop.



Then there's the point of sale dilemmas. It usually takes a salesmen to sell a $3000 box. These guys take a cut, you have consumer education, friction upon friction.

Meanwhile, we the madvr Fanbase, madshi doesn't have to prove anything to us, we know this stuff is legit, Take my money, we want m0ar madvr.

I even setup madvr for my grandma. That's how much koolaid I am downing. .
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 2nd July 2021 at 14:43.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2021, 14:17   #61670  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 661
@ Soysaucewdf,

You have to TEST 10 bit VISUALLY, don't just turn it on and assume it works, it may not work, it may actually be worse (Some LG oleds).

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...29#post1928929
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2021, 16:17   #61671  |  Link
SoySauceWDF
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
I've tested it on my Epson 5050UB and 10/12 bit works fine, at least to my eyes. I watched a movie in Fullscreen Exclusive last night and it didn't have any render queue issues, so might be a window overlay problem with windows/nvidia/something else. Just had 2 presentation glitches at the very start but was smooth from then on so might just stick with FSE
SoySauceWDF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2021, 17:06   #61672  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 514
Do I assume correctly that to avoid "glitches" it's not recommended to set 1 frame to be rendered in advance and not more? Is there anything else to do? I've pretty much solved the custom refresh thing (at least with madVR, in Kodi for some reasons it's avoiding the custom refresh rates in HDR, while accepting them in SDR) and I don't want no stinking glitches in my media viewing! :-D
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2021, 20:15   #61673  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,085
FSE can lower presentation issues but this is usually issue with a different program interfering with madVR
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2021, 05:24   #61674  |  Link
galneon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
Getting a C1 tomorrow so it looks like I need to move to the timed betas... Is the beta closed or am I missing a really obvious link?
galneon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2021, 07:15   #61675  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 605
http://madshi.net/madVRhdrMeasure134.zip
__________________
Henry | LG OLED65C7P | Denon AVR-X3500H | ELAC Uni-Fi x7 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3030 x2 | NVIDIA SHIELD TV Pro 2019 | Plex
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2021, 07:40   #61676  |  Link
galneon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
Thank you.
galneon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2021, 16:53   #61677  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
FSE can lower presentation issues but this is usually issue with a different program interfering with madVR
Such as? This is a dedicated HTPC machine, so I don't think there's a lot going on "behind the scenes". If you have anything in mind, please share it, as it could help me looking in the right direction.

Thanks in advance!
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2021, 18:00   #61678  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,085
i don't know the name but programs to lower blue light output.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2021, 19:45   #61679  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 823
In Windows Task Manager, Details tab, add the GPU column and sort by its usage and watch it during playback (you can move the colum to the leftmost position and put TM in the lower right corner) to see if another process uses the GPU from time to time.
Maybe also use something like GPU-Z to check if there's not something wrong with clocks/GPU utilization.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2021, 00:18   #61680  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i don't know the name but programs to lower blue light output.
f.lux I don't have installed on the HTPC. But I'll check for the similar function in Windows 10... also good suggestion on checking task manager. I'll try that as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
C1/CX owners how does your motion options at lowest/closest to 100% frame blending look compared to madVR's Smooth Motion? Are we almost there near MadVR quality yet?
Cinema Screen in conjunction with TruMotion Cinematic Movement is satisfactory in my limited experience (I've had the C1 for just a couple of weeks).
__________________
LG 77C1 - Windows 10 Pro 21H1 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Reclock) - GTX 3070 - Ryzen 3 1200 - 16GB RAM

Last edited by ashlar42; 4th July 2021 at 00:36.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.