Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th May 2021, 18:53   #61481  |  Link
lostclusters
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the unrar.dll should be delivered with the madVR download.
You are correct! And I'll be damned. That file is in the archive here and in the I got off the main madVR site. Why it did not get into the madVR directory is a mystery to me. When I looked for it in the directory I installed and did not find it, I did look in the archive file. I looked where it should have been and did not see it. I noticed today that the files in the archive are not in alphabetical order. My bad. It was late and there was an abundance of bourbon flowing in my beverages that evening. Anyway that is my story and I am sticking to it.
lostclusters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2021, 21:18   #61482  |  Link
Crimson Wolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 49
lostclusters, Windows Defender might have removed the dll. I'm not sure about the exact time, but I had a beta madvr version installed and madTPG stopped working somehow. It was due to a false positive. I use madTPG with DisplayCal to calibrate my monitor every month or two, but one day it errored. Some file required by madTPG was missing. I have put the madvr directory in the excluded option for now.
Crimson Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2021, 19:53   #61483  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 661
the gamma ramp should automatically be disabled when using a 3dlut created with vcgt applied.

Otherwise, if the vcgt is not selected in 3dlut creation, the gamma ramp should remain enabled. <no good reason to do this, because it's inaccurate>

You should still measure it to make sure it's working right, random things can happen.

I recommend taming the gamma using hcfr FIRST if your panel/tv allows it, that way only minor correction is necessary in the vcgt, and your other system UI when the ramp comes off during playback look pretty close to correct.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 19th May 2021 at 20:10.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2021, 20:04   #61484  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
@crmb

Same thing happened to me when I decided to test windowed overlay, it seems that the profile is applied twice resulting in increased saturation and crushed blacks.
It's not crushing blacks, it's bringing the blacks down to mastered lvls , which may be "lower" than what your display may be capable of, so it looks crushed. This is especially problematic on IPS panels.

There're actually no good shadow solutions for IPS, best to just never watch movies on them. The rec1886 gamma function will pull out the detail so to speak, but everything will look grey, and you'll probably be at gamma 1.8 at the bottom end.

As for Saturation, it will look increased when the gamma drops. But they are at the correct target unless you're using the saturation or preserve saturation intents.

In general, I actually recommend preserve saturation and saturation, because the accurate red always look faded on colorimetric, red just isn't visually impactful in srgb/rec709 gamut.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 19th May 2021 at 20:14.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2021, 09:55   #61485  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 540
So, what do you suggest for ips display, to use windowed overlay or to use the default direct3d 11 for presentation?
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2021, 21:49   #61486  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
So, what do you suggest for ips display, to use windowed overlay or to use the default direct3d 11 for presentation?
I use d3d 11 and everything checks out, i haven't tested all conditions relative to windows overlay. But i know there's nothing fishy going on with 3dlut use under 11.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2021, 19:41   #61487  |  Link
NDUS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 11
After trying MadVR's display mode optimization feature, my second monitor is occasionally going black for 1~2 seconds every 15~30 minutes. Not exclusively during video playback, but rather at any given time.
I reset the timings and then deleted the optimization profile, and tried the few things one would immediately try (restarting Windows, removing monitor power cable, reinstalling GPU drivers, reinstalling monitor drivers, etc.)
Nonetheless, the problem persists. FWIW I have a somewhat nonstandard monitor setup (240hz primary + 60hz secondary)

I can't be 100% positive that MadVR is the cause, but it immediately started after I started messing with MadVR display modes. Any ideas?

Last edited by NDUS; 28th May 2021 at 15:49.
NDUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2021, 20:19   #61488  |  Link
andrew89898
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 5
I am new to PC playback - I am using madVR, LAV filters and 4K blu ray on a 21:9 HDR monitor. I have a movie which is switching between 21:9 and IMAX / roughly 16:9 aspect ratios. I found this thread on reddit (https://www.reddit.com/r/ultrawidema...g_using_madvr/)

I have tried all of the madvr options and made sure my video renderer is nvidia, which it now is but the black bars remain in the 21:9 sections on all 4 sides. I can get it to zoom in but this zooms the IMAX areas in too.

Anything I can try to fix this show the IMAX content full with side bars and then zoom back in for the 21:9 parts?

Thanks.
andrew89898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2021, 02:57   #61489  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 661
set it to dxva2

if you're using tonemapping use copyback. Then turn on the zoom control.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2021, 03:10   #61490  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,264
Yes, DXVA2 Copyback.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2021, 22:48   #61491  |  Link
amayra
Quality Checker
 
amayra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Why do you want to use Fullscreen Exclusive mode?

In Windows 10 Fullscreen Exclusive is fake anyway, I get better results not using it at all now.
what do mean by fake ?
__________________
I love Doom9
amayra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2021, 01:47   #61492  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 661
FSE also doesn't work with 23.976 for some reason, the composition rate changes to 60 despite output still 23.976..
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2021, 02:14   #61493  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,085
because it doesn't work for you doesn't mean it doesn't in general work.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2021, 03:49   #61494  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by amayra View Post
what do mean by fake ?
There is still a software layer between presentation and display, madVR is not in control of what is displayed the same way it was.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2021, 05:34   #61495  |  Link
glc650
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
FSE also doesn't work with 23.976 for some reason, the composition rate changes to 60 despite output still 23.976..
I've noticed this too but I think it is just cosmetic because I'm not seeing any drops/repeats and the counter shows days or none expected which is the same behavior I see in windowed full screen mode.
glc650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2021, 13:31   #61496  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,085
win 10 FSE is now a simulated WFS where the applicating thinks it is fullscreen but isn't it still changes how presentation works. the old true FSE is also still available.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2021, 21:20   #61497  |  Link
andrew89898
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Yes, DXVA2 Copyback.
I have copied those settings and set the internal LAV decoder to DXVA2 native and tried DXVA2 copy back, both are not zooming in my black bars. I am using the mpc-hc classic community (https://github.com/clsid2/mpc-hc/releases/) with touch window from inside setting.

Is there anything else I can check?
andrew89898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2021, 22:49   #61498  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,264
I don't know. I am using Zoom Player Max v16 and it works for me.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2021, 16:06   #61499  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 823
It should work as long as you're not using native DXVA decode.

How long are you letting it play to test?
I don't know what the cause is, but when I start playback it takes madVR a pretty long time to crop the black bars. If I pause then unpause playback or do a seek a few seconds back it usually makes it react faster. After that initial delay it then reacts immediately when the aspect ratio changes.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2021, 22:48   #61500  |  Link
andrew89898
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 5
I've tried everything in mpc-hc settings including Direct3D11 and MadVR - I have it set to dxva 2 copyback with my nvidia gpu selected, it only zooms when you check if big black bars, but this also zooms the IMAX scenes too. Might try some madVR debugging, anyone else using MPC-HC?

I've tried watching the whole scenes, pause and seek, nothing.
andrew89898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.