Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd May 2020, 20:30   #59441  |  Link
shaolin95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
We recommend a 1070 or 1080gtx for madvr's tonemapping.

1060 will work as well, as long as you don't need some of the other quality of life features.
I am currently running a crippled 1060 (crippled as it is the 3GB version). My HDR tone mapping is having issues dealing with the unchecked "compromise mapping" option.
Guess it is all on the 1060 3GB and a GTX 1070 would be good enough of a jump to allow me to uncheck that compromise option while also allowing me to play with the highlight/shadow recovery options?
Also my HTPC only has 4GB of DDR3 ram so I am adding 4GB more and hoping that 8GB will be enough.
Thanks for any feedback!
shaolin95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2020, 23:58   #59442  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
I am currently running a crippled 1060 (crippled as it is the 3GB version).
You can try overclocking, 1060 should do +150mhz on core easily, if you got a good chip, you can do up to +200 if it's relatively new.

The ram might be a problem, try reducing the buffer. change present frames to 4 or 6 instead of 8.

use lanczos for chroma.

Switch between dxva2 copyback and dx11 copyback see if that helps. < some systems it does nothing, some might shave 2-3 ms>

Also try CPU decoding in lav if your CPU is strong enough for 4K full bitstream Minimum you need a 5ghz 2500k or a 4.4ghz 2600k and above
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 3rd May 2020 at 01:44.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2020, 08:19   #59443  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 358
Wanted to check if anyone else see's an issue I'm having - If I start a HDR movie from the start and bring up the Madvr OSD, it shows the HDR metadata properties, however, if I resume a movie/file, it fails to read the metadata, and say Properties Unknown...

Anyone else have this? (tried windows, fse, all hardware decoding methods and still get the same behavior). Latest Madvr test version, latest lav filters etc.

UPDATE - might be an encoding issue actually, as it only happens on certain files. Never mind.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (21.6.1) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (20H2), Silverstone LC13B-E, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64, LG OLED55BX6LB, Denon AVR-X3300W, Mission M35i speakers.

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 3rd May 2020 at 08:46.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2020, 17:04   #59444  |  Link
shaolin95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
You can try overclocking, 1060 should do +150mhz on core easily, if you got a good chip, you can do up to +200 if it's relatively new.

The ram might be a problem, try reducing the buffer. change present frames to 4 or 6 instead of 8.

use lanczos for chroma.

Switch between dxva2 copyback and dx11 copyback see if that helps. < some systems it does nothing, some might shave 2-3 ms>

Also try CPU decoding in lav if your CPU is strong enough for 4K full bitstream Minimum you need a 5ghz 2500k or a 4.4ghz 2600k and above
Thanks for your info.
So I was able to find some cheap extra ram and with 8GB it is a LOT better. I also scored a GTX 1070 for $160 and at that price, I felt it was an easy buy, so I can sell my 1060 and recover some cash.
This made things WAY smoother and now I can research which options will give me the very best IQ at least as far as my system can handle it.
Any suggestions on that? This is specifically for UHD watching..
Thanks!
shaolin95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2020, 18:58   #59445  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
Any suggestions on that? This is specifically for UHD watching..
Thanks!
The next best VISUALLY impactful upgrade would be a colorimeter to utilize madvr's powerful 3DLut color correction feature. (the colormunki display colorimeter is best bang for buck)

The upscaling algorithms in the case of chroma for 4K makes VERY LITTLE difference visually, and at normal distances of 2-3 feet, it makes 0 visual difference, you can try it out for yourself, between NGU sharp very high all the way down to bilinear, you can barely tell.

If you're using downscaling, ssim2d is pretty intensive but should fit within the envelope of a 1070.

Then there's a Wide-Gamut display. This is cheaper than you think, 43" TCLs 5 series are only $200, and the gamut is 93% DCI-P3, it looks alot more vivid than Srgb gamut screens.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 3rd May 2020 at 19:03.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2020, 19:18   #59446  |  Link
shaolin95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
The next best VISUALLY impactful upgrade would be a colorimeter to utilize madvr's powerful 3DLut color correction feature. (the colormunki display colorimeter is best bang for buck)

The upscaling algorithms in the case of chroma for 4K makes VERY LITTLE difference visually, and at normal distances of 2-3 feet, it makes 0 visual difference, you can try it out for yourself, between NGU sharp very high all the way down to bilinear, you can barely tell.

If you're using downscaling, ssim2d is pretty intensive but should fit within the envelope of a 1070.

Then there's a Wide-Gamut display. This is cheaper than you think, 43" TCLs 5 series are only $200, and the gamut is 93% DCI-P3, it looks alot more vivid than Srgb gamut screens.
I am using a JVC RS520 actually which was professionally calibrated but it does not hurt to try that 3DLUT since I already have the Xrite i1 display pro. Gonna look for a guide to do that unless we have one specifically for madvr that is.
Also do you think I am good with 8GB of RAM or is there anything that madvr could do better with 16GB?
Finally here is a photo of stats while paying the movie.
I left Star Wars paying like one hour and when I came back there were 6 dropped frames. Am I somehow pushing it too far off is it normal to do drop a few frames here and there?
Those repeated frames so often doesn't seem good to me. I got my card resolution at 24hz. Maybe I should try 23hz..? I don't want to use reclock, just in case.
Thanks!!
Attached Images
  

Last edited by shaolin95; 4th May 2020 at 05:41.
shaolin95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 01:57   #59447  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
I did exactly the same in html / javascript, it requires mpc-be/hc and keyboard shortcuts set up in madvr.
Upload yours, I'll be interested in it. I can do the same...
I FINALLY got this done, polished up, and uploaded.

General HTPC and home theater device remote control from any web browser.

Easy to create buttons for hotkeys to control madVR settings and switch between madVR profiles.

Enjoy everyone:
https://github.com/nicko88/HTPCRemote
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 07:55   #59448  |  Link
Charky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
Those repeated frames so often doesn't seem good to me. I got my card resolution at 24hz. Maybe I should try 23hz..? I don't want to use reclock, just in case.
Thanks!!
You are playing 23.976 fps content on a display set to 24 Hz so obviously there will be dropped frames.

Set your display to 23 Hz (it's the windows name for 23.976).
__________________
Charky

"Rule #1 : If it works, don't change anything."
Charky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 08:32   #59449  |  Link
THU22
Registered User
 
THU22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 16
At default 23 Hz you will still get a repeated frame every ~4.5 minutes. You have to create a custom resolution to get it right. Using CRU, I set it at 23.975 Hz, which gives me 23.97585 Hz. This produces a frame drop every ~56.5 minutes, which is the best I can get.

I have been using ReClock for years, but recently I kept seeing random frame drops which did not register on the madVR OSD. I decided to test the custom resolution with bitstreaming, which will be useful when I upgrade my audio setup (waiting for HDMI 2.1). So far I am pretty happy with the change.
THU22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 08:54   #59450  |  Link
kettyo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by THU22 View Post
I recently updated my old nvidia drivers to the latest ones (445.87 and then 445.98 HF).

Since then, madVR does not automatically switch to HDR when I open an HDR video in MPC-HC. I never had this problem before.

I can turn on HDR in Windows and videos play fine this way, but that is a bit annoying. If I do not turn on HDR in Windows, the video is washed out (no tone mapping), but the madVR OSD shows it is playing in HDR. It shows NV HDR, BT.2020 and HDR, unkown properties (this is always like that).

Anybody else have this problem?
I got a message from Nvidia that HDR issues are being worked on. Will see what this means.
kettyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 09:19   #59451  |  Link
Scoty
Registered User
 
Scoty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
Thanks for the upload but there are missing files. There is no install.bat or uninstall.bat, also missing madLevelsTweaker and madTPG. unrar.dll is also not insert for open settings menue.
Scoty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 09:25   #59452  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoty View Post
Thanks for the upload but there are missing files. There is no install.bat or uninstall.bat, also missing madLevelsTweaker and madTPG. unrar.dll is also not insert for open settings menue.
These beta versions are supposed to be unpacked on top of the last release version - files which didn't change are not included.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 09:27   #59453  |  Link
Scoty
Registered User
 
Scoty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
These beta versions are supposed to be unpacked on top of the last release version - files which didn't change are not included.
Ok thanks.
Scoty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 14:43   #59454  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
I am using a JVC RS520 actually which was professionally calibrated but it does not hurt to try that 3DLUT since I already have the Xrite i1 display pro. Gonna look for a guide to do that unless we have one specifically for madvr that is.
Also do you think I am good with 8GB of RAM or is there anything that madvr could do better with 16GB?
Finally here is a photo of stats while paying the movie.
I left Star Wars paying like one hour and when I came back there were 6 dropped frames. Am I somehow pushing it too far off is it normal to do drop a few frames here and there?
Those repeated frames so often doesn't seem good to me. I got my card resolution at 24hz. Maybe I should try 23hz..? I don't want to use reclock, just in case.
Thanks!!
You want to get to the 23.976hz mode if the projector supports it.

8gb is enough, as long as it's dual channel.

Run 8bit 444 RGB Full, don'tuse 12bit on the jvc.

Run the 3D lut for SDR lut, select source colorspace dci-p3 or rec2020.

Before calibration, check that the gamma mode/setting from measurement that it's in is Close to flat 2.2gamma @ 6500k.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 16:59   #59455  |  Link
shaolin95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charky View Post
You are playing 23.976 fps content on a display set to 24 Hz so obviously there will be dropped frames.

Set your display to 23 Hz (it's the windows name for 23.976).
23Hz is obviously not 23.976 either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by THU22 View Post
At default 23 Hz you will still get a repeated frame every ~4.5 minutes. You have to create a custom resolution to get it right. Using CRU, I set it at 23.975 Hz, which gives me 23.97585 Hz. This produces a frame drop every ~56.5 minutes, which is the best I can get.

I have been using ReClock for years, but recently I kept seeing random frame drops which did not register on the madVR OSD. I decided to test the custom resolution with bitstreaming, which will be useful when I upgrade my audio setup (waiting for HDMI 2.1). So far I am pretty happy with the change.
I am going to play with CRU. I was in fact able to get the same as you just with the Nvidia Control Panel BUT for some reason, the custom resolution wont let me use 12bit only 8 where all normal resolutions allow me to use 12. Hope CRU does not have that odd issue.
Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
You want to get to the 23.976hz mode if the projector supports it.

8gb is enough, as long as it's dual channel.

Run 8bit 444 RGB Full, don'tuse 12bit on the jvc.

Run the 3D lut for SDR lut, select source colorspace dci-p3 or rec2020.

Before calibration, check that the gamma mode/setting from measurement that it's in is Close to flat 2.2gamma @ 6500k.
Ok then I will save money..yes it is 8GB dual channel 1600 DDR3.

Any reason NOT to use 12bit with the RS520? From reviews I read it actually does 12 bit even if due to other things it ends up being 10bits. Just curious as to why this recommendation.

Ok I am going to try the 3D Lut to see what I get.
I did watch Star Wards yesterday and it was looking stunning, so much better than when I was using the projector HDR mode.
Thanks so much!
shaolin95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 17:12   #59456  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaolin95 View Post
23Hz is obviously not 23.976 either.
Please read this

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...83#post1873683

Basics of refresh rates
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 18:12   #59457  |  Link
shaolin95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Please read this

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...83#post1873683

Basics of refresh rates
That is great but in reality, it does not. I would be very happy if it was giving me 23.976 I would have no repeating frames.
Regards

Last edited by shaolin95; 4th May 2020 at 18:26.
shaolin95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 18:29   #59458  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,359
I have no repeating frames out of the box, well 11,6 hours, but enough for me on 23.976 files
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 18:50   #59459  |  Link
shaolin95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
I have no repeating frames out of the box, well 11,6 hours, but enough for me on 23.976 files
Great but not everyone gets 23.976 by setting the card to 23Hz, that's my point. Good for you
shaolin95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 19:19   #59460  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,359
There are custom resolutions that can do it for you as well
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.