Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th April 2017, 10:21   #221  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
I added Y410 support, maybe you want to add it too now?
What it helps to do? You can send 10 bit wrapped in Y416, same result less pain.
Does any vfw codec support it?
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2017, 10:30   #222  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
What it helps to do? You can send 10 bit wrapped in Y416, same result less pain.
Does any vfw codec support it?
I added it for madvr support mostly. Don't know of any specific vfw thing.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2017, 11:31   #223  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,308
I don't realy know the exact labels format, the codecs i know which support more than 8 bits are :
UT Video : Support 10 bits RGB, RGBA, YUV422.
Magic YUV : Support 10 bits RGB, RGBA, YUV400, YUV422; 12 bits RGB, RGBA; 14 bits RGB, RGBA.
I don't know if this can help.
Of course, there is probably more of them.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2017, 13:28   #224  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
Yes I watch UTVideo & MagicYUV. All their output supported afaik.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2017, 11:16   #225  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
New version and cleaned some SDK/API changes, brief documentation available: https://sourceforge.net/p/vdfiltermod/wiki/sdk/

Flags controlling frame alignment:

Code:
	FILTERPARAM_ALIGN_SCANLINES_16		= 0x00000008L,
	FILTERPARAM_ALIGN_SCANLINES		= FILTERPARAM_ALIGN_SCANLINES_16,
	FILTERPARAM_ALIGN_SCANLINES_32		= 0x00000048L,  // v19
	FILTERPARAM_ALIGN_SCANLINES_64		= 0x00000040L,  // v19
It is difficult to prove align guarantee but I believe it works Passed some tests too.
Request as much as you actually use.

And some filters illustrating how to deal with new modes:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/vdf...ins/owdenoise/
https://sourceforge.net/projects/vdf...ins/crossfade/

These filters are "strange" so I don`t include them in the pack.

owdenoise is adaptation of wavelet denoise filter from FFMPEG. It is very slow.

crossfade is more like experiment. If you put it on scene change it will shift future frames backward and interpolate with past frames, creating linear transition.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 02:00   #226  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
Testing VirtualDub FilterMod release 39005 on Win10 x64 I keep getting this error when attempting to encode to x264.mp4 (8 or 10 bit) with the integrated x264 compressors:



No problem encoding to other formats, only x264.

Edit: Same with version 39148 released today.
Edit: But no such issue with the 64-bit VeeDub64.exe
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be

Last edited by WorBry; 17th April 2017 at 02:57.
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 09:02   #227  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorBry View Post
Testing VirtualDub FilterMod release 39005 on Win10 x64 I keep getting this error when attempting to encode to x264.mp4 (8 or 10 bit) with the integrated x264 compressors:

http://i.imgur.com/j4ZmH6j.png

No problem encoding to other formats, only x264.

Edit: Same with version 39148 released today.
Edit: But no such issue with the 64-bit VeeDub64.exe
Cannot repeat immediately, maybe something with settings.
Please repeat it with "test video->rgb color cube" and then use "file->save project", and send it to me.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 16:41   #228  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
UHD/4K - maybe an issue with Auto Level selection ?

I'm sending you the Test Video > RGB Color Cube project file. This was simple test case.

Input file: Native UHD/24p XAVC.mp4 clip from Sony A6300. Rec709
Full Processing mode
Decode Format: Default (Auto) YUV420-709
Compressor: 8-bit x264 - Default settings.
Compressor pixel format: Default YUV420
No Audio
Saved as mp4 file
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 16:43   #229  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorBry View Post
UHD/4K
Running into the memory limit of 32 bit? The executables aren't even large address aware as far as I can tell.

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 17th April 2017 at 16:46.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 17:15   #230  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorBry View Post
UHD/4K - maybe an issue with Auto Level selection ?

I'm sending you the Test Video > RGB Color Cube project file. This was simple test case.

Input file: Native UHD/24p XAVC.mp4 clip from Sony A6300. Rec709
Full Processing mode
Decode Format: Default (Auto) YUV420-709
Compressor: 8-bit x264 - Default settings.
Compressor pixel format: Default YUV420
No Audio
Saved as mp4 file
Are you sending attachments? While they wait for moderation I can`t see, please use https://justpaste.it/ or dropbox, or anything but attachments

So did the cube work or failed?

p.s. the idea about memory seems correct, maybe it cannot allocate enough buffers, may work with preset "ultrafast".
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 17:15   #231  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
Running into the memory limit of 32 bit? The executables aren't even large address aware as far as I can tell.
I missed the first part of the sentence copy-pasting the text. Should have read - "BTW - the error only occurs with UHD/4K".

But maybe you're right - running into the memory limit of 32 bit.
Still, I've sent Shekh the file.
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be

Last edited by WorBry; 17th April 2017 at 17:18.
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 17:29   #232  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Are you sending attachments? While they wait for moderation I can`t see, please use https://justpaste.it/ or dropbox, or anything but attachments
DataFileHost misbehaving. Here's the vdf file opened in Notepad > justpaste.it link:

https://justpaste.it/15mfi

And the source file MediaInfo:

https://justpaste.it/15mfm

Edit: The DataFileHost link:

https://www.datafilehost.com/d/8f369081


Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
So did the cube work or failed?
Worked
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be

Last edited by WorBry; 17th April 2017 at 18:01.
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 18:44   #233  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
Can you share your source too?
Tried to reproduce with same settings and similar source, but I get different message:
x264vfw [error]: x264_encoder_encode failed

What I can say now: it makes sense to add some meaning to error messages.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 20:26   #234  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Can you share your source too?
https://www.datafilehost.com/d/fa0a18f7

Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
What I can say now: it makes sense to add some meaning to error messages.
Sounds like the wife
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2017, 07:04   #235  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,751
If you used the CLI x264 encoder, I would guess that it printed a few more meaningful error messages to STDERR before failing. The included "x264vfw" encoder instead only shows you the final result. I hope there is a way to inspect its error log in another window, or whatever...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2017, 15:09   #236  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Can you share your source too?
Tried to reproduce with same settings and similar source, but I get different message:
x264vfw [error]: x264_encoder_encode failed
I'm fine using the x64 version, but did you come to a conclusion on the encode error I reported with the x32 exe ? Is it likely just a memory limit thing or something else going on ?

Cheers.
__________________
Nostalgia's not what it used to be

Last edited by WorBry; 19th April 2017 at 15:11.
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2017, 15:33   #237  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
It is suspicious because I cannot repeat same error. It fails later anyway with "out of memory".
LigH is correct, some messages are emitted to stderr (read:nowhere), with next update will be possible to see them.
Also I suspect the input driver is too hungry for memory, maybe I can do something about it.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2017, 09:30   #238  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,308
I have a suggestion. It's not a need for me, just something which may be usefull. I take a look, and unless i'm mistaken, didn't see it.
In your FilterModPixmapInfo struct, adding HDR metadata information of the current frame (or somewhere else if it's not the right place).
I understand this may be possible only on very specific case : If the video is read with one of your new high mode video plugin, and if the plugin is able to retrieve such information. This may provide necessary information to handle HDR video, if someone wants to work/handle such frames. Of course, if this information is not avaible, put a specific "not avaible" value.
It's just a pure suggestion, based on what i can see sometimes of information being possibly missing for doing some process, and in the thought of "what can be improved/added with the new things coming".
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2017, 10:36   #239  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
Thanks but it is no go unless someone demands it for real purpose.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2017, 23:42   #240  |  Link
Yanak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 275
Hello,
First let me say thank you for working on this and adding more possibilities to this great tool, only noticed it few days ago and still regularly using the old Vdub.

I have few questions l'd like to ask please ( feel free to say it's silly ones if they are ) :

- Do you plan to add some kind of 3D LUT support so we could apply .cube or .3dl profiles directly to the videos ?

- Will there be a way to import curve profiles from external programs a bit like the "Gradation Curves" plug-in used to do ( sadly i mostly use Gimp for curve and this format is not supported in this old plugin tho ).

- Will it be possible to add an option in the script editor to have an automatic return to the line so the stuff typed stays inside the window without the need to use the horizontal scroll to see the end of the line ?



More particular :

- Will it be easy for you to extend the insert option in the script editor ?
For example adding a few filters to our project and then saving the project we will see those lines for the filter in the saved project file :

VirtualDub.video.filters.Add("MSU Old cinema 2.0 ");
VirtualDub.video.filters.instance[0].Config(247, 223, 181, 0, 1, 0, 30, 70, 15, 3, 30, 10, 30, 150, 0, 1, 100);

Let's say we have a new "Insert Filters parameters" , it could return something like this ( with comment at the start ) :

#"MSU Old cinema 2.0" (247, 223, 181, 0, 1, 0, 30, 70, 15, 3, 30, 10, 30, 150, 0, 1, 100)

and so on for all filters applied following the same scheme #"FilterName" (parameters)
Asking this to use those more easily in avisynth when using "LoadVirtualDubPlugin", will still need a bit of edit after this but passing all settings directly into the script will be a really nice thing.

- Maybe also the right click contextual menu adding the "edit " options, like "insert position etc " accessible directly from a right click.

Thank you very much for the work you are doing on this tool and long live to VirtualDub

Last edited by Yanak; 1st May 2017 at 01:54.
Yanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.