Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th September 2021, 19:13   #1421  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 379
@tormento: It's quite difficult with different positions... you could try tappen ocr program SubExtrator: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=162633

@jpsdr: SE 3.6.2 has much improved ASSA support, incl. positioning, and plugins like ASSA Draw.

@checky: Try Tools - Batch convert... select all your mkv files and choose output format / tracks. Not entirely a single click solution, but close


Also, latest beta can do some subtitle burn-in using FFmpeg/ASSA: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...it/issues/5308
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2021, 00:09   #1422  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 625
In the old version when you did Remove Formatting, The selection got unselected.
That was useful because it told you if it did remove formatting or not from your file.

In the new version it doesn't. A visual cue is necessary to know if something has been removed.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2021, 11:04   #1423  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
@tormento: It's quite difficult with different positions... you could try tappen ocr program SubExtrator
Too many prerequisites, such as VS that I am not going to install.

Couldn't you simply split the vertical screen in two halves and put everything in the first part as {\an8} and everything in the second as normal?

The only problem now is that it doesn't work when both are present.

Just split the content in two lines, one with {\an8} and one without. We will deal with multiple repetitions and overlaps much easier.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2021, 09:01   #1424  |  Link
DMD
Registered User
 
DMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 207
Good morning.
In the section "Export> Blu-ray sup ..."
Is it possible to change only a few rows with Font family?
With the right mouse button it does not allow me to do it.
Even having set custom fonts in the main interface, only the Font family command acts in the export section.
Cordially thank you




Last edited by DMD; 14th September 2021 at 13:17.
DMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2021, 08:06   #1425  |  Link
junah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Would it possible to add CLI for file joiner?
junah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2021, 04:41   #1426  |  Link
checky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by checky View Post
Is it possible to use Subtitle Edit to extract subs from multiple MKV files (in the same folder) with just one 'click' ? I'm asking about 'regular' *.srt files which were built-into mkv (not bitmaps which would require an OCR)?
Try Tools - Batch convert... select all your mkv files and choose output format / tracks. Not entirely a single click solution, but close
Thanks! I'll check it out!
checky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2021, 13:01   #1427  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 330
Hi Nikse

When having a ASS openened in SE, the italic tags are {\i1} and {\i0}
Don't know from what version, but when saving as .srt, the italic tags are the same. Did you alter this for a specific reason? I'd prefer <i> and </i> for srt files.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2021, 16:12   #1428  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
Hi Nikse

When having a ASS openened in SE, the italic tags are {\i1} and {\i0}
Don't know from what version, but when saving as .srt, the italic tags are the same. Did you alter this for a specific reason? I'd prefer <i> and </i> for srt files.
Thx, that's a bug... hopefully fixed now: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...leEditBeta.zip
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2021, 11:16   #1429  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
Thx, that's a bug... hopefully fixed now: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...leEditBeta.zip
Nope, sorry. Bug's still there
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2021, 17:49   #1430  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
Nope, sorry. Bug's still there
--OK, how can I re-create this bug?--

EDIT: Ah, ok. see the bug...

Last edited by Nikse555; 23rd September 2021 at 17:52.
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2021, 18:06   #1431  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 379
Beta updated: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...leEditBeta.zip
Both "Save as" and "format change via combo box" should convert tags... I hope
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2021, 18:45   #1432  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 625
Can we OCR colors? For example add also color tags in the SRT?

If not, I want to remove all subtitles that are color purple for example before OCR, is that possible with any other software?

Automatically, I know that you can go one by one and hit delete in Subtitle Edit before OCR.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2021, 11:47   #1433  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
Both "Save as" and "format change via combo box" should convert tags... I hope
Yes, evrything seems alright again. Thanks for fixing
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2021, 12:36   #1434  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
Beta updated
How should I edit ita_OCRFixReplaceList_User.xml to always replace (even when part of a word):

II as ll
I' as l'

?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2021, 13:14   #1435  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 330
After OCR-ing a SUP where not all subtitles are flagged as forced, it would be nice to have a function that would show these also as forced (checkbox?) in the text editor. And - thinking ahead - preferably so, that the "checked ones" in the text-editor are auto-checked as forced in the SUP- or XML/PNG export-window, when converting to image-based.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2021, 20:10   #1436  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
How should I edit ita_OCRFixReplaceList_User.xml to always replace (even when part of a word):

II as ll
I' as l'
?
Sample content of ita_OCRFixReplaceList_User.xml
Code:
<ReplaceList>
  <WholeWords />
  <RegularExpressions>
    <RegEx find="II" replaceWith="ll" /> #
    <RegEx find="I'" replaceWith="l'" /> #
  </RegularExpressions>
  <RemovedWholeWords />
  <RemovedRegularExpressions />
</ReplaceList>
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.

Last edited by Janusz; 28th September 2021 at 20:56.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2021, 20:42   #1437  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 101
@Nikse555
I have a problem with the volume after opening the subtitle file (.srt) and the attached video and I have mpv selected as the video engine.



The upper part marked (1) shows the video player bar right after starting the program (SE 3.6.2 next, beta 139).
With a bit of luck, the first time you load a file with subtitles and related video, my player bar will look like the one marked (3) and the sound will be heard.
However, more often it is the case that I have to either repeatedly (2 or more times) load the file with subtitles, or increase the volume by clicking
on the volume bar (under 85%) because my player strip after loading the subtitles looks like the one marked with the number (2) and the sound of course it is muted.
Successive, multiple loading of the same subtitle file and attached video causes that one time the sound is at the set level, another time it is muted. It doesn't matter whether it is .mkv, .avi or .ts.
I don't know since when this has been happening. Surely the SE version 3.5.18 worked fine.

Edit 19.10.2021
@ Nikse555 - Thanks for the fix.
I think 3.6.2 Next, beta 174 is already working fine.
Attachments Pending Approval
File Type: png 2021-10-04_205131.png
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.

Last edited by Janusz; 19th October 2021 at 18:44. Reason: fix
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2021, 11:44   #1438  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 330
Yep, I can confirm MPV player volume issues as stated by Janusz. The most of the times it happens when loading a video for the first time with srt already opened.
Never bothered actually cause it's never been much trouble to raise volume manually. Now Janusz mentions it, in the past I never seen this behaviour.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2021, 13:19   #1439  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 625
We need a visual confirmation when Removing Formatting. This existed in all the previous versions. It has been changed only in the new version. Previously when we removed formatting and something was removed the lines where unselected. Now when we do that we have no idea if something has been removed.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2021, 06:35   #1440  |  Link
loninapleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 55
select recalculate

I have looked at the tools to adjust where the Subtitle Edit box opens
and you can add duration for the subtitle to display. I added a full one second but do not know where recalculate is, so my text display remains at a very short 5 Duration interval for the whole video. Would not recalculate be in the box for changes? I looked at speed keys as well but nothing for recalculate I could see.

An update. Apologies for not examining the duration box better. Still I could not make the small
recalculate button accomplish a change but rather, the the new value was greyed out.

And an email notification would be nice
(email notification selected below)

Last edited by loninapleton; 14th October 2021 at 19:35. Reason: clarification
loninapleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.