Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th October 2008, 02:11   #661  |  Link
woah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 435
well i decided to grab a 260GTX for gaming aswell as this cuda stuff, so have donated now my ati4850 can go in a build elsewhere...
woah! is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 02:40   #662  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
I'll trade you my 8500GT for it. And I'll throw in a Britney Spears DVD.

@ all

I've updated the CUDA development dialog. As always, thanks to Nvidia for their amazing support.

http://neuron2.net/dgavcdecnv/cuda/cuda.html
Guest is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 04:29   #663  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
2. MPEG1/MPEG2 (because random access is already understood).
I will be highly surprised if HW accelerated MPEG1/MPEG2 shows any benefits over existing solutions.
squid_80 is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 05:19   #664  |  Link
woah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by squid_80 View Post
I will be highly surprised if HW accelerated MPEG1/MPEG2 shows any benefits over existing solutions.
true but i want it for its deinterlacing function through purevideo on mpeg2 interlaced source. i didnt think i would get more speed either.
woah! is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 05:26   #665  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
i tossed some dvd .vobs at cudaVideoDecode (a part of the cuda toolkit) and it was pretty nice
took ~1.5% cpu with about 19.2 MB ram allocated to it to knock it out at 60fps and deinterlaced properly
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 06:11   #666  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
Believe me I'd like to be proven wrong, but even using a card with VP3 (full mpeg2 acceleration) CUDA's decoding speed is well below dgmpgdec (not to mention more optimized decoders) and since MPEG2 requires so little cpu power these days there's no apparent speed difference when feeding x264/xvid_encraw. I can see how the deinterlacer might appeal to some but personally if the source is interlaced I keep it that way when making the backup.
VC1, now there's something interesting. Advanced profile is relatively easy to parse due to start codes - in fact, you could almost get away with just changing the mpeg2 startcode definitions.
squid_80 is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 06:24   #667  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Well, given a sufficiently fast CPU any multithreaded and heavily optimized decoder can outperform the VPx hardware. All the VPx hardware out there right now is fixed clock speed, and you end up getting (more or less) the same performance decoding 720p as 1080p, for example. MPEG-2 @ 720p would decode faster than MPEG-2 @ 1080p obviously on a CPU, but if you had some ridiculously huge bitrate streams, then the VP hardware would have an edge up still.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 13:45   #668  |  Link
lexor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by squid_80 View Post
Believe me I'd like to be proven wrong, but even using a card with VP3 (full mpeg2 acceleration)
According to CUDA Engineer reply in the dialogue that Neuron keeps track of, there is no such thing as VP3, VP2 has all the bells and whistles that VP3 is claimed to have (wikipedia is lying to us again).
__________________
Geforce GTX 260
Windows 7, 64bit, Core i7
MPC-HC, Foobar2000
lexor is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 15:09   #669  |  Link
lucassp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Romania, Timisoara
Posts: 223
Google tells me only G98 has VP3.
lucassp is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 15:14   #670  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
VP3 is VP2 with full VC-1 and MPEG-2 acceleration tweaks, but VP3 isn't an official designation. It's like we have SSSE3 and we called it SSE4 before it was identified as SSSE3, more or less.

VP3 s not an official name, but the fact is that the newer cards have extra VP hardware on them.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 15:37   #671  |  Link
lexor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagekilla View Post
VP3 is VP2 with full VC-1 and MPEG-2 acceleration tweaks, but VP3 isn't an official designation. It's like we have SSSE3 and we called it SSE4 before it was identified as SSSE3, more or less.

VP3 s not an official name, but the fact is that the newer cards have extra VP hardware on them.
According to the CUDA dialogue:

Quote:
[Engineer E]
The Wikipedia information is incorrect. 9600GT has the same VP2 engine just like the 9800GTX and Geforce GTX 280's
You've got even newer cards than those, sagekilla? Do tell.
__________________
Geforce GTX 260
Windows 7, 64bit, Core i7
MPC-HC, Foobar2000
lexor is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 15:57   #672  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexor View Post
According to CUDA Engineer reply in the dialogue that Neuron keeps track of, there is no such thing as VP3, VP2 has all the bells and whistles that VP3 is claimed to have (wikipedia is lying to us again).
My information comes from the same engineers (at least their names begin with the same letters).
Quote:
You've got even newer cards than those, sagekilla? Do tell.
You're aiming in the wrong direction; think cheaper.
squid_80 is offline  
Old 30th October 2008, 21:31   #673  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexor View Post
According to CUDA Engineer reply in the dialogue that Neuron keeps track of, there is no such thing as VP3, VP2 has all the bells and whistles that VP3 is claimed to have (wikipedia is lying to us again).
Did you miss this from Engineer O:

"Let me know when you have a beta - I'll give it a try and see how it performs on VP3 "
Guest is offline  
Old 31st October 2008, 00:19   #674  |  Link
lexor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Did you miss this from Engineer O:

"Let me know when you have a beta - I'll give it a try and see how it performs on VP3 "
No I didn't, but from context it seemed like it was an unreleased part that he was going to test it on. Am I wrong? Something is out with VP3 already?
__________________
Geforce GTX 260
Windows 7, 64bit, Core i7
MPC-HC, Foobar2000
lexor is offline  
Old 31st October 2008, 03:25   #675  |  Link
ghostonline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
VP3 has been out since last year with the introduction of new version of 8400gs (core G98). orginal 8400gs is G86 (VP2 only). as far as i can remember, cards base on core G86, G92, G94, G96(not so sure, they revised few times), gt200 are vp2 only. IGP 8200/8300, G98 8400 ( any other cards based on G98), possible one or 2 other G9x cores have VP3.

NV is swaping cores on the same card series all the time. just like 8400gs G86 to G98, 9600gso went from G92 to G94..
ghostonline is offline  
Old 1st November 2008, 14:30   #676  |  Link
elitondimer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Here the dgavcdecnv.dll does not work

I have:
1 - XFX Geforce 8600GT
2 - Windows Vista 32-bit
3 - plugins nvcuda.dll, nvapi.dll, nvcuvid.dll in the System32 folder
4 - Driver 178.13 installed
5 - Cuda Toolkit 2.0 installed
6 - Cuda SDK installed
7 - DGAVCIndexNV 1.0.5 installed

I generated one ''file.DGA'' using DGavcdecNV.exe and in my ''file.AVS'' has the

following:

LoadPlugin ( "C: \ Program Files \ Megui \ dgAVCdecNV \ DGAVCDecodeNV.dll")
LoadPlugin ( "C: \ Program Files \ Megui \ dgAVCdecNV \ Decomb.dll")
AVCSource ( "G: \ ns70v2.dga")
fielddeinterlace ()

I loaded the CUVIDserver.exe, so I used the VirtualDub to import the file.avs, disable the priview the video, started the encode but the processor is at 100% and the video is encoded in 2 FPS. then tried to use the meGUI and the Video is at 10 FPS and 100% CPU utilization. I too disabled the display but not worked.

I'm doing something wrong? why DGAVCDecodeNV.dll don't work here?
elitondimer is offline  
Old 1st November 2008, 14:46   #677  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Does it decode and display the video in VirtualDub?

What is the size of the video frames?

What happens when you omit FielDeinterlace()?
Guest is offline  
Old 1st November 2008, 15:48   #678  |  Link
roozhou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by elitondimer View Post
Here the dgavcdecnv.dll does not work

I have:
1 - XFX Geforce 8600GT
2 - Windows Vista 32-bit
3 - plugins nvcuda.dll, nvapi.dll, nvcuvid.dll in the System32 folder
4 - Driver 178.13 installed
5 - Cuda Toolkit 2.0 installed
6 - Cuda SDK installed
7 - DGAVCIndexNV 1.0.5 installed

I generated one ''file.DGA'' using DGavcdecNV.exe and in my ''file.AVS'' has the

following:

LoadPlugin ( "C: \ Program Files \ Megui \ dgAVCdecNV \ DGAVCDecodeNV.dll")
LoadPlugin ( "C: \ Program Files \ Megui \ dgAVCdecNV \ Decomb.dll")
AVCSource ( "G: \ ns70v2.dga")
fielddeinterlace ()

I loaded the CUVIDserver.exe, so I used the VirtualDub to import the file.avs, disable the priview the video, started the encode but the processor is at 100% and the video is encoded in 2 FPS. then tried to use the meGUI and the Video is at 10 FPS and 100% CPU utilization. I too disabled the display but not worked.

I'm doing something wrong? why DGAVCDecodeNV.dll don't work here?
That's normal. Because DGAVCDecodeNV only reduces CPU load on decoding. Since encoding normally consumes 10x+ CPU times than decoding and so far no codecs that meGUI or VDub uses supports CUDA, you can hardly notice any speedup with DGAVCDecodeNV when encoding.
roozhou is offline  
Old 1st November 2008, 16:33   #679  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Thanks, roozhou, I didn't notice he said he'd started an encode.

On some machines there may be a small performance improvement, but the main purpose of using CUDA is to get correct decoding for the streams that are not handled by libavcodec, and to access some of the post-processing capabilities of CUDA. Also, to add support for VC-1 in the future.
Guest is offline  
Old 1st November 2008, 18:28   #680  |  Link
elitondimer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
That's normal. Because DGAVCDecodeNV only reduces CPU load on decoding. Since encoding normally consumes 10x+ CPU times than decoding and so far no codecs that meGUI or VDub uses supports CUDA, you can hardly notice any speedup with DGAVCDecodeNV when encoding.
but I still wonder why he can not use the GPU for encode the videos and have increased the speed of encode, someone help me?
elitondimer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.