Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th April 2016, 00:23   #1521  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,610
Thanks Zenitram for the new version...

The DLL 0.7.85 now works again under all my software which uses it. (Same old machine, WinXP SP3, non-SSE2 CPU).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
I tested MediaInfo 0.7.85 on a clean install of WinXP SP3 32-bit (in a VM, but should be same), and I have the tooltip. So I can not reproduce this issue.
I still do not get tooltips with the new version, but maybe it's my configuration. I disabled the tray icon balloon tips using TweakUI, maybe this prevents the MediaInfo GUI versions later than 0.7.70 to display the tooltips. Registering the InfoTip.DLL with regsvr32 results in the error "module not found".

Whatever, I can live with using older versions for the GUI, no problem.


Thanks again
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2016, 21:56   #1522  |  Link
frmys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Gui Improvements...

Thanks for this good tool.

Can you please add these to gui :

Grid lines for better visibility
Icons for audio and video and other types
Bold text for left column until ":"
Seperated info for General - Video- Audio- Text
Also these parts can be collapsable for those who need brief info
Configurable options for background color , fonts etc
frmys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2016, 08:19   #1523  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by frmys View Post
Can you please add these to gui
Honnestly, don't expect improvements in the GUI in the next months/years, I have already a lot to do with the "core" of the tool for the moment. UI part will be strongly modified when I have free time, and I don't have free time for years .

But this is open source, I hope that someone else can fit such need.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2016, 12:59   #1524  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by frmys View Post
Thanks for this good tool.

Can you please add these to gui :

Grid lines for better visibility
Icons for audio and video and other types
Bold text for left column until ":"
Seperated info for General - Video- Audio- Text
Also these parts can be collapsable for those who need brief info
Configurable options for background color , fonts etc
Which format do you generally use? This is all much easier in HTML mode than anything else.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2016, 13:06   #1525  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
Which format do you generally use? This is all much easier in HTML mode than anything else.
There is a templating mecanism in MediaInfo, but is currently not really advanced. One can try with "custom" view and edit the examples, but be aware that the HTML viewer is also very basic (not a complete engine) and I am not willing to embed a complete browser in MediaInfo (I already embed a complete HTML browser in e.g. MediaConch for exactly this purpose in the future, and the binary is huge).
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2016, 14:41   #1526  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,377
My XSLT is really rusty, but using it, it is possible to transform one of MediaInfo's XML formats ("XML", "PBCore", "EBUCore", ...) to HTML, as pretty as you please.
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2016, 13:03   #1527  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,038
Zenitram,

I'm trying to build MediaInfo CLI from "mediainfo_0.7.85_AllInclusive.7z", but the VisualStudio solution (MediaInfo.sln) contains a missing project "zlibstat". Not much surprising, build fails with:
Code:
4>MediaInfo-Static.lib(File_Ibi.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _uncompress
referenced in function "private: void __thiscall MediaInfoLib::File_Ibi::CompressedIndex(void)" (?CompressedIndex@File_Ibi@MediaInfoLib@@AAEXXZ)


(BTW: I can create a build by manually adding the "zlib" project to the solution and then fixing the project "references")
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 21st May 2016 at 13:10.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2016, 13:11   #1528  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
I'm trying to build MediaInfo CLI from "mediainfo_0.7.85_AllInclusive.7z", but the VisualStudio solution (MediaInfo.sln) contains a missing project "zlibstat".
Exact, a directory is missing, weird.
The directory is there:
https://github.com/MediaArea/zlib/tree/master/contrib

I'll check the reason it is not present.
Thanks for the report.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo

Last edited by Zenitram; 31st May 2016 at 17:09.
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2016, 13:18   #1529  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,038
Thanks for looking into this.

Yes, the directory "zlib" is in the 7z package. But the solution file is referring to a non-existing project "zlibstat", rather than existing "zlib" project. I think that is the problem.

Also I noticed that, in "MediaInfoLib" project, the Pre-Processor flags differ between "Release/Win32" and "Release/x64" configuration. Is that intentional?

Quote:
Win32:
MEDIAINFO_DVDIF_ANALYZE_NO
MEDIAINFO_MPEGTS_DUPLICATE_NO
MEDIAINFO_TRACE_NOx
MEDIAINFO_LIBMMS_NO
MEDIAINFO_LIBCURL_DLL_RUNTIME

x64:
MEDIAINFO_LIBCURL_DLL_RUNTIME
MEDIAINFO_ADVANCED2
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 21st May 2016 at 13:39.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2016, 17:14   #1530  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
I'm trying to build MediaInfo CLI from "mediainfo_0.7.85_AllInclusive.7z", but the VisualStudio solution (MediaInfo.sln) contains a missing project "zlibstat".
Fixed

Should be OK in the release today

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Also I noticed that, in "MediaInfoLib" project, the Pre-Processor flags differ between "Release/Win32" and "Release/x64" configuration. Is that intentional?
The MSVC2015 is correct and is the one used for release, and the MSVC2013 will die so I am lazy to change it.
There is no fundamental difference with the flags you show.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2016, 07:58   #1531  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,639
There is an issue with MediaInfo, even in latest 0.7.86 version, of not recognizing the framerate of 120fps clips and because of that, it doesn't report the duration too, using MediaInfo.dll
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.388) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2016, 08:03   #1532  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
not recognizing the framerate of 120fps clips
I need a sample file.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2016, 09:54   #1533  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,639
Here you are:
https://www.sendspace.com/file/g874fg
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.388) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2016, 10:22   #1534  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
Having timestamp like (in milliseconds):
20
28
36
40
45
53
60
61
78
80
86

is not something I call 120 fps (sometimes 1 ms of difference so 1000 fps, sometimes 17 ms so 60 fps!)
MediaInfo says "VBR", which looks like the right answer.

Note :the AVC stream was created with 120 fps metadata, but I trash this value when I detect VFR at the Matroska level.

Please provide a real (not only at the AVC stream level, but also the timestamps of each frame) 120 fps file.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2016, 10:40   #1535  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,639
All of my CFR 120fps are recognized as such.

All of my VFR 120fps do not report a framerate.

I have seen a lot of times MediaInfo reporting a framerate, even for VFR.

Have you changed something and all VFR clips aren't reported with a framerate by Mediainfo anymore or 120fps is a special case ?
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.388) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2016, 10:49   #1536  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
All of my CFR 120fps are recognized as such.
You said that your 120 fps files were not recognized...

Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
All of my VFR 120fps do not report a framerate.

I have seen a lot of times MediaInfo reporting a framerate, even for VFR.

Have you changed something and all VFR clips aren't reported with a framerate by Mediainfo anymore or 120fps is a special case ?
For Matroska, there is no metadata for the average frame rate.
As the AVC stream provides different time stamps compared to the Matroska layer and MediaInfo detects VFR for the Matroska layer, for the moment I clear the frame rate provided by the AVC stream (not trustable: it says CFR and the container says VFR).
I may later (no ETA) display the AVC stream framerate, but it will not be in the "Frame rate" field as this real value is not known without parsing the whole file (so: we don't know it the frame rate).
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2016, 10:51   #1537  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,639
Thanks for the detailed reply.
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18362.388) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2016, 14:26   #1538  |  Link
romulous
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 179
Has anything changed in recent versions regarding command line handling? Just noticed that with .87, a file passed on the command line to MediaInfo will open the MediaInfo window, but the window will then be blank - you just see a message that you need to load a file. Command line used to work (ie MediaInfo would open and would display information on the file), but I don't know what version where this may have changed
romulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2016, 14:57   #1539  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by romulous View Post
Has anything changed in recent versions regarding command line handling? Just noticed that with .87, a file passed on the command line to MediaInfo will open the MediaInfo window, but the window will then be blank - you just see a message that you need to load a file.
Downloaded 7.87 and tried it - it works for me. However, if I type an invalid file path, I get the message you do.

Last edited by raffriff42; 12th July 2016 at 16:59. Reason: typo
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2016, 15:01   #1540  |  Link
romulous
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 179
Yep, I have just managed to work out what was going wrong. The command line is being passed by another program, and the documentation for that program does say to include quote marks - to handle paths with spaces in them presumably - but the documentation is wrong in where it says to put the quote marks. As I was following the documentation, I too got it wrong. Moving the opening quote mark - the ending quote mark was fine - to another position fixes the problem (the path and filename both had spaces in them) and MediaInfo now opens with the file that is being passed to it.
romulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.